Selinsgrove race summary 2002-08-24

Layton wins Sprint Summer Championship; Late Model career first to Reed; Kerstetter scores second in Pro Stocks; McNeal wins sixth in Roadrunners. SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Adrian Shaffer of York appeared to be on his way to his third consecutive...

Layton wins Sprint Summer Championship; Late Model career first to Reed; Kerstetter scores second in Pro Stocks; McNeal wins sixth in Roadrunners.

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Adrian Shaffer of York appeared to be on his way to his third consecutive sprint car win at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night when a flat tire with two laps remaining dashed his hopes.

At that point, Chad Layton of Harrisburg, who led the first 23 laps of the 30-lap summer championship event sponsored by Penn Selin Air, reclaimed the lead and led the rest of the way to his eighth win of the season at Selinsgrove Speedway and 15th overall victory in 2002.

The win was worth $1,500 for Layton, who also won the Penn Selin Air $150 cash dash and set a new five-lap track record of 1:36.10 for 358 sprint cars at the Snyder County oval.

Dave Reed of Sunbury wired the field for his first ever late model win in the division's 25-lap feature, while Gary Kerstetter of Beavertown won his second 12-lap pro stock main event of the season.

Billy McNeal of Williamstown won his sixth 10-lap roadrunner event of the year.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action over the Labor Day weekend with two nights of racing on Saturday, August 31 and Monday, September 2.

Saturday's racing program will be a regular show of 358 sprint cars, late models, pro stocks, roadrunners plus the Penn Mar vintage race cars. The program will also be the final points race of the season at the track.

Monday night's show will feature the return of the 410 sprint cars in a 25-lap main event paying $3,000 to win as part of the Middleswarth Potato Chips Susquehanna Valley 410 Sprint Car Series. Also on the program will be the super sportsman at 7 p.m.

Selinsgrove Speedway's 2002 season concludes on Saturday, September 14 with the 20th anniversary Alexander Family Dealerships National Open for 410 and 358 sprint cars.

Chad Layton started the sprint car summer championship on the pole by virtue of winning the dash. Layton stormed into the lead at the start of the event and was chased by second-place starter Blane Heimbach.

Fourth-place starter TJ Stutts raced third on the first circuit, while third-place starter Craig Eshenaur held the position on the second lap. On the third circuit, eighth-place starter Adrian Shaffer advanced to third and battled with Heimbach for the second position.

On the eighth circuit, just as his son Chad passed him, James Layton crashed into the inside backstretch guardrail, bring out the red flag. Layton escaped injury.

When the race resumed, Layton streaked around the half-mile oval in convincing fashion. A harrowing incident occurred on the frontstretch on lap 11 when Bill Heltzell spun and was narrowly missed by several race cars except Kyle Purks. Purks' race car brushed Heltzels and sheered off one of Heltzell's side wing panels. No one was injured.

Lap 14 saw Shaffer pass Heimbach for second and set his sites on the leader. With each passing lap, Shaffer began to reel in Layton for the lead position. In lapped traffic, exiting the second turn, Shaffer drove on the outside of Layton for the lead.

Once in front, Shaffer began to distance himself from the rest of the field. Then, with two laps remaining, Shaffer's inside rear tire blew and forced him to restart the event at the back of the pack.

At the expense of Shaffer's misfortune, Layton inherited the lead back with two laps remaining. Layton drove away from the field and posted a 1.97 margin of victory over Craig Eshenaur, Heimbach, Stutts, and 14th-place starter Jake Radabaugh.

Polesitter Dave Reed drove into the lead at the start of the late model feature and led second-place starter Dave Schulski, who maintained the runner up position until the 10th circuit, when 12th-place starter Scott Haus stormed into second.

Also on the 10th lap, second-place point driver Dale Kerstetter performed a 360 spin coming off turn four and collected Jim Adams. Kerstetter was able to rejoin the field, only to be involved in a more serious skirmish in turn four again on lap 15.

Haus quickly reeled in Reed but did not have enough horsepower to make a pass by Reed for the lead. On several attempts, Haus tried to pass Reed using the inside line but could not find a successful route.

At the checkered flag, rookie driver Reed posted his first ever win over Haus, sixth-place starter JR Keiffer, fourth-place starter Chris Wilkinson and Schulski.

Second-place starter Gary Kerstetter wired the field for his victory in the pro stock main. Kerstetter held off fourth-place starter Troy Miller and third-place starter Peanut Heintzelman for his second career win.

On several occasions, Miller attempted to pass Kerstetter using the inside lane but to no avail. While Miller and Heintzelman dueled for the runner up spot, Kerstetter was able to protect his lead.

At the finish, Kerstetter was victorious by .28 of a second over Miller, Heintzelman, point leader and sixth-place starter Kyle Bachman and Matt Drum.

Outside front row starter Billy McNeal powered into the lead at the start of the roadrunner main event. McNeal, the 2002 track champion, contended with fourth-place starter Matt Drum during the second half of the event.

At the finish, McNeal was victorious by just .37 of second over Drum, Rick Bixler, Dave Riddell and Dennis Conrad.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Jim Adams
Teams Williams