Selinsgrove results 2004-05-01

Newman Wins Sprint Career First on Pack the Track Night; Schick Powers to First Late Model Win of the Season SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- With an overflow crowd watching on as part of the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass Pack The Track promotion, Dave Neuman of ...

Newman Wins Sprint Career First on Pack the Track Night; Schick Powers to First Late Model Win of the Season

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- With an overflow crowd watching on as part of the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass Pack The Track promotion, Dave Neuman of Myerstown wired the field for his first career win in the 25-lap sprint car feature Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Neuman, an accomplished super sportsman driver, is a sprint car rookie this season at the wheel of his No. 11.

Donnie Schick of Northumberland made a late-race pass by Chris Wilkinson of Shamokin for his first win of the season in the 25-lap late model main event, while Troy Miller of Williamstown recorded his first win of the season in the 15-lap pro stock feature. Keith Bissinger of Orangeville won his fourth race of the season in the 12-lap roadrunner main event.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action this Saturday, May 8, with another program of sprint cars, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners at 7 p.m. Gates open at 5 p.m.

On the third attempt to get the sprint car feature started, polesitter Dave Neuman powered into the lead and never looked back. The first attempt saw 18th-place starter Ryan Bohlke stop on the speedway, while the second start was more serious in nature when 11th-place starter Nate Snyder crashed into the third turn wall and collected Charlie Anderson. Both drivers escaped injury.

Following Neuman in the early stages of the event were second-place starter Johnny Smith and fourth-place starter Greg Lotosky. By lap five, 13th-place starter TJ Stutts was racing in the top five.

Last week's winner Kevin Nouse, who started 10th, horsepowered his way into third by lap seven, then drove by Smith for second on the 10th circuit. The event's next caution flag unfurled on lap 11 and erased the straightaway lead that Neuman had developed over the rest of the field.

On the restart, however, Neuman was able to drive away from Nouse, while ninth-place starter Larry Kelleher, 12th-place starter Davie Franek and Stutts raced in the top five.

The final caution flag unfurled with two laps remaining when Duane Mausteller stopped on the backstretch. For the chase to the checkered, Neuman held the rest of the field at bay, posting a 1.82 second margin of victory over Nouse, Franek, Stutts and 14th-place starter Jason Shultz.

Second-place starter Chris Wilkinson took the lead at the start of the late model feature. Wilkinson was chased by polesitter Bobby Stokes for the first three laps before third-place starter Eric Hons moved into the runner up position.

On the eighth circuit, fifth-place starter Donnie Schick advanced to second and set his sites on Wilkinson. For the next several laps Schick raced in Wilkinson's shadow and applied intense pressure for the lead.

With an inside pass in turn four on the 18th lap, Schick took command of the field, while Wilkinson, seventh-place starter Jeff Rine, Hons and fourth-place starter Al Shawver, Jr., competed in the top five.

At the finish, Schick posted a convincing win by 2.53 seconds over Rine, Wilkinson, Hons and 10th-place starter John Britsky.

Third-place starter Troy Miller led wire to wire in the pro stock feature. Miller was followed by second-place starter Dave Brouse, Jr. for the first five laps before eighth-place starter AJ Stroup powered into second.

Stroup was Miller's most serious contender for the duration of the event. On several occassions Stroup attempted to pull alongside of Miller for a pass for the lead but to no avail. Miller held off the challenges and drove to victory by just .25 of a second over Stroup.

Peanut Heintzelman, Jake Buck and Meade Hahn, who raced in the lead pack with Miller and Stroup, rounded out the top five.

Fourth-place starter Jim Somers led the first five laps of the roadrunner feature. Somers was chased by sixth-place starter Brad Mitch during the first half of the event. On the sixth circuit, seventh-place starter Keith Bissinger put his racer out in front of the pack and went on to the victory over Mitch, Jeff Baney, Tom Brunson and Somers.


Sprint Cars -- 27 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 11 Dave Neuman 2) 3 Kevin Nouse 3) 28F Davie Franek 4) 39 TJ Stutts 5) 2 Jason Shultz 6) 70 Larry Kelleher 7) 20 Rick Hench 8) 115 Brian Powell 9) 4R Mark Freeland 10) 6 Jim Nace 11) 12 Blane Heimbach 12) 80 Todd Reed 13) 30 Daryl Stimeling 14) 18 Ryan Bohlke 15) 80R Dan Richcreek 16) 25 Duane Mausteller 17) 9 Scott Tate 18) 8C Troy Long 19) 17 Johnny Smith 20) 50E Dave Emory 21) 45 Greg Lotosky 22) 6F Bill Fannasy 23) 56 Nate Snyder 24) 71 Charlie Anderson

Heat Winners: Dave Neuman, Johnny Smith, Nate Snyder
Consolation Winner: Mark Freeland

Late Models -- 20 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 6 Donnie Schick 2) 2J Jeff Rine 3) 33 Chris Wilkinson 4) 45 Eric Hons 5) 7 John Britsky 6) 215 Al Shawver, Jr. 7) 8H Glen Heddings 8) 27 Bobby Stokes 9) 88 JR Kiefer 10) 14 Dave Reed 11) 92 Randall Paxton 12) 77 Todd Kiger 13) 1M Mike Mort 14) 16 Brian Cochran 15) 32 Jeff Smith 16) 88x Tony Adams 17) 4S Dave Shulski 18) 31 Tony Reggie 19) 6S Harold Schick 20) 12A Mark Carper

Heat Winners: Jeff Rine, Bobby Stokes

Pro Stocks -- 26 Entries

15-Lap A-Main: 1) 115 Troy Miller 2) 26 AJ Stroup 3) 99 Peanut Heintzelman 4) 11 Jake Buck 5) 7 Meade Hahn 6) 3 John Reyan 7) 111 Daryl Naiman 8) 06 Dave Brouse, Sr. 9) 711 Jim Jurasich 10) 38 Rob Baker 11) 6 Dan Jensen 12) 66 Jason Phillips 13) 14 Bill Conrad 14) 81 Todd Kiger 15) 54 Sammy Troup 16) 14B Dave Brouse, Jr. 17) 18 Roger Stoneroad 18) 4 Jim Payne 19) 70 Matt Johnson 20) 77 Nate Kerstetter 21) 10 Gerald Kratzer 22) 20 Steve Byers 23) 17 Paul Rice 24) 8 Brad Trump

Heat Winners: Troy Miller, Gerald Kratzer, Jake Buck
Consolation Winner: Jason Philips

Roadrunners -- 15 Entries 12-Lap A-Main: 1) 11 Keith Bissinger 2) 10 Brad Mitch 3) 88 Jeff Baney 4) 3 Tom Brunson 5) 23 Jim Somers 6) 8 Brett Kline 7) 110 Will Mitch 8) 1 Rick Bixlier 9) 115 Don Scheib 10) 010 Matt Keister 11) 3D William Dutter 12) 1M Josh Gipson 13) 41D Dennis Conrad 14) 111 Jim Naiman


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , Jeff Smith
Teams Williams