Selinsgrove results 2003-08-17

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove passed current series point leader Chad Layton of Harrisburg on the 10th circuit while driving to his fourth win of the season at Selinsgrove Speedway in Sunday night's 25-lap sprint car main ...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove passed current series point leader Chad Layton of Harrisburg on the 10th circuit while driving to his fourth win of the season at Selinsgrove Speedway in Sunday night's 25-lap sprint car main event.

The win for Heimbach, at the wheel of the Middleswarth Potato Chips/ Beavertown Block/Creasy Signs No. 12, was his 13th overall on the 2003 season.

Donnie Schick of Northumberland powered to his second win of the season in the 25-lap late model event, while Gerald Kratzer of Selinsgrove won his first feature of the season in the 15-lap pro stock main event.

Brad Mitch of McClure won his third roadrunner race in the division's 12-lap main event. For the second week in a row, Saturday's racing program, sponsored by Harry's U-Pull It Auto Parts, was completed on Sunday when it was postponed by rain.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action this Saturday, August 23 with a program, co-sponsored by Penn-Selin Air and Penn Lyon Homes, featuring 30-lap and 20-lap summer championship events for sprint cars and pro stocks, respectively. Also competing will be the late models and roadrunners.

Gates on Saturday will open at 5 p.m., with racing slated to begin at 7 p.m.

At the start of the sprint car feature, rookie driver Brent Kluge rolled over in his No.29K sprinter when Justin Zimmerman and TJ Stutts made contact in turn four. Kluge escaped injury, and all three drivers were able to rejoin the race.

Polesitter Vince Snyder led the first lap of the sprint car feature until second-place starter Duane Mausteller made a pass for the lead in turn four. On the third circuit, Jason Schultz spun in turn three and flipped over, then was struck by Zimmerman and later Mausteller.

Jim Layton inherited the lead at this point, with his son Chad Layton in second and ninth-place starter Blane Heimbach restarting in third. On the restart C. Layton passed his father for the lead with Heimbach following him into second.

On a lap 10 restart, Heimbach powered around Layton exiting the second turn for the lead. Once in front of the pack, Heimbach stretched his lead and went on to post a 2.35 second victory over C. Layton, Kyle Purks, J. Layton and Nate Snyder.

Outside front row starter Brian Cochran powered into the lead at the start of the late model main event. Polesitter Donnie Schick raced a close second, while fourth-place starter Glen Heddings competed in the third position.

Despite several restarts, Cochran was able to hold off Schick and Heddings. Then, on the 20th circuit, Schick made the winning pass on the outside of Cochran exiting the second turn. Once he was in front of the pack, Schick streaked away from the field.

Schick posted a 3.41 second victory over Heddings, Cochran, Scott Haus and Terry Neitz.

Third-place starter AJ Stroup took the lead at the start of the pro stock main event. Stroup was followed by sixth-place starter Gerald Kratzer for the first two laps, when Stroup got sideways in the second turn but was able to continue.

Before the race restarted, however, Stroup withdrew from the race, and Kratzer inherited the lead. Kratzer was then challenged by fifth-place starter Matt Johnson and ninth-place starter Kyle Bachman. The final three laps saw Bachman move into second and make a last-ditch effort to snag the lead and win, but Kratzer persevered for his first win of the season.

Bachman, Gary Beward, Johnson and Meade Hahn completed the top five.

Fifth-place starter Brad Mitch took the lead at the onset of the roadrunner main event and wired the field for the victory. Mitch held off third-place starter Jim Somers and seventh-place starter Joey Keister for the win.


Sprints - 29 Entries
25-Lap A-Main: 1) 12 Blane Heimbach 2) U1 Chad Layton 3) 64K Kyle Purks 4) 46 Jim Layton 5) 56 Nate Snyder 6) 28F Davie Franek 7) 10 Donnie Beaver 8) 81 Bob Beidleman 9) 70 Larry Kelleher 10) 99 Nyle Berkes 11) 98 Jamie Schwarz 12) 11T TJ Stutts 13) 15 Vince Snyder 14) 17 John Smith 15) 6F Bill Fannasy 16) 31 Tim Higgins 17) 71A Charlie Andersen 18) 1A Cale Reigle 19) 21 Duane Mausteller 20) 2 Jason Schultz 21) 7J Justin Zimmerman 22) 29K Brent Kluge

Heat Winners: Bob Beidleman, Vince Snyder, Chad Layton

No Consolation Was Needed for Sunday Raindate.

Late Models - 22 Entries
25-Lap A-Main: 1) 6 Donnie Schick 2) 8H Glen Heddings 3) 16 Brian Cochran 4) 33 Scott Haus 5) 75 Terry Neitz 6) 15 Jason Covert 7) 7 Dale Kerstetter 8) 111 Tony Adams 9) 2J Jeff Rine 10) 8 Jimmy Adams 11) 32 Jeff Smith 12) 2 Jeff Rayson 13) 71 Bill Sube 14) 44 Tony Smith 15) 4S Dave Shulski 16) 22D Travis Dillman 17) 88X Chris Wilkinson 18) 14 Dave Reed 19) 45 Eric Hons 20) 22 Bill Trometter 21) 77 John Troxell 22) 45X Mark Carper

Heat Winners: Glen Heddings, Tony Adams, Brian Cochran

Pro Stocks - 24 Entries
15-Lap A-Main: 1) 10 Gerald Kratzer 2) 99 Kyle Bachman 3) 19 Gary Beward 4) 70 Matt Johnson 5) 7 Meade Hahn 6) 2 Jason Schmidt 7) 115 Troy Miller 8) 88 Jason Davis 9) 48 Matt Drum 10) 76 Dave Bowsman 11) 54 Sammy Troup 12) 66 Jason Phillips 13) 81 Todd Kiger 14) 38 Rob Baker 15) 111 Daryl Naiman 16) 9 Terry Jeirles 17) 14 Bill Conrad 18) 77 Nate Kerstetter 19) 11 Jake Buck 20) 711 Jim Jurasich 21) 7W Gary Welsh 22) 4 Jay Payne 23) 26 AJ Stroup 24) 8B Harry Bell

Heat Winners: Matt Johnson, Nate Kerstetter

Roadrunners - 14 Entries
12-Lap A-Main: 1) 10M Brad Mitch 2) 23 Jim Somers 3) 110 Joey Keister 4) 115 Don Scheib 5) 00 Cory Long 6) 48 Matt Drum 7) 58 Chris Eckert 8) 41 Dennis Conrad 9) 48X Mark Benson 10) 111 Jim Neiman 11) 7 Jeff Baney 12) 36 Shawn Stahl 13) 3B Jason Brosius 14) 3 Selena Ditter


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , Jay Payne , Tony Smith , Jeff Smith