Selinsgrove results 2003-07-12

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Kevin Nouse of Lewisberry returned to Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night and powered to his second straight sprint car win in the division's 25-lap main event. It was only Nouse's fourth start of the season at Selinsgrove at...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Kevin Nouse of Lewisberry returned to Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night and powered to his second straight sprint car win in the division's 25-lap main event.

It was only Nouse's fourth start of the season at Selinsgrove at the wheel of the Turner Hydraulics sponsored No. 21.

Eric Hons drove to his first late model win at Selinsgrove since 1997 in the 20-lap main event. The win marked the seventh of Hons' career at the track.

AJ Stroup of Evandale won his first career pro stock feature in the 15-lap main event, while Matt Drum of Port Trevorton swept both of the 10-lap roadrunner features.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, July 19, with the 30-lap Jack Gunn Memorial for sprint cars that will pay $1,500 to win. The sprints will be joined by the late models, pro stocks and roadrunners at 7 p.m. Gates open at 5 p.m. Saturday's racing program will be sponsored by Housing Products, Inc.

Second-place starter John Wagner powered into the early lead in the sprint car feature. Wagner was trailed by third-place starter Justin Zimmerman and sixth-place starter Bob Camilli.

On the fifth circuit, Nate Snyder stopped on the backstretch but was able to rejoin the field. When the race resumed, Wagner set the pace with ninth-place starter Kevin Nouse advancing to third.

On lap seven, Nouse passed Zimmerman for second and set his sites on the leader. At the halfway point, Troy Long took a violent flip out over the fourth-turn guardrail and landed on the outside pit entrance road. Long escaped injury.

When the race resumed, Wagner held off Nouse and 11th-place starter Davey Franek. The race was stopped again on lap 16 when Cliff Brian and another car made contact resulting in Brian's car flipping out over the second-turn guadrail. Brian was not injured.

On the restart, Nouse made the winning pass by Wagner using the outside lane in turn two. From that point, Nouse streaked away from the field and posted a two-second margin of victory over Wagner, Franek, Chad Layton and Snyder.

Outside front row starter Dave Schulski drove into the lead at the start of the late model feature. Fourth-place starter Eric Hons chased Schulski for the lead spot for the first six laps.

On lap seven, the caution flag unfurled for a spun car in turn three. Schulski, entering turn three, took evasive action but struck the outside guardrail. At this point, Hons inherited the lead and drove to a convincing win over Jeff Smith, Tony Adams, Dale Kerstetter and Jeff Rine.

Stroup started second in the pro stock feature and wired the field for his first career win. Stroup was followed by polesitter Ken Stitt for the first nine laps until 11th-place starter Jason Schmidt powered into second on lap 11.

Schmidt offered the most serious challenge to Stroup in the final laps, but Stroup prevailed to post a mere .31 of a second victory over Schmidt, Nate Kerstetter, Kyle Bachman and Meade Hahn.

In the make up roadrunner feature, Matt Drum wired the field for the win and set a new 10-lap track record of 4:39.78. Cory Long and Joey Keister finished second and third, respectively.

In the regularly scheduled event, Cory Long led the first lap until Drum powered by him for the lead. Drum drove to another victory, his sixth of the season, over Keister and Long.


Sprint Cars - 30 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 21 Kevin Nouse 2) 54 John Wagner 3) 28F Davie Franek 4) U1 Chad Layton 5) 56 Nate Snyder 6) 11T TJ Stutts 7) 7J Justin Zimmerman 8) 34 Bob Camilli 9) 81 Bob Beidleman 10) 10 Donnie Beaver 11) L70 Larry Kelleher 12) 115 Brian Powell 13) 64K Kyle Purks 14) 6F Bill Fannasy 15) 42 Allen Spriggle 16) 31 Tim Higgins 17) 1M Babe Mader 18) 16 Cliff Brian 19) 13 Jen Yinger 20) 8C Troy Long 21) 25 Duane Mausteller 22) 12 Blane Heimbach 23) 0M John Miller 24) 116 Mike Enders

Heat Winners: Mike Enders, John Wagner, Bob Beidleman
Consolation Winner: Tim Higgins

Late Models - 16 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 45 Eric Hons 2) 32 Jeff Smith 3) 111 Tony Adams 4) 7 Dale Kerstetter 5) 2J Jeff Rine 6) 16 Brian Cochran 7) 6 Donnie Schick 8) 8 Jimmy Adams 9) 22 Randall Paxton 10) 14 Dave Reed 11) 44 Tony Smith 12) 5 Eric Metzger 13) 92 Dave Perry 14) 4S Dave Schulski 15) 72 Bill Thubbron 16) 20 Jim Jurasich (DNS)

Heat Winners: Dave Schulski, Dale Kerstetter

Pro Stocks - 29 Entries

15-Lap A-Main: 1) 26 AJ Stroup 2) 2 Jason Schmidt 3) 77 Nate Kerstetter 4) 99 Kyle Bachman 5) 7 Meade Hahn 6) 48 Matt Drum 7) 99H Peanut Heintzelman 8) 10 Gerald Kratzer 9) 115 Troy Miller 10) 7W Gary Welsch 11) 9 Chad Keister 12) 70G Bill Glass 13) 1 Mark Benson 14) 11 Jake Buck 15) 711 Jim Jurasich 16) 54 Sammy Troup 17) 66 Jason Phillips 18) 06 Dave Newcomer 19) 8B Harry Bell 20) 99S Steve Stitt 21) 70 Matt Johnson 22) 199 Ken Stitt 23) 14 Bill Conrad 24) 47 Chris Benfer

Heat Winners: Matt Drum, Steve Byers, Kyle Bachman
Consolation Winner: Chad Keister

Roadrunners: 10 Entries

10-Lap A-Main: 1) 48 Matt Drum 2) 110 Joey Keister 3) 00 Cory Long 4) 36 Shawn Stark 5) 48X Bruce Drum 6) 7 Jeff Baney 7) 10M Brad Mitch 8) 23 Jim Somers 9) 58 Chris Eckert 10) 111 Jim Niemon 6/14 10-Lap Makeup (NTR: 4:39.78): 1) 48 Matt Drum 2) 00 Cory Long 3) 110 Joey Keister 4) 23 Jim Somers 5) 10M Brad Mitch 6) 7 Jeff Baney 7) 41 Dennis Conrad

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , John Wagner , Tony Smith , Jeff Smith