Selinsgrove report 2001-08-17

8/18/01, SELINSGROVE, PA -- Proving youth doesn't always prevail, Reading's Bob Camilli beat the young guns on Saturday night at the Selinsgrove Speedway. Aboard his Quaker Made No. 34, the 50-year-old Camilli turned back ten-time winner, ...

8/18/01, SELINSGROVE, PA -- Proving youth doesn't always prevail, Reading's Bob Camilli beat the young guns on Saturday night at the Selinsgrove Speedway. Aboard his Quaker Made No. 34, the 50-year-old Camilli turned back ten-time winner, 25-year-old Chad Layton to win his first overall career sprint car victory.

"I knew the kids were behind me and I knew we better go like crazy," exclaimed the youthful winner after climbing from his racer. "I just gassed her and that's all we had."

In late model action, Dan Stone drove to another victory in the divisions 20-lap main event while Matt Drum picked up a win in the pro stock feature after leading all 12-laps.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to action on August 25 with a three-division program of sprint cars, late models and pro stocks, getting underway at 7 p.m. and sponsored by Penn-Selin Air Inc. of Selinsgrove. Specializing in aircraft flight instruction, Penn-Selin Air will post extra money to the winners in each division, with the sprint cars racing for $1,400 while the late models and pro stocks race for $1,200 and $250 respectively, in regular distance events.

It will also be the speedway's final Camera and Autograph Night of the 2001 season, with all general admission ticket holders provided access to the pit area from 5 until 6 p.m. Also sponsored by Penn-Selin Air, Brian Buckwalter's sprint car will be on display behind the main grandstand until 6 p.m. with kids giveaways slated for the autograph session. General admission for the show will be just $7.00.

The initial start of the 25-lap sprint car feature was marred by a three-car tangle in the fourth turn that found Brian Buckwalter, Blane Heimbach and Kevin Nouse involved. Although Nouse flipped his No. 49, all drivers escaped injury.

The second attempt at a start saw polesitter Babe Mader lead the field back to the stripe before Jamie Schwartz looped his mount, regrouping the field. On the restart, Reading's Camilli blistered past Mader for the lead and began checking out on the field. The new leaders pace was halted with four laps down however when Eric Metzger slowed, bunching the field.

Camilli drove away on the restart as Jim Nace raced into second over Mader. With Camilli at the front over the duration of the remaining green flag distance, all eyes shifted to the middle of the pack as ten-time winner Chad Layton began moving to the front. As Camilli held a straightway lead, Layton moved into second with a two-car pass of Nace and T.J. Stutts with seven laps to go and began tracking down the leader.

For the third week in a row, it looked as if Layton was going to play the role of spoiler within the last lap but the rapid-running Camilli was having nothing of the kind. Layton found himself just three car lengths from the lead at the white flag but a determined Camilli blasted to the outside of Charlie Anderson to put him a lap down in turn three and preserve his first feature win while becoming Selinsgrove's fifth different sprint winner of the season. Layton clinched the speedway's track championship with his second place finish.

Following Layton to the line was T.J. Stutts, Jim Nace, Rick Hench, Joe Whitcomb, Mader, Nate Snyder, Bob Beidleman and Kenny Meyers. Blane Heimbach, Chad Layton and Mader won sprint car heats. Kevin Nouse took the consolation event.

After three attempts at starting the 20-lap late model feature, Dan Stone led the first loop of the event over Jeff Rine and Tony Adams before a yellow with three laps complete regrouped the field. Rine ducked under the leader when action resumed but Stone used a slingshot to reclaim the lead in the second turn as Dale Kerstetter and Adams battled for third. Kerstetter snared the spot a lap later as Stone continued his run at the front while Rine remained within striking distance. The leader took the halfway sign while working the backmarkers ahead of a determined Rine. Both Stone and Rine threaded the needle with five to go while dueling at the front but in the end it was an unfaltering Stone of Thompson who pulled away to his third speedway win of the season at the end over Rine. Following Rine to the line was Kerstetter, Tony Adams and Jimmy Adams. Sixth through tenth went to Don Schick, Robbie Smith, Bryan Coffey, Jeremy Stone and Butch Campion.

Rine, Dan Stone and Tony Adams picked up late model qualifying events. Matt Drum wired the field in the 12-lap pro stock feature to record his second speedway win of the season over Troy Miller and Don Murphy. After starting on the outside of the front row, Drum ran the topside of the track to perfection to record the win by nearly a straightaway. Gerald Kratzer and Miller took heats for the pro stocks.


RACE SUMMARY Sprint Cars -27 -entries Heat winners: Blane Heimbach, Chad Layton, Babe Mader. Consolation: Kevin Nouse. Feature finish: 1. Bob Camilli, 2. Chad Layton, 3. T.J. Stutts, 4. Jim Nace, 5. Rick Hench, 6. Joe Whitcomb, 7. Babe Mader, 8. Nate Snyder, 9. Bob Beidleman, 10. Kenny Meyers, 11. Charlie Anderson, 12. Bill Fannasy, 13. James Layton, 14. Tim Higgins, 15. Jaimie Schwartz, 16. Bill Heltzel Jr., 17. Jon Keller, 18. Dale Hammaker, 19. Troy Long, 20. Tim Hershey, 21. Eric Metzger, 22. Blane Heimbach, 23. Brian Buckwalter, 24. Kevin Nouse.

Late Models -- 22 - entries Heat winners: Jeff Rine, Dan Stone, Tony Adams. Feature finish: 1. Dan Stone, 2. Jeff Rine, 3. Dale Kerstetter, 4. Tony Adams, 5. Jimmy Adams, 6. Don Schick, 7. Robbie Smith, 8. Bryan Coffey, 9. Jeremy Stone, 10. Butch Campion, 11. Don Farling, 12. Doug Midouri, 13. Bill Karp, 14. Chris Byers, 15. Dave Shulski, 16. Craig Swartzlander, 17. Glenn Heddings, 18. Dave Reed, 19. Jim Farley, 20. Bobby Croop, 21. Dick Houtz, 22. Eric Hons (DNS).

Pro Stocks -13-entries Heat winners: Gerald Kratzer, Troy Miller. Feature finish: 1. Matt Drum, 2. Troy Miller, 3. Don Murphy, 4. Meade Hahn, 5. Mark Benson, 6. Jake Buck, 7. Gerald Kratzer, 8. Kyle Bachman, 9. Darrell Nieman, 10. Neil Langtry, 11. Dennis Conrad, 12. Gary Kerstetter, 13. Billy Shipman.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Chris Bye