Selinsgrove results 2004-07-10

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Current point leader Jason Shultz of Carlisle won his first 358 sprint car race in Saturday night's thrilling 25-lap main event at Selinsgrove Speedway on Foss Jewelers Night. Shultz, at the wheel of the Martin's ...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Current point leader Jason Shultz of Carlisle won his first 358 sprint car race in Saturday night's thrilling 25-lap main event at Selinsgrove Speedway on Foss Jewelers Night.

Shultz, at the wheel of the Martin's Refrigeration/Smith's Appliances No. 2, became the track's 12th different winner this season in Cindy Rowe Auto Glass 358 sprint car action.

Jeff Rine of Danville strengthened his point lead with his sixth win of the season in the 25-lap late model feature, while Nate Kerstetter of Liverpool became the leading pro stock feature winner with his fourth win of the year in the 15-lap feature. Keith Bissinger of Orangeville won his ninth roadrunner race of the season in the 12-lap event.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present a four division racing progam of sprint cars, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners this Saturday, July 17, when PEPSI celebrates its 25th year as the official drink of the race track. Track gates open at 5 p.m.

Polesitter Tony Smolenyak drove into the lead at the start of the sprint car feature. Smolenyak was chased by fourth-place starter Duane Mausteller. At the halfway mark, Smolenyak was leading Mausteller, seventh-place starter Adrian Shaffer, ninth-place starter Jason Shultz and 12th-place starter TJ Stutts.

On the 19th circuit, Shaffer stormed by Mausteller for second and reeled in Smolenyak. On the 22nd lap, Shaffer made an inside pass by Smolenyak for the lead in turn four. At the same time, Shultz followed Shaffer into second and made the same pass for the lead a circuit later.

Shultz and Shaffer then pulled away from the field in a torrid battle for the lead and win. The event's only caution flag unfurled on lap 24 when Kyle Bachman's racer rolled to a stop in turn two. A one-lap chase to the checkered flag saw Shultz hold off Shaffer, Justin Zimmerman, Stutts and Smolenyak for the win.

Second-place starter Robbie Smith powered into the lead at the start of the late model feature. Current point leader Jeff Rine, who started 10th, quickly advanced to second. For several laps, Rine challenged Smith for the lead using the inside line. It wasn't until the ninth circuit when Rine made the winning pass using the inside lane in turn one.

Once in front, Rine streaked away from the field. At the halfway point, Rine was leading Smith, sixth-place starter Eric Hons and seventh-place starter Tony Adams. At the finish, Rine was victorious by 2.40 seconds over Hons, Adams, Jeff Smith and Donnie Schick.

Fourth-place starter Jake Buck led the first three laps of the pro stock feature before sixth-place starter Nate Kerstetter powered into the lead with an pass in turn one. On the ninth circuit, 10th-place starter and current point leader Troy Miller advanced to second and set his sites on Kerstetter.

The final five laps saw Miller pressure Kerstetter for the lead and win but to no avail. At the finish, Kerstetter was victorious by just .41 of a second over Miller, Buck, Peanut Heintzelman and AJ Stroup.

Second-place starter Matt Keister led the first lap of the roadrunner feature. Keister was passed on the second circuit by seventh-place starter Keith Bissinger for the lead. Bissinger led the rest of the way and posted the win ahead of Gary Kerstetter, Brad Mitch, Cory Long and Keister.

Sprint Cars - 23 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 2 Jason Shultz 2) 4B Adrian Shaffer 3) 7J Justin Zimmerman 4) 11T TJ Stutts 5) 48 Tony Smolenyak 6) L70 Larry Kelleher 7) 25 Duane Mausteller 8) 56 Nate Snyder 9) 3 Dave Calaman 10) 12 Blane Heimbach 11) 18 Ryan Bolhke 12) 71 Charlie Anderson 13) 52 Jeff Weaver 14) 1A Cale Reigle 15) 81 Bob Beidleman 16) 8C Troy Long 17) 99 Kyle Bachman 18) 45 Kevin Nagy 19) 99 Kyle Bachman 20) 28 Brian Suchy 21) 27 Wade Stauffer 22) 1J Jake Raudabaugh 23) 54 John Wagner

Heat Winners: Charlie Anderson, Adrian Shaffer, Nate Snyder

Late Models - 22 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 2J Jeff Rine 2) 45 Eric Hons 3) 88 Tony Adams 4) 32 Jeff Smith 5) 6 Donnie Schick 6) 3 Robbie Smith 7) 16 Brian Cochran 8) 88X JR Kiefer 9) 33 Chris Wilkinson 10) 8 Dave Reed 11) 31 Tony Reggie 12) 41 Lou Schultz 13) 4S Dave Shulski 14) 6M Harry Miller 15) 90 Kyle Rhoads 16) 17M Erick Metzger 17) 18 Len Stroud 18) 1M Scott Dorman 19) 1 Harold Schick 20) 77 Todd Kiger 21) 40 Chas Shellenberger 22) 98 Bobby Croop

Heat Winners: Chris Wilkinson, Jeff Rine, Jeff Smith

Pro Stocks - 20 Entries

15-Lap A-Main: 1) 77 Nate Kerstetter 2) 115 Troy Miller 3) 11 Jake Buck 4) 99 Peanut Heintzelman 5) 26 AJ Stroup 6) 10 Gerald Kratzer 7) 6 Dan Jensen 8) 21 AJ Hoffman 9) 8 Brad Trump 10) 38 Rob Baker 11) 15 Don Scheib 12) 74 Mark Aucker 13) 54 Sammy Troup 14) 14 Bill Conrad 15) 18 Roger Stoneroad 16) 711 Jim Jurasich 17) 06 Dave Newcomer 18) 4 Jim Payne 19) 7 Meade Hahn 20) 70 Matt Johnson

Heat Winners: Troy Miller and Nate Kerstetter

Roadrunners - 15 Entries

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 11 Keith Bissinger 2) 10 Gary Kerstetter 3) 10M Brad Mitch 4) 00 Cory Long 5) 010 Matt Keister 6) 48 Matt Drum 7) 8 Lonnie Hile 8) 43 Doug Minium 9) 41 Dennis Conrad 10) 24 BJ Bohner 11) 110 Will Mitch 12) 1J Jeremy Brouse 13) 23 Jim Somers 14) 3 Tom Brunson 15) 11 Nathan Marsico


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , John Wagner , Jeff Smith