Selinsgrove resuls 2004-06-26

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Dave Calaman of Carlisle drove to victory in the third annual Salem RV Center/Keller's Auto Body Firecracker 40 for sprint cars Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway. Calaman, at the wheel of the Highland's Tire Service No. 3, ...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Dave Calaman of Carlisle drove to victory in the third annual Salem RV Center/Keller's Auto Body Firecracker 40 for sprint cars Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Calaman, at the wheel of the Highland's Tire Service No. 3, became the 10th different winner in 12 races in Cindy Rowe Auto Glass 358 sprint car competition this season. Calaman also became one of a select few drivers in the history of the speedway to have won races at the track in three different divisions. He is also a former winner in 410 sprint cars and super sportsman at Selinsgrove.

Brian Cochran won his first race of the season in the 20-lap late model feature, while Gerald Kratzer of Selinsgrove and Keith Bissinger of Orangeville took wins in the 15-lap pro stock and 12-lap roadrunner events, respectively.

Selinsgrove Speedway will be in competition two times next weekend. The sixth annual Salem RV Center Late Model Open is Sat., July 3. Joining the late models will be the sprint cars, pro stocks and roadrunners. The track will host the PA Speedweek Finale for 410 sprint cars on Sun., July 4, plus pro stocks. Both shows start at 7 p.m. with track gates opening at 5 p.m.

At the start of the Firecracker 40 for sprint cars, three cars tangled in turn four, resulting in former "40" winner Jim Nace and Larry Kelleher being sidelined. Second-place point driver Jason Shultz was also involved but able to rejoin.

Polesitter and defending "40" winner Bob Beidleman powered into the lead at the start of the event. Beidleman was chased by second-place starter Scott Tate for the first 10 laps before sixth-place starter Blane Heimbach advanced to second.

Heimbach began to reel in Beidleman in lapped traffic. The race was slowed on lap 16 when Tate's car went up in smoke. The field was then stopped for refueling. When the race resumed, Beidleman had Heimbach and eighth-place starter Dave Calaman lining up behind him.

Heimbach powered under Beidleman for the lead in turn one on the restart. At the same time, Calaman stormed into second and began to track down Heimbach. It wasn't long until the leaders began to encounter lapped traffic again, which proved to help Calaman in closing the gap with Heimbach.

On the 31st lap, Calaman made an inside pass by Heimbach in turn one for the lead. Once in front, Calaman began to pull away from the field. The race was stopped again on lap 36 when TJ Stutts flipped out over the third turn; he escaped injury.

For the final four laps, Calaman streaked away from the field, posting the win over Heimbach, 15th-place starter Nate Snyder, Beidleman and Jake Raudabaugh.

Polesitter Jimmy Adams powered into the lead at the late model feature. Adams was chased by fifth-place starter Brian Cochran and fourth-place starter Eric Hons. By lap five, sixth-place starter Tony Adams advanced to third and made it a three-car battle for the lead.

On the 13th lap, Cochran made an inside pass by Adams in turn four for the lead. J. Adams then developed mechanical problems and withdrew from the race. Cochran then had T. Adams, Hons and 18th-place starter Jeff Rine in close pursuit.

On a lap 15 restart, T. Adams secured the lead with an outside pass by Cochran in turn three. The caution flag unfurled on lap 19, setting up a one-lap chase to the checkered flag. Rine passed Cochran for second and set his sites on Adams for the win; however, in turn three, Rine and T. Adams collided, taking both out of contention for the win.

Cochran found himself back in front of the pack for the final lap, and held off a late-race challenge by seventh-place starter Donnie Schick to the finish. Cochran was victorious over Schick, Robbie Smith, Jeff Smith and Kenny Trevitz.

Polesitter Mark Benson led fifth-place starter Meade Hahn for the first two laps of the pro stock feature until Hahn spun in turn four. When the race resumed, Benson continued to set the pace with sixth-place starter Nate Kerstetter in close pursuit.

On the eighth circuit, Kerstetter passed Benson for the lead in turn one. Kersetter led the feature through lap 12, when mechanical problems caused him to withdraw from the race. At this point, eighth-place starter Gerald Kratzer inherited the lead and drove to victory over Benson, Peanut Heintzelman, Matt Johnson and point leader Troy Miller.

Fourth-place starter Jim Naiman led the first lap of the roadrunner feature until polesitter Tom Brunson took command of the field. Brunson led through lap four, when seventh-place starter Keith Bissinger put his No. 11 racer in front of the pack. Bissinger then held off sixth-place starter Jim Somers to the finish. Garry Kerstetter, Brad Mitch and Matt Keister completed the top five.


Sprint Cars -- 26 Entries

Firecracker 40: 1) 3 Dave Calaman $2,000 2) 12 Blane Heimbach 3) 56 Nate Snyder 4) 81 Bob Beidleman 5) 1J Jake Raudabaugh 6) 4R Mark Freeland 7) 2 Jason Shultz 8) 4B Adrian Shaffer 9) 11 Dave Neuman 10) 28F Davie Franek 11) 115 Brian Powell 12) 99 Kyle Bachman 13) 25 Duane Mausteller 14) 48 Tony Smolenyak 15) 71 Charlie Anderson 16) 28H Billy Heltzel 17) 39 TJ Stutts 18) 52 Jeff Weaver 19) 10 Donnie Beaver 20) 9 Scott Tate 21) 116 Mike Enders 22) 6F Bill Fannasy 23) 70 Larry Kelleher 24) 6 Jim Nace

Heat Winners: Jake Raudabaugh, Davie Franek, Blane Heimbach
Consolation Winner: Jim Nace

Late Models -- 21 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 16 Brian Cochran 2) 6 Donnie Schick 3) 3 Robbie Smith 4) 7 Jeff Smith 5) 61T Kenny Trevitz 6) 2J Jeff Rine 7) 4 Tom Vilello 8) 5 Jeremy Ohl 9) 1 Harold Schick 10) 17 Erick Metzger 11) 18 Len Stroud 12) 88 Tony Adams 13) 45 Eric Hons 14) 8 Jimmy Adams 15) 71 Bill Sube 16) 29 Dick Houtz 17) 4S Dave Shulski 18) 77 Todd Kiger 19) F1 Colby Frye 20) 90 Kyle Rhoads 21) 91 Keith Ramer Heat Winners: Dave Shulski, Eric Hons, Brian Cochran Pro Stocks -- 23 Entries 15-Lap A-Main: 1) 10 Gerald Kratzer 2) 1 Mark Benson 3) 99 Peanut Heintzelman 4) 70 Matt Johnson 5) 115 Troy Miller 6) 3 Dustin Hoffman 7) 11 Jake Buck 8) 111 Daryl Naiman 9) 38 Rob Baker 10) 18A Roger Stoneroad 11) 26 AJ Stroup 12) 77 Nate Kerstetter 13) 14B Bill Conrad 14) 8 Brad Trump 15) 54 Sammy Troup 16) 14 Frank Spencer 17) 81 Todd Kiger 18) 21 AJ Hoffman 19) 06 Dave Newcomer 20) 6 Dan Jensen 21) 7 Meade Hahn 22) 21M Jason Bowersox 23) 70G Bill Glass

Heat Winners: Mark Benson, Peanut Heintzelman, Meade Hahn

Roadrunners -- 15 Entries

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 11 Keith Bissinger 2) 23 Jim Somers 3) 10 Gary Kerstetter 4) 10M Brad Mitch 5) 010 Matt Keister 6) 00 Cory Long 7) 110 Will Mitch 8) 43 Doug Minium 9) 111 Jim Naiman 10) 8 Lonnie Hiles 11) 41D Dennis Conrad 12) 24 BJ Bohner 13) 4 Jake Smolley 14) 23K Doug Kamp 15) 3 Tom Brunson


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , Jeff Smith