Selinsgrove results 2004-05-22

SELINSGROVE, PA- Gary Beward was able to snatch the $1,000 Ink Spot Printing Pro Stock Championship over a strong field of pro stocks. Nate Snyder of Halifax picked up his first career feature win in the 25-lap sprint car main event. Chris ...

SELINSGROVE, PA- Gary Beward was able to snatch the $1,000 Ink Spot Printing Pro Stock Championship over a strong field of pro stocks.

Nate Snyder of Halifax picked up his first career feature win in the 25-lap sprint car main event. Chris Wilkinson recorded his first win of the season in the 20-lap late model feature event. Brad Mitch won a close roadrunner feature.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present the 24th annual Housing Products, Inc. Jack Gunn Memorial for sprint cars on Saturday, May 29 at 7 p.m. Gates open at 5 p.m. The late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners will also be in action.

Time trials determined the first 16 starting positions in the Ink Spot Printing Pro Stock 20. A.J. Stroup set fast time with a lap of 25.648 seconds. Todd Snook had the second fastest time but had to scratch following time trials due to mechanical problems. Due to Snook's problems, nine cars were taken out of the B-Main to fill out the 24 car field. In the 20-lap pro stock main event, early leader Meade Hahn was able to capitalize on his second place starting position and maintained the lead until he stopped on lap three. Eighth place starter, Gary Beward moved into fourth by the second lap.

Polesitter Tim Krape and third-place starter Matt Johnson had a fierce battle for the lead for half of the race until unfortunate circumstances sent the first and second place runners to the end of the field. Beward inherited the lead on lap 16. Beward held off Gerald Kratzer and 17th place starter Corey Kepner for the next several laps. Beward went on to win the $1,000 prize. Corey Kepner was able to get by Kratzer for second. Matt Johnson came from the back of the field to finish third. Kratzer settled for the fourth position, and Troy Miller rounded out the top five. The 25-lap sprint car feature got off to a rough start. On the first attempt to start the race, Cale Reigle, Kyle Bachman, and Nyle Berkes got together between turns one and two. On the backstretch, Ryan Bolhke, Duane Mausteller, and Jason Shultz tangled in a separate accident. On a second attempt to get the race started, Dave Emory hit the guardrail coming off of turn two. Troy Long also stopped in turn four with a right rear flat tire. Eighth-place starter Nate Snyder benefited from early race accidents that moved him into the fourth starting position. Snyder drove into second on the first lap. Snyder followed polesitter John Wagner for the first eight laps. On the eighth lap, Snyder was able to get under Wagner in turn two. Johnny Smith, Larry Kelleher, Davie Franek, and Bob Beidleman were also able to pass the early leader. On lap 13, Brian Powell flipped in turn three. Then the car of Johnny Smith caught on fire. He was running second at the time. On the 14th circuit, 10th-place starter Blane Heimbach moved into the fourth position. By lap 17, Snyder had pulled to a straightaway lead. Snyder went on to post his first career feature win over Kelleher by a margin of 8.78 seconds.

Polesitter Chris Wilkinson raced into the lead on the first lap and continued to stay in front until the checkered flag unfurled. Sixth-place starter Tony Adams worked his way up the field to finish a close second. Jeff Rine, Jeff Smith, and Donnie Schick round out the top five. Fifth-place starter Brad Mitch narrowly beat fourth-place starter Jim Somers for the roadrunner win. Mitch and Somers were followed by Rick Bixler, Keith Bissinger, and Daryl Niaman.

Pro Stocks-32 entries
20-Lap A-Main: 1)19 Gary Beward 2)12K Corey Kepner 3)70 Matt Johnson 4)10 Gerald Kratzer 5)115 Troy Miller 6)14B Dave Brouse Jr. 7)81 Todd Kiger 8)8 Brad Trump 9)1 Mark Benson 10)21 AJ Hoffman 11)6 Dan Jensen 12)05 John Schmidt 13)30 Tim Krape 14)76 Dave Bowsman 15)26 AJ Stroup 16)111 Daryl Niaman 17)711 Jim Jurasich 18)11 Jake Buck 19)38 Rob Baker 20)7 Meade Hahn 21)3John Reyan 22)77 Nate Kerstetter 23)99 Peanut Heintzelman 24)66 Jason Phillips

Top Ten Times: Stroup, Snook, Johnson, Hahn, Krape, Miller, Brouse, Buck, Beward, Kerstetter

B-Main Winner: Jason Phillips

Sprint Cars-31 Entries
25-Lap A-Main: 1)56 Nate Snyder 2)L70 Larry Kelleher 3)28F Davie Franek 4)12 Blane Heimbach 5)6 Jim Nace 6)81 Bob Beidleman 7)2 Jason Shultz 8)3 Kevin Nouse 9)4B Adrian Shaffer 10)64K Kyle Purks 11)10 Jeff Furlong 12)11 Dave Neuman 13)54 John Wagner 14)17 Johnny Smith 15)115 Brain Powell 16)25 Duane Mausteller 17)45 Greg Lotosky 18)0 John Miller 19)8C Troy Long 20)99B Nyle Berkes 21)50 Dave Emory 22)18 Ryan Bolhke 23)1A Cale Reigle 24)99 Kyle Bachman

Heat Winners: Johnny Miller, Bob Beidleman, Greg Lotosky

Consolation Winner: Adrian Shaffer

Late Models-19 Entries
20-Lap A-Main: 1)33W Chris Wilkinson 2)88 Tony Adams 3)2J Jeff Rine 4)32 Jeff Smith 5)6 Donnie Schick 6)4S Dave Shulski 7)16 Brian Cochran 8)45 Eric Hons 9)3Robbie Smith 10)33 Scott Haus 11)92 Randall Paxton 12)10 Gene Wrightstone 13)6S Harold Schick 14)7 John Britsky 15)77 Todd Kiger 16)1M Mike Mort 17)17 Erick Metzger 18)215 Al Shawver Jr. 19)31 Tony Reggie

Heat Winners: Chris Wilkinson, Dave Shulski

Roadrunners-13 Entries
12-Lap A-Main: 1)10M Brad Mitch 2)23 Jim Somers 3)1Rick Bixler 4)11 Keith Bissinger 5)111 Daryl Niaman 6)010 Matt Keister 7)00 Cory Long 8)110Will Mitch 9)41 Dennis Conrad 10)8 Lonnie Hile Sr. 11)8 Brett Kline 12)3 Tom Brunson 13)3D Matt Dutter


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Johnny Miller , Matthew Johnson , John Wagner , Jeff Smith