Selinsgrove report 2002-04-20

Nace uses Brown power to pick up second 358 sprint win at Selinsgrove, Smith records second late model win of season. SELINSGROVE, PA -- After the first two weeks found teenage youth in victory lane, age and experience returned to the winner's...

Nace uses Brown power to pick up second 358 sprint win at Selinsgrove, Smith records second late model win of season.

SELINSGROVE, PA -- After the first two weeks found teenage youth in victory lane, age and experience returned to the winner's circle on Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway as veteran Jim Nace of Thompsontown picked up his second career 358 powered sprint car win.

In stock car action, Blain's Jeff Smith took the lead late to pick up his second late model win of the season while drove to the win in pro stock action.

"This J & J is really operating," said Nace of his sprint chassis after crawling from behind the wheel.

"We have been real fast so far this year. This is the same basic car we had last year but we massaged it a little. My engine builder, dear friend Charlie Garrett, took on some outlaw teams this year and told me he couldn't do mine so I called Davey Brown and this puppy is operating."

Texas transplant Justin Zimmerman got the jump on Nace at the start of the 25-lap sprint car feature but gave way to Nace at the start finish line to complete the first circuit. Nace was well out in front on the third circuit when seven-time 2001 winner TJ Stutts launched over a right rear tire in the first turn, bringing out the red flag. Luckily, Stutts escaped injury.

Nace continued to lead on the restart over Zimmerman and Rick Hench and by the halfway point, veteran Nace was weaving through traffic while pulling out to a narrow lead over the pair.

Nace's pace was slowed with 11 laps remaining when Jimmy Layton spun in the fourth turn, regrouping the field. With Hench forced to the rear due to a flat and Zimmerman out due to mechanical ills, Nace found Todd Reed, Bob Camilli and Chad Layton tucked in behind for the return to action. Nace drove off on the restart and opened up a comfortable margin with five to go over Camilli and Layton. Nace had the win in hand when Bill Fannasy rolled to a stop with under a lap to go, forcing a red for refueling and setting up a one-lap dash to the checkered.

Layton moved past Camilli on the restart and drew even with Nace off turn four for the checkered but it was Nace at the line by less than a car length, picking up the win at the speedway where he has recorded five track championships in 410 sprint competition.

"I'm glad there weren't any more laps," noted Nace. "But I knew we hadn't gone as fast as we could go yet."

Layton rode home second followed by Camilli, Nate Snyder and Todd Reed. Sixth through tenth went to Blane Heimbach, Rick Hench, Charlie Anderson, Craig Eshenaur and Nyle Berkes.

Sprint car heats for the 35 entries were won by Tim Higgins, Hench, Kyle Purks and Camilli. Eshenaur took the B-Main.

Dave Shulski led the first eight laps of the 20-lap late model feature while waging a spirited battle with ninth starter Dale Kerstetter of Liverpool. Kerstetter had finally found a way around the leader but fell victim to a caution, forcing him back to second to restart the ninth lap. Tony Adams, Dave Reed and Jeff Smith fell in behind for the new green.

Kerstetter used far superior horsepower to blast under Shulski and assume command on the restart as Adams and Smith charged along to the front. Smith then raced by Adams to take second at the halfway point.

A one-time winner this season, Smith got a clear shot on the restart and made it work, driving under Kerstetter in turns one and two. Once in front, Blain's Smith drove to a two car-length win, recording his 24th career oval checkered flag over Kerstetter, Adams, Steve Campbell and Devin Freese. "I didn't think I'd be able to get Dale," remarked Smith. "He got around me early but once I was able to get past him, I knew we had her made." Late model heats were picked up by Dale Kerstetter, Dave Reed and Steve Campbell. JR Kieffer claimed the consolation event.

Sixth starter Kyle Bachman used the outside groove in turn two to drive around Gerald Kratzer on the ninth lap to record his second pro stock win of the season. Kratzer led laps four through eight before giving way to Selinsgrove's Bachman.

Matt Drum won the 10-lap roadrunner feature over Rick Bixler. Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action this Saturday and Sunday, April 27 and 28 with Pack The Track Night II and the Inaugural Jan Opperman Memorial for 410 sprint cars.

Sponsored by Cindy Rowe Auto Glass and the Selinsgrove Hotel, Saturday's Pack The Track features free general admission for a regular program of sprint cars, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners with racing slated for 7 p.m.

Sunday's 30-lap Opperman Memorial features the $10,000 Chip Challenge as part of the kickoff of the four-date Middleswarth Potato Chips, Susquehanna Valley 410 sprint series at the speedway. Also sponsored by Lash Service Center of Beaver Springs, if one of the front row starters opts to start at the rear and can win he will claim $10,000. The open-wheeled Super Sportsman join the sprint cars for a 6 p.m. start on Sunday night.


Sprint Cars -- 35 Entries
Heat winners (8 laps): Tim Higgins, Rick Hench, Kyle Purks, Bob Camilli.

B Main (12 laps): Craig Eshenaur (NTR 3:47.44)

Feature finish (25 laps): 1. Jim Nace 2. Chad Layton 3. Bob Camilli 4. Nate Snyder 5. Todd Reed 6. Blane Heimbach 7. Rick Hench 8. Charlie Anderson 9. Craig Eshenaur 10. Nyle Berkes 11. Brian Powell 12. JR Berry 13. Jamie Schwartz 14. Tim Higgins 15. Babe Mader 16. Jason Schultz 17. Scott Tate 18. Bill Fannasy 19. Ryan Moyer 20. Justin Zimmerman 21. Jimmy Layton 22. Kyle Purks 23. TJ Stutts 24. James Layton

Late Models -- 28 Entries
Heat winners (8 laps): Dale Kerstetter, Dave Reed, Steve Campbell

Consolation winner (8 laps): JR Kieffer

Feature finish (20 laps): 1. Jeff Smith 2. Dale Kerstetter 3. Tony Adams  4.
Steve Campbell  5. Devin Freese  6. Mike Atherton 7. Scott Haus  8. Jim
Yoder  9. Dave Reed 10. Tim Wilson  11. Alan Sagi  12. Jere Wierman  13.
Scott Richwine 14. JR Kieffer  15. Jim Adams  16. Brian Cochran  17. Dave
Shulski  18. Bobby Croop  19. Travis Dillman 20. Jeremy Stone  21. Chris
Shuey  22. Eric Honn 23. Bill Karp 24. Dan Stone

Pro Stocks -- 13 Entries
Heat winners (5 laps): Peanut Heintzelman (NTR 2:12.44), Troy Miller (NTR 2:11.25)

Feature finish (12 laps): 1. Kyle Bachman 2. Gerald Kratzer 3. Todd Snook 4. Steve Byers 5. Peanut Heintzelman 6. Jake Buck 7. Dave Brouse Sr. 8 . Daryn Niaman 9. Meade Hahn 10. Matt Johnson 11. Gary Kerstetter 12. Matt Drum 13. Troy Miller

Roadrunners -- 6 Entries
Feature finish (10 laps): 1. Matt Drum, 2. Rick Bixler, 3. Billy Mcneal, 4. Dave Riddel, 5. Murray Whitcomb, 6. Don Scheib


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Jim Adams , Matthew Johnson , Jeff Smith