Selinsgrove results 2004-07-17

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Bob Beidleman of Walnutport became only the second repeat sprint car winner of the 2004 season at Selinsgrove Speedway in Saturday night's 25-lap main event. Beidleman's second win of the season and eighth career at the track...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Bob Beidleman of Walnutport became only the second repeat sprint car winner of the 2004 season at Selinsgrove Speedway in Saturday night's 25-lap main event.

Beidleman's second win of the season and eighth career at the track came at the wheel of his Schall's Brakes & Repairs No. 81 on PEPSI Night.

Eric Hons of Benton scored his second win of the season at Selinsgrove in the 25-lap late model feature.

Troy Miller of Williamstown drove to his fourth win of the season in the 15-lap pro stock main event, while Keith Bissinger of Orangeville won for the tenth time in the 12-lap roadrunner event.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present an open wheel doubleheader of United Racing Club sprint cars, 358 sprint cars, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners on Saturday, July 24 at 7 p.m. The five division racing program will be sponsored by Harry's U-Pull It Auto Parts of Hazleton.

Second-place starter Cale Reigle led the first lap of the sprint car feature with sixth-place starter Bob Beidleman quickly moving into second. On the second circuit, Beidleman passed Reigle using the inside lane entering turn one. Fourth-place starter Kyle Bachman raced third.

At the halfway point of the event, Beidleman was in command of the field with Reigle, Bachman, Larry Kelleher and Davie Franek in pursuit. The event's first caution flag unfurled on lap 15, when Nate Snyder, while racing eighth, made contact with Wade Stauffer entering turn one.

When the raced resumed, Beidleman held the field at bay. The second and final caution flag slowed the field on lap 23 when current point leader and last week's feature winner Jason Shultz rolled to a stop on the backstretch with mechanical problems. At the same time, Bachman withdrew from the race.

Beidleman navigated the field the rest of the way and posted a 1.13 second margin of victory over Kelleher, Reigle, Franek and ninth-place starter Blane Heimbach.

A four-car incident occurred in turn one at the start of the late model feature involving current point leader Jeff Rine. Rine was able to rejoin, only to be involved in a harrowing first lap 10-car melee on the backstretch that saw Tony Adams' car flip and catch fire. All drivers escaped injury.

Original fifth-place starter Dave Shulski led the field to the completion of the first lap, with eighth-place starter Eric Hons in second. By lap seven, Rine, who was able to rejoin the race, was racing third.

On lap 19, Hons passed Shulski on the inside in turn one for the lead, only to have Shulski spin out and collect Jeff Smith and Rine.

With only six laps and eight cars remaining, Hons drove to a 2.93 second victory over Rine, Dave Reed, Harold Schick and Jeremy Ohl.

Second-place starter Bill Glass led the first eight laps of the pro stock feature before eighth-place starter Troy Miller took command of the field with an inside pass in turn one for the lead.

Miller then had sixth-place starter and fifth-place starter Nate Kerstetter closing in on him. The lead trio raced bumper to bumper until the final caution flag waved on lap 19 for a stopped race car on the track. For the chase to the checkered, Miller held off Heintzelman and Kerstetter for the win by just .38 of a second. AJ Stroup and Gerald Kratzer completed the top ten.

Second place starter Gary Kerstetter led fourth-place starter Cory Long for the first four laps in the roadrunner feature before seventh-place starter Keith Bissinger advanced to second. Bissinger set his sites on Kerstetter and made the winning pass along the top of the race track in turns one and two on lap 10. Bissinger then held off a late-race charge by Kerstetter for the lead and win. Kerstetter settled for second, with Long, Brad Mitch and Tom Brunson completing the top five.


Sprint Cars - 20 Entries
25-Lap A-Main: 1) 81 Bob Beidleman 2) L70 Larry Kelleher 3) 1A Cale Reigle 4) 28F Davie Franek 5) 12 Blane Heimbach 6) 4B Adrian Shaffer 7) 7J Justin Zimmerman 8) 115 Brian Powell 9) 18 Ryan Bolhke 10) 25 Duane Mausteller 11) 71 Charlie Anderson 12) 99 Kyle Bachman 13) 2 Jason Shultz 14) 54 John Wagner 15) 56 Nate Snyder 16) 27 Wade Stauffer 17) 13 Jen Yinger 18) 8C Troy Long 19) 48 Tony Smolenyak 20) 28A Brian Suchy

Heat Winners: Larry Kelleher, John Wagner

Late Models - 21 Entries
25-Lap A-Main: 1) 45 Eric Hons 2) 2J Jeff Rine 3) 8 Dave Reed 4) 1 Harold Schick 5) 5 Jeremy Ohl 6) 4S Dave Shulski 7) 32 Jeff Smith 8) 6 Donnie Schick 9) 16 Brian Cochran 10) 29 Dick Houtz 11) 90 Kyle Rhoads 12) 31 Tony Reggie 13) 77 Todd Kiger 14) 17M Erick Metzger 15) 3 Robbie Smith 16) 33W Chris Wilkinson 17) 88 Tony Adams 18) 7 Nate Kerstetter 19) 6M Harry Miller 20) 61T Ken Trevitz 21) 41 Lou Shultz

Heat Winners: Tony Adams, Jeff Smith, Dave Shulski

Pro Stocks - 20 Entries
15-Lap A-Main: 1) 115 Troy Miller 2) 99H Peanut Heintzelman 3) 77 Nate Kerstetter 4) 26 AJ Hoffman 5) 10 Gerald Kratzer 6) 6 Dan Jensen 7) 38 Rob Baker 8) 74 Mark Aucker 9) 14 Bill Conrad 10) 21 AJ Hoffman 11) 4 Jim Payne 12) 711 Jim Jurasich 13) 21J Jason Bowersox 14) 70G Bill Glass 15) 8 Brad Trump 16) A18 Roger Stoneroad 17) 06 Dave Newcomer 18) 15 Don Scheib 19) 54 Sammy Troup 20) 111 Daryl Niaman

Heat Winners: Troy Miller, Bill Glass

Roadrunners - 13 Entries
12-Lap A-Main: 1) 11 Keith Bissinger 2) 10 Gary Kerstetter 3) 00 Cory Long 4) 10M Brad Mitch 5) 3 Tom Brunson 6) 010 Matt Keister 7) 48 Matt Drum 8) 43 Doug Minium 9) 50 Shannon Weller 10) 110 Will Mitch 11) 24 BJ Bohner 12) 41D Dennis Conrad 13) 11 Nathan Marsico 14) 23 Jim Somers


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers John Wagner , Jeff Smith
Teams Williams