Selinsgrove results 2004-04-10

SELINSGROVE, Pa - Duane Mausteller of Bloomsburg wired the field for his first ever sprint car win in the 25-lap main event Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway. Mausteller, at the wheel of the Bardo Collision sponsored No. 25, is a former ...

SELINSGROVE, Pa - Duane Mausteller of Bloomsburg wired the field for his first ever sprint car win in the 25-lap main event Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Mausteller, at the wheel of the Bardo Collision sponsored No. 25, is a former winner in midget sprint car competition.

Dale Kerstetter of Liverpool won his 33rd career late model race in the division's 20-lap feature. Matt Johnson of New Berlin won his second career pro stock race in the 15-lap feature, while Chris Eckert of Auburn won his first career roadrunner race in the 12-lap main event.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, April 17 with a racing program of sprint cars, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners sponsored by Apex Homes of Selinsgrove. Track gates open at 5 p.m., with racing starting at 7 p.m.

On the first lap of the sprint car feature, second-place starter John Wagner flipped out over the third turn guardrail; the Sinking Spring driver escaped injury. On the second attempt to start the race, a multi-car melee occurred in turn four and sidelined polesitter Troy Long.

Duane Mausteller, who originally started third and found himself on the pole for the start of the race following the first-lap incidents, powered into the early lead. Mausteller was trailed by fourth-place starter Larry Kelleher and fifth-place starter Ryan Bohlke in the early laps.

By lap seven, Mausteller and Kelleher began to encounter slower traffic. While in traffic, Kelleher moved within striking distance of Mausteller. Then, at the halfway point, sixth-place starter Blane Heimbach passed fifth-place starter Ryan Bohlke for the third position and pursued the leaders.

On lap 15, the red flag unfurled when Jen Yinger and Kyle Bachman collided in the second turn of the speedway. At the same time, Nate Snyder, who was racing fifth, was forced to withdraw from the race following contact in the second turn. All drivers escaped injury.

The final 10 laps saw Mausteller pull away from Kelleher and Heimbach. At the finish, Mausteller was victorious by 1.53 seconds over Kelleher, Heimbach, Bohlke and Rick Hench,

In the late model feature, second-place starter Dale Kerstetter powered into the lead at the start of the event. Kerstetter was chased by second-place starter Tony Adams for the duration of the race.

On lap six, sixth-place starter Jeff Rine moved by fifth-place starter Eric Hons for the third position. However, on lap 12, Rine withdrew from the race with mechanical problems.

In the final laps of the event, Kerstetter began to stretch his lead over Adams, and eventually posted a 3.88 second margin of victory. Fifth-place starter Eric Hons finished third, while Robbie Smith and Brian Cochran completed the top five.

Polesitter Meade Hahn led the first 11 laps of the pro stock feature with fourth-place starter Matt Johnson in close pursuit. On the ninth circuit, sixth-place starter Peanut Heintzelman moved into third.

Racing off turn four on the 12th lap, Johnson swept underneath Hahn to secure the lead. Johnson went on to post the win by 2.66 seconds over Heintzelman, Hahn, Brad Trump and John Reyan.

Second-place starter Will Mitch led the first lap of the roadrunner feature until sixth-place starter Jim Somers drove his race car to the front of the pack. Somers led through lap five, when he was passed by fourth-place starter Chris Eckert for the lead.

Eckert went on to post the win over Somers, Brad Mitch, Keith Bissinger and Rick Bixlier.


Sprint Cars -- 26 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 25 Duane Mausteller 2) L70 Larry Kelleher 3) 12 Blane Heimbach 4) 18 Ryan Bohlke 5) 20 Rick Hench 6) 2 Jason Shultz 7) 28F Davie Franek 8) 64K Kyle Purks 9) 52 Jeff Weaver 10) 6 Jim Nace 11) 80 Todd Reed 12) 1A Cale Reigle 13) 71 Charlie Anderson 14) 115 Brian Powell 15) 45 Eric Hons 16) 56 Nate Snyder 17) 99 Kyle Bachman 18) 13 Jen Yinger 19) 0 John Miller 20) 81 Bob Beidleman 21) 21 Randy Mausteller 22) 3 Kevin Nouse 23) 8C Troy Long 24) 54 John Wagner
Heat Winners: Larry Kelleher, John Wagner, Blane Heimbach
Consolation Winner: Todd Reed

Late Models -- 14 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 7 Dale Kerstetter 2) 88 Tony Adams 3) 45 Eric Hons 4) 3S Robbie Smith 5) 16 Brian Cochran 6) 215 Al Shawver, Jr. 7) Donnie Schick 8) 33 Chris Wilkinson 9) 4S Dave Shulski 10) 2J Jeff Rine 11) 88X Check Adams 12) 19J Pen Kester 13) 75T Terry Neitz DNS 14) 6S Harold Schick
Heat Winners: Dale Kerstetter, Robbie Smith (NTR: 2:10.28)

Pro Stocks -- 23 Entries

15-Lap A-Main: 1) 70 Matt Johnson 2) 99 Peanut Heintzelman 3) 7 Meade Hahn 4) 8 Brad Trump 5) 3 John Reyan 6) 14B Dave Brouse Jr. 7) 10 Gerald Kratzer 8) 26 AJ Stroup 9) 115 Troy Miller 10) 38 Rob Baker 11) 711 Jim Jurasich 12) 06 Dave Newcomer 13) 54 Sammy Troup 14) 81 Todd Kiger 15) A18 Roger Stoneroad 16) 11 Jake Buck 17) 14 Bill Conrad 18) 66 Jason Phillips 19) 6X Sam Jensen 20) 111 Daryl Naiman 21) 21 AJ Hoffman 22) 21J Jason Bowersox 23) 77 Nate Kerstetter
Heat Winners: Peanut Heintzelman, Brad Trump, John Reyan

Roadrunners -- 15 Entries

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 58 Chris Eckert 2) 23 Jim Somers 3) 10 Brad Mitch 4) 11 Keith Bissinger 5) 1 Rick Bixlier 6) 115 Don Scheib 7) 36 Jordan Grassmyer 8) 8 Brett Kline 9) 110 Will Mitch 10) 111 Jim Niaman 11) 41 Dennis Conrad 12) 010 Matt Keister 13) 3D Matt Dotter 14) 3 Tom Brunson 15) 88 Jeff Baney


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , John Wagner