Selinsgrove report/results 2002-09-02

Hodnett wires field for Labor Day 410 Sprint win; Cannon wins Sportsman Tour event. SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Greg Hodnett of Memphis, Tenn., returned to Selinsgrove Speedway Monday night and drove to a wire-to-wire victory in the 25-lap Middleswarth...

Hodnett wires field for Labor Day 410 Sprint win; Cannon wins Sportsman Tour event.

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Greg Hodnett of Memphis, Tenn., returned to Selinsgrove Speedway Monday night and drove to a wire-to-wire victory in the 25-lap Middleswarth Potato Chips Susquehanna Valley 410 Sprint Car Series event.

The win, worth $3,000, marked the second of the season and the fourth of Hodnett's career at the Snyder County oval aboard the Apple Motorsports No. 12 entry. The victory was the team's 18th overall in 2002.

Steve Cannon of Tewksberry Township, NJ, won his first Super Sportsman feature of the year in the 20-lap tour event. Tom Haxall of Camp Hill was transported to a local hospital for injuries sustained in a first-turn crash in the Sportsman main event.

Selinsgrove Speedway will close out the 2002 season on Saturday, September 14 with the 20th Anniversary Alexander Family Dealerships Sprint Car Open for 410 and 358 sprints. The Open will be the fourth and final event in the Middleswarth Potato Chips Susquehanna Valley Sprint Series, and will be highlighted by the $20,000 Chip Challenge for 410 sprint cars and fireworks. Gates open at 5 p.m., with qualifying slated to begin at 7 p.m.

The first three finishers from each of the four sprint car heats redrew for their starting spots in the main event. The luck of the draw placed Keith Kauffman on the pole and Greg Hodnett on the outside of the front row.

At the start of the event, Hodnett powered into the lead and was chased by fourth-place starter Fred Rahmer and Kauffman. The leader's lightning pace was slowed when Troy Whitesel crashed into the backstretch guardrail on lap five.

While pacing under caution, Kauffman, the afternoon's winner at Port Royal, withdrew from the race with mechanical problems. Sixth-place starter Mark Smith inherited the third spot at the expense of Kauffman's misfortune.

When the race resumed, Hodnett streaked around the fast track with Rahmer in pursuit. At the halfway point, however, Hodnett had stretched his lead to more than a straightaway in lapped traffic.

The last laps of the event produced an exciting duel for second between Rahmer and Smith. With two laps remaining Smith drove by Rahmer for second and secured the position to the finish. Hodnett's margin of victory was 10.54 seconds over Smith, Rahmer, Hestor and Lance Dewease.

Polesitter Mark Zimmerman drove into the lead at the start of the super sportsman feature. Zimmerman was chased by fourth-place starter Richie Hartman.

The event's first red flag stopped the race on lap four for a multi-car crash in turn two involving the June 2 winner Steve Wilbur. No injuries were reported. On the restart, however, a violent crash in turn one resulted in injuries to Tom Haxall, who struck the inside guardrail and flipped his sportsman. Haxall was transported to an area hospital for medical treatment.

When the race resumed, Zimmerman maintained the front spot until lap 10, when fifth-place starter Steve Cannon horsepowered his way around Zimmerman in turn three. Once in front, Cannon stretched his lead over the rest of the field.

The final laps saw 11th-place starter Joe Renecker and 15th-place starter Dave Calaman see-saw for the runner up position. At the checkered flag, Cannon was victorious by 1.10 seconds over Renecker, Calaman, Zimmerman and 13th-place starter Frankie Herr.


410 Sprint Cars - 34 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 12 Greg Hodnett $3,000 2) 22M Mark Smith 3) 88 Fred Rahmer 4) 7M Todd Hestor 5) 77 Lance Dewease 6) U1 Chad Layton 7) 32 Brook Weibley 8) 17 Alan Cole 9) 12 Blane Heimbach 10) 2K Kevin Frey 11) 07 Len Thompson 12) 0 Rick Lafferty 13) 6 Josh Wells 14) 16 Cliff Brian 15) 3M Michael Markey 16) 0 Andy McKisson 17) 5 Billy Schoffstall 18) 11 Mike Erdley 19) I07 Mark Coldren 20) 3B Randy Baughman 21) 31 Jim Campbell 22) 7 Keith Kauffman 23) 17B Troy Whitesel 24) 3 Bob Bennett

Heat Winners: Fred Rahmer, Greg Hodnett, Alan Cole, Mark Smith

Consolation: Mike Erdley

Super Sportsman - 31 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 23 Steve Cannon 2) 25 Joe Renecker 3) 19 Dave Calaman 4) 318 Mark Zimmerman 5) 3 Frankie Herr 6) 66 Leroy Martin 7) 32 Smokey Snellbaker 8) 1 Larry Jackson 9) 11 Dave Neuman 10) 25S Bobby Hockenberry 11) 39 Richie Hartman 12) 41 Dave Ort 13) 33 Ryan Rupp 14) 5 Dave Berkheimer 15) 8 Rich Eichelberger 16) 7L Duane Smith 17) 17W Denny Willey 18) 21 Kevin Nouse 19) 18 Skip Findley 20) 16 Paul Troutman 21) 55 Tom Haxall 22) 59 Steve Wilbur 23) 07 Billy Schoffstall 24) 1S John Stehman

Heat Winners: Mark Zimmerman, Leroy Martin, Frankie Herr

Consolation: Tom Haxall


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Jim Campbell