Selinsgrove results 2003-06-14

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Billy Dietrich has had his share of breaks at Selinsgrove Speedway over recent years-from broken parts on his race car to a broken arm sustained in a crash two years ago. Dietrich, of Aspers, finally got a break from the bad...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Billy Dietrich has had his share of breaks at Selinsgrove Speedway over recent years-from broken parts on his race car to a broken arm sustained in a crash two years ago.

Dietrich, of Aspers, finally got a break from the bad luck on Saturday night when he wire the field for his first ever sprint car win at Selinsgrove in the 30-lap Challenge Championship event which drew a record 59 limited sprint cars from several states.

"I was just about ready to give up on this place," said Dietrich in victory lane. "This win tonight makes up for some of the bad luck."

The win was worth $2,003 for Dietrich, who became the track's seventh different 358 sprint car winner this season.

Chris Wilkinson of Shamokin was declared the winner of the 14-lap abbreviated late model feature. The win was the first of Wilkinson's career in late model racing at Selinsgrove.

Kyle Bachman of Selinsgrove won the make up pro stock feature from May 17. The win was the third of the season for Bachman.

The racing program was delayed 45 minutes due to heavy rain that arrived at the speedway about 4 p.m., causing wet track conditions. The regularly scheduled pro stock and roadrunner events were postponed.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present the 2nd annual Ink Spot Printing Pro Stock 20 on Saturday, June 21. The pro stocks will be joined by the sprint cars, late models and roadrunners on Timber Wolf Racing Night.

Track officials announced that Sunday rain dates will be in effect for the summer. If a Saturday night racing program is canceled due to rain, the event will be completed the next night on Sunday.

Outside front row starter Billy Dietrich powered into the lead at the start of the sprint car feature and never looked back. Dietrich was chased by fourth-place starter Kramer Williamson for all 30 laps.

Following the completion of lap one, three cars stopped simultaneously on the race track, including the cars driven by Nate Snyder, Davie Franek and Bob Camilli.

When the race resumed, former 1978 track champion Williamson kept Dietrich in his sites. The top two racers broke away from the pack, while third-place starter Donnie Beaver maintained the third position.

At the halfway point, Dietrich stretched his lead to a half-straightaway margin over Williamson, while Beaver, sixth-place starter Joe Whitcomb, and fifth-place starter Blane Heimbach competed in the top five.

On the 19th circuit, Beaver's race car rolled to a stop in turn four. On the ensuing restart, 13th-place starter Chad Layton found himself in the top five. At the finish, Dietrich was victorious by a comfortable margin over Williamson, Heimbach, Layton and Whitcomb.

At the start of the late model feature, point leader Dale Kerstetter was involved in a skirmish in turn four but was able to rejoin.

Outside front row starter Chris Wilkinson drove into the lead at the start, with polesitter Dave Schulski trailing him for the first four laps before defending track champion Tony Adams powered into second.

Adams closed in on Wilkinson, his teammate, while Schulski, fourth-place starter Eric Hons and seventh-place starter Jeff Rine raced in the top five. On lap 11, however, Rine stopped on the track with a flat tire but was able to rejoin.

When the race resumed, Wilkinson held off the challenges of Adams. The race was stopped on lap 14 for a crash in turn four, then the event was called official due to curfew limitations. Wilkinson was declared the winner over Adams, Hons, Schulski, and Kerstetter.

Polesitter Ken Stitt led the first lap of the May 17 makeup pro stock feature. On the second circuit, fifth-place starter Troy Miller took command of the field. Stitt held the runner up position until lap four, when eighth-place starter Jason Schmidt advanced to second.

Kyle Bachman, who started 10th, took over second on lap 12. With three laps remaining, Miller lost control of his race car on the frontstretch and slammed the inside guardrail. Bachman inherited the lead at this point and went on to win the event over Jake Buck, Meade Hahn, Matt Drum and Nate Kerstetter.


Sprint Cars - 59 Entries
30-Lap A-Main: 1) 8D Billy Dietrich $2,003 2) 73 Kramer Williamson 3) 12 Blane Heimbach 4) U1 Chad Layton 5) 71 Joe Whitcomb 6) 11C Cory Haas 7) 115 Brian Powell 8) 11T TJ Stutts 9) 45 Kevin Nagy 10) 1W Brice Wrenn
Heat Winners: Cory Haas, Joe Whitcomb, Davie Franek, Kevin Nagy, John Wagner (NTR 10 Laps: 3:12.28)
C-Main Winner: Rusty Pressley
B-Main Winner: Alan Krimes

Late Models - 16 Entries
14-Lap Abbreviated A-Main: 1) 88X Chris Wilkinson 2) 88 Tony Adams 3) 45 Eric Hons 4) 4S Dave Schulski 5) 7 Dale Kerstetter 6) 8 Jimmy Adams 7) 14 Dave Reed 8) 2J Jeff Rine 9) 32 Jeff Smith 10) 16 Brian Cochran

Pro Stocks - 30 Entries
A-Main: To Be Rescheduled
Heat Winners: Donnie Murphy, Troy Miller, Gary Beward
Consolation Winner: Corey Kepner
May 17 Make Up Feature: 1) 99 Kyle Bachman 2) 11 Jake Buck 3) 7 Meah Hahn 4) 48 Matt Drum 5) 77 Nate Kerstetter 6) 7W Gary Welsh 7) 10 Gerald Kratzer 8) 9 Terry Jeirles 9) 99H Peanut Heintzelman 10) 115 Troy Miller

Roadrunners - 15 Entries
A-Main: To Be Rescheduled


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers John Wagner , Jeff Smith
Teams Williams