Selinsgrove results 2003-05-17

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Three weeks ago, 16-year-old Davie Franek of Lafayette, NJ, had his first career win get away from him when Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove passed him on the final lap, racing off the final turn, in lapped traffic. Franek wasn't...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Three weeks ago, 16-year-old Davie Franek of Lafayette, NJ, had his first career win get away from him when Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove passed him on the final lap, racing off the final turn, in lapped traffic.

Franek wasn't about to let that happen again on Saturday night in the 25-lap sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway. Franek, a rookie this season, held off Nate Snyder of Halix in lapped traffic to record his first career sprint car victory at the wheel of the family-owned No. 28F.

In the first visit since 2000 by the United Racing Club sprint cars, Dave Ely of West Lawn drove to the win in the 25-lap main event over Brian Seidel of Allentown.

The pro stock feature was postponed until Saturday, May 24, while the roadrunner feature has been rescheduled for Saturday, May 31.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action this Saturday, May 24, with the 23rd Annual Housing Products, Inc. Jack Gunn Memorial for sprint cars at 7 p.m. The Cindy Rowe Paintless Dent Repair sprint cars will vie in a 30-lap main event paying $1,500 to win.

The MAPCO Machine Shop late models will race for $1,300 to win, courtesy of a $300 bonus from HPI. The winner of the Salem RV Center/Keller's Auto Body pro stock feature will collect a $50 bonus from HPI, while the roadrunner winner will receive a $25 bonus.

Polesitter John Wagner powered into the lead at the start of the sprint car feature. Two separate red flags stopped the race on the initial attempts to get the feature started. The first unfurled for Cliff Brian's flip in turn four, the second when Joe Whitcomb turned over in his sprint car in turn three. All drivers escaped injury.

Wagner held off the challenges of original ninth-place starter Davie Franek. Franek chased Wagner for the first seven laps before making the winning pass using the inside lane in turns one and two on the eighth circuit.

Shortly after Franek took the lead, 11th-place starter Nate Snyder advanced to second. Snyder reeled in Franek in traffic, while 13th-place starter Chad Layton moved into third at the halfway point.

A crash on lap 15 involving two cars in turn one stopped the race. When the race resumed, the rookie Franek drove his sprint car like a seasoned veteran in lapped traffic. At the finish, Franek took the checkered flag by just .91 of a second over Snyder, Layton, TJ Stutts, and Troy Long.

In the URC feature, polesitter Scott Pursell stormed into the lead. Second-place starter Dave McGough trailed Pursell for the first five laps, when Pursell collided with several crashed cars in turn one.

At this point, McGough inherited the lead. On the lap six restart, however, third-place starter Dave Ely powered around McGough in the second turn for the front spot. Once in front of the pack, Ely streaked away from the field.

The race was stopped again on lap 11 for a multi-car crash in turn two. On the ensuing restart, seventh-place starter Brian Seidel advanced to second and chased Ely through lapped traffic for the duration of the event.

At the finish, Ely was victorious over Seidel, McGough, Jon Eldreth and Kevin Welsh.


United Racing Club Sprints - 34 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 3 Dave Ely 2) 6 Brian Seidel 3) 669 Dave McGough 4) 25 Jon Eldreth 5) 18W Kevin Welsh 6) 2 Curt Michael 7) 56 Chris Coyle 8) 16A Ed Aikin 9) 33 Doug Emery 10) 99 Trevor Lewis 11) 76 Danny Massey 12) 4 Pete Green 13) 08 Jason Clauss 14) 85 Glen Clarke 15) 5G Mike Haggenbottom 16) 5A Ashley Parlett 17) 63 Josh Weller 18) 39M Matt Gerber 19) 69 Justin Collett 20) 1 Scott Pursell 21) 14 Donnie Ennis 22) 78 Jeff Whary 23) 40 Mike Kostic 24) 39 Tim Hogue (DNS)

Heat Winners: Ed Aikin, Chris Coyle, Tim Hogue
Consolation: Doug Emery

358 Sprints - 31 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 28F Davie Franek 2) 56 Nate Snyder 3) U1 Chad Layton 4) 11T TJ Stutts 5) 8C Troy Long 6) 66 Dale Hammaker 7) 71A Charlie Andersen 8) 9 Scott Tate 9) 10 Donnie Beaver 10) 45 Kevin Nagy 11) 25 Duane Mausteller 12) 4B Jake Radabaugh 13) 54 John Wagner 14) 31 Tim Higgins 15) 12 Blane Heimbach 16) 15 Vince Snyder 17) 13 Jen Yinger 18) 7J Justin Zimmerman 19) L70 Larry Kelleher 20) 6F Bill Fannasy 21) 5 Craig Eshenaur 22) 71 Charlie Andersen 23) 16 Cliff Brian 24) 115 Brian Powell

Heat Winners: John Wagner, Charlie Andersen, Kevin Nagy
Consolation: Tim Higgins

Pro Stocks - 21 Entries

15-Lap A-Main: POSTPONED until May 24
Heat Winners: Gary Beward, Jake Buck

Roadrunners - 11 Entries

10-Lap A-Main: POSTPONED until May 31


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers John Wagner , Glen Clarke