Selinsgrove results 2004-04-17

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove powered to his first win of the season at Selinsgrove Speedway in the 25-lap sprint car feature Saturday on Apex Homes Night. For Heimbach, who recorded a win earlier this season at...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove powered to his first win of the season at Selinsgrove Speedway in the 25-lap sprint car feature Saturday on Apex Homes Night.

For Heimbach, who recorded a win earlier this season at Williams Grove Speedway, the victory marked the sixth of his career at the Snyder County track behind the wheel of the Goff Racing/Beavertown Block/Creasy Signs/Salem RV Center/ Doncin Trucking No. 12.

Jeff Rine of Danville drove to his second win of the season in the 25-lap late model feature, while Jake Buck of Port Trevorton won his first race of the year in the 15-lap pro stock event. Brad Mitch of McClure was awarded the win in the 12-lap roadrunner race when Chris Eckert's car failed a post-race inspection.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action Saturday, April 24 at 7 p.m. with a racing program of sprints, late models, pro stocks, roadrunners, and a special appearance by the Penn-Mar Vintage Race Car Club.

Polesitter Troy Long led the charge at the start of the sprint car feature only to have mechanical problems cause him to fall off the pace on lap three. Second-place starter Kyle Bachman inherited the lead briefly until sixth-place starter Blane Heimbach horsepowered his way into the front spot on lap four.

Heimbach streaked away from the field while Bachman maintained the runner up position and fourth-place starter Nate Snyder raced third. On the ninth circuit, misfortune struck Bachman when his race car drifted into the third turn guardrail. With Bachman sidelined from the event, Snyder advanced to second, while third-place starter Jeff Weaver and ninth-place starter Brian Powell third and fourth, respectively.

At the halfway point, Heimbach held a straightaway lead over Snyder. At this point in the event, Powell developed a flat tire but was able to rejoin the field. Following Heimbach for the start of the second half of the event were Snyder, Weaver, eighth-place starter Jim Nace and seventh-place starter Larry Kelleher.

On the 15th circuit, current point leader and one-time feature winner this season Davie Franek withdrew from the race with mechanical problems. The event's last two caution flags unfurled on laps 22 and 24, setting up a chase to the checkered flag. On each ensuing restart, however, Heimbach left the race of the field standing, posting a 1.18 second margin of victory over Snyder, Nace, Kelleher and Weaver.

Polesitter Chris Wilkinson led the first four laps of the late model feature. Fifth-place starter Donnie Schick made an inside turn four pass by Wilkinson for the lead on the fifth lap. A lap later, eighth-place starter Jeff Rine advanced to second and set his sites on Schick.

On the eighth circuit, Dale Kerstetter, while battling for the fourth position, struck the outside backstretch guardrail, causing his race car to spin out of control. The result of the spin was a multi-car collision involving six other drivers, who all escaped injury.

When the race resumed, Schick held Rine at bay through the 18th lap. In lapped traffic, Rine made the winning pass in turn four on lap 19 and went on to post the victory by 1.75 seconds over Schick

Seventh-place starter Brian Cochran finished third, while Alan Sagi and Tony Adams completed the top five.

Outside front row starter Jason Phillips powered into the lead at the start of the pro stock feature. Phillips was trailed by third-place starter Jake Buck for the first six laps before Buck made the winning pass on the backstretch on lap seven.

Two-time winner and point leader AJ Stroup was sidelined after losing a wheel in turn four on lap six. Later in the event, Phillips' race car caught fire and brought out the red flag on lap 11.

The final laps saw Buck hold off polesitter Nate Kerstetter, last week's winner and seventh-place starter Matt Johnson, fourth-place starter Troy Miller and Rob Baker.

In the roadrunner feature, third-place starter Chris Eckert wired the field to take the checkered flag, only to have his No. 58 fail a post-race inspection. Fourth-place starter Brad Mitch, who trailed Eckert across the finish line, was awarded the win. Also being credited with a top five finish were Rick Bixlier, Dennis Conrad, Brett Kline and Tom Brunson.

Sprint Cars -- 27 Cars

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 12 Blane Heimbach 2) 56 Nate Snyder 3) 6 Jim Nace 4) 70 Larry Kelleher 5) 52 Jeff Weaver 6) 2 Jason Shultz 7) 18 Ryan Bolhke 8) 9 Scott Tate 9) 25 Duane Mausteller 10) 71 Charlie Andersen 11) 115 Brian Powell 12) 0 John Miller 13) 80R Dan Richcreek 14) 1A Cale Reigle 15) 46 Kyle Purks 16) 45 Greg Lotosky 17) 28F Davie Franek 18) 21 Randy Mausteller 19) 99 Kyle Bachman 20) 27 Wade Stauffer 21) 8C Troy Long 22) 3 Kevin Nouse 23) 17 John Smith 24) 11 Dave Neuman (DNS)

Heat Winners: Jim Nace, Kevin Nouse, Brian Powell
Consolation: Charlie Andersen (NTR 5 Laps: 1:32.68)

Late Models -- 23 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 2J Jeff Rine 2) 6 Donnie Schick 3) 16 Brian Cochran 4) 7NY Alan Sagi 5) 88 Tony Adams 6) 88x JR Kiefer 7) 215 Al Shawver, JR. 8) 21F Donnie Farling 9) 4S Dave Shulski 10) F1 Colby Frye 11) 45 Eric Hons 12) 21B Arlin Brougher 13) 6S Harold Schick 14) 31 Tony Reggie 15) 33 Chris Wilkinson 16) 7 Dale Kerstetter 17) 3 Robbie Smith 18) 8H Glen Heddings 19) 92 Paul Cursey 20) 8 Jimmy Adams 21) 27S Bobby Stokes 22) 27 Jack Thornton 23) 75T Terry Neitz 24) 12A Mark Carper

Heat Winners: Alan Sagi, Eric Hons, Jeff Rine

Pro Stocks -- 23 Entries

15-Lap A-Main: 1) 11 Jake Buck 2) 77 Nate Kerstetter 3) 70 Matt Johnson 4) 115 Troy Miller 5) 38 Rob Baker 6) 76 Dave Bowsman 7) 81 Todd Kiger 8) 99 Peanut Heintzelman 9) A18 Roger Stoneroad 10) 7 Meade Hahn 11) 8 Brad Trump 12) 6 Dan Jensen 13) 14 Bill Conrad 14) 54 Sammy Troup 15) 10 Gerald Kratzer 16) 66 Jason Phillips 17) 111 Daryl Niaman 18) 14B Dave Brouse Jr. 19) 26 AJ Stroup 20) 711 Jim Jurasich 21) 21M Brandon Moser 22) 3 Jim Geselman 23) 21 AJ Hoffman

Heat Winners: Troy Miller, Nate Kerstetter, Jake Buck

Roadrunners -- 14 Entries

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 10M Brad Mitch (awarded win) 2) 1 Rick Bixlier 3) 41 Dennis Conrad 4) 8 Brett Kline 5) 3 Tom Brunson 6) 010 Matt Keister 7) 88 Jeff Baney 8) 110 Will Mitch 9) 1M Josh Gipson 10) 11 Keith Bissinger 11) 111 Jim Niaman 12) 58 Chris Eckert (DQ) 13) 23 Jim Somers (DQ) 14) 115 Don Scheib (DNS)


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson
Teams Williams