Selinsgrove results 2003-08-02

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - John Wagner of Sinking Spring held off Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove by a half car-length to post his first ever win at Selinsgrove Speedway in Saturday night's 25-lap sprint car feature. Wagner, a former sprint winner at the...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - John Wagner of Sinking Spring held off Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove by a half car-length to post his first ever win at Selinsgrove Speedway in Saturday night's 25-lap sprint car feature.

Wagner, a former sprint winner at the Bridgeport (NJ) Speedway, became the track's 11th different winner in Cindy Rowe Paintless Dent Repair sprint car competition this season.

Jeff Smith of Blain recorded his third win of the season in the 25-lap late model feature, while Kyle Bachman of Selinsgrove drove to his seventh win of the year in the 15-lap pro stock main event. Brad Mitch of McClure won his first career race at Selinsgrove in the 12-lap roadrunner event.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action this Saturday, August 9, with the 17th annual running of the Bob Bender Late Model Memorial. The special event for late models will be 30 laps in distance and will pay $1,700 to the winner. Also competing will be the sprint cars, pro stocks and roadrunners starting at 7 p.m.

Third-place starter John Wagner powered into the lead at the start of the sprint car feature. Wagner was trailed by sixth-place starter Jason Schultz, fourth-place starter Larry Kelleher, and second-place starter Jen Yinger.

On the seventh circuit, Bob Beidleman's race car made contact with the fourth turn guardrail and flipped over several times. 14th-place starter Davie Franek was also involved in the crash when his car tore down several feet of guardrail on the inside of turn four. Both drivers escaped injury.

On lap eight, the race was stopped again when Yinger and Cliff Brian collided in turn two. Both drivers were not injured.

When the race resumed, Wagner held the front spot with Schultz in close pursuit. Blane Heimbach, who started 12th, was a man on a mission as the Selinsgrove driver rocketed into third by lap 11.

Heimbach advanced to second a circuit later and reeled in Wagner. On lap 17, Heimbach put in a bid for the lead entering turn one. Although Heimbach passed Wagner in turn one, the caution flag unfurled, and the field's positioning was reverted back to the last completed lap.

The final eight laps saw Wagner and Heimbach break away from the field. On the final lap, coming off the final corner, Heimbach made a last ditch effort to take the lead and win. Wagner held off Heimbach by a half car-length for the win. Schultz, Rick Hench and Chad Layton completed the top five.

Outside front row starter Glen Heddings drove into the lead at the start of the late model feature. Several multi-car pileups slowed the pace that was set by Heddings over fifth-place starter Eric Hons.

On the 17th circuit, while dueling for the lead with Heddings, Hons lost control of his car in turn four. On the restart, sixth-place starter Jeff Smith powered into the lead and drove to his third victory of the season over Heddings, Tony Adams, Hons and Chris Wilkinson.

Following several skirmishes on the start of the pro stock feature, ninth-place starter Troy Miller found himself leading the pack at the onset. Miller set the pace in front of 11th-place starter Jake Buck and 12th-place starter Kyle Bachman.

Bachman passed Buck for second on lap three and raced in Miller's shadow for the next five laps. On the ninth circuit, Bachman made the winning pass using the inside line by Miller entering turn one.

Bachman drove to victory over Miller, Buck, Nate Kerstetter and AJ Stroup.

Polesitter Jim Somers led the first nine laps of the roadrunner feature before fourth-place starter Brad Mitch took command of the field. Mitch led the final three laps to post his first ever win. Somers finished second, while Cory Long, Troy Miller and Matt Drum completed the top five.


Sprint Cars - 27 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 54 John Wagner 2) 12 Blane Heimbach 3) 2 Jason Schultz 4) 1 Rick Hench 5) U1 Chad Layton 6) 115 Brian Powell 7) 56 Nate Snyder 8) 21 Kevin Nouse 9) 10 Donnie Beaver 10) L70 Larry Kelleher 11) 99 Nyle Berkes 12) 25 Duane Mausteller 13) 64K Kyle Purks 14) 11T TJ Stutts 15) 46 James Layton 16) 45 Greg Lotosky 17) 6F Bill Fannasy 18) 1M Babe Mader 19) 71A Charlie Andersen 20) 13 Jen Yinger 21) 16 Cliff Brian 22) 81 Bob Beidleman 23) 28F Davie Franek 24) 80 Bob Beidleman

Heat Winners: John Wagner, Larry Kelleher, Jen Yinger
Consolation Winner: Nate Snyder

Late Models - 20 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 32 Jeff Smith 2) 8H Glen Heddings 3) 111 Tony Adams 4) 45 Eric Hons 5) 88X Chris Wilkinson 6) 14 Dave Reed 7) 8 Jimmy Adams 8) 4S Dave Shulski 9) 44 Tony Smith 10) 2J Jeff Rine 11) 7 Dale Kerstetter 12) 2 Jeff Rayson 13) 77 John Troxell 14) 16 Brian Cochran 15) 29 Dick Houtz 16) 92 Dave Perry 17) 19J Pen Kester 18) 71 Bill Sube 19) 3 Peanut Heintzelman 20) 6 Donnie Schick (DNS)

Heat Winners: Dale Kerstetter, Tony Adams, Dave Shulski

Pro Stocks - 23 Cars

15-Lap A-Main: 1) 99 Kyle Bachman 2) 115 Troy Miller 3) 11 Jake Buck 4) 77 Nate Kerstetter 5) 26 AJ Stroup 6) 10 Gerald Kratzer 7) 9 Gary Kerstetter 8) 70 Matt Johnson 9) 06 Dave Newcomer 10) 38 Bob Baker 11) 54 Sammy Troup 12) 14 Bill Conrad 13) 4 Jim Payne 14) 8B Harry Bell 15) 81 Todd Kiger 16) 66 Jason Phillips 17) 7 Meade Hahn 18) 7W Gary Welsh 19) 70G Bill Glass 20) 711 Jim Jurasich 21) 48 Matt Drum 22) 199 Ken Stitt 23) 99S Steve Stitt (DNS)

Heat Winners: Kyle Bachman, Nate Kerstetter, Gerald Kratzer

Roadrunners - 15 Cars

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 10M Brad Mitch 2) 23 Jim Somers 3) 00 Cory Long 4) 111 Troy Miller 5) 48 Matt Drum 6) 41 Dennis Conrad 7) 1 Rick Bixlier 8) 110 Joey Keister 9) 7 Jeff Baney 10) 36 Shawn Stahl 11) 48X Bruce Drum 12) 3B Matt Dutter 13) 115 Don Scheib 14) 18 Jim Spittoc 15) 3 Jason Brosius

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Bob Baker , Matthew Johnson , John Wagner , Tony Smith , Jeff Smith