Selinsgrove race summary 2002-07-06

Shaffer rebounds with first Selinsgrove Sprint win; 4th Annual Late Model Open to Kerstetter; Miller wins first in Selinsgrove Pro Stocks. SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Citing inexperience as the reason for the loss of a victory in last weekend's...

Shaffer rebounds with first Selinsgrove Sprint win; 4th Annual Late Model Open to Kerstetter; Miller wins first in Selinsgrove Pro Stocks.

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Citing inexperience as the reason for the loss of a victory in last weekend's Firecracker 40, Adrian Shaffer of York returned to Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night and drove to a convincing win in the 25-lap sprint car feature.

The win was the first of Shaffer's career at Selinsgrove and the fifth of the 27-year-old's two-year career in sprint car racing. Three of those wins occurred this season.

Dale Kerstetter of Liverpool wired the field for his first ever victory in the Fourth Annual Late Model Open. The win was Kerstetter's second of the season and the 28th of his career at the Snyder County oval.

According to Kerstetter's crew members, the victory marked a milestone as it was the 50th of Kerstetter's career in Late Model racing.

Troy Miller of Millerstown won his first pro stock race at Selinsgrove in the division's 12-lap main event, while Dave Riddell of Montgomery started last and finished first for his first career win in the Roadrunner feature.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action next Saturday, July 13 with PEPSI night featuring sprint cars, late models, pro stock and roadrunners at 7 p.m.

Rookie driver Rusty Rupp started on the outside of the front row and powered into the lead at the start of the sprint car feature. Rupp was chased by polesitter Jay Galloway for the first three laps before eighth-place starter Jim Nace moved into second.

On the sixth circuit, Nace reeled in Rupp and made an inside pass by the rookie driver in turn four for the lead. Once in front, Nace streaked away from the field, while ninth-place starter Adrian Shaffer stormed to the front of the pack.

The event's first caution flag unfurled on lap 10 when Nate Snyder spun out in turn three. Snyder was able to rejoin the field.

When the race resumed, Shaffer advanced to second on the 11th circuit. A lap later, Shaffer stormed around the outside of Nace in turn four and took command of the race. He quickly started to lap race cars and dazzled the large crowd with his exciting driving style.

Meanwhile, 10th-place starter TJ Stutts horsepowered his way into third, with sixth-place starter Justin Zimmerman and 11th-place starter Darren Eash competing in the top five.

Chad Layton started 12th and raced into second in the final laps of the race but did not get a chance to challenge Shaffer for the win. Shaffer was victorious by a healthy 6.6 seconds over Layton, Stutts, Zimmerman and Nace.

Sprint car heats were won by Rupp, Donnie Beaver and Troy Long.

Dale Kerstetter earned the pole for the Late Model Open by virtue of winning a five-lap dash which set the first six starting spots in the main event. Kerstetter motored into the lead at the onset and, for the most part, checked out from the field on each subsequent restart.

At the halfway point, Kerstetter held a straightaway lead over third-place starter JR Kieffer and second-place starter Eric Hons. On the 15th circuit, Donnie Schick took a wild spin down the frontstretch but was able to rejoin, only to get involved in a four-car collision in turn three in the event's worst incident on lap 19.

When the race resumed, Kerstetter held Kieffer, Hons, fifth-place starter Tony Adams and 15th-place starter Travis Dillman at bay.

In the final five laps, Kerstetter stretched his lead to more than a straightaway and posted a 5.84 second margin of victory over Kieffer. Hons, Adams and Dillman completed the top five.

Heats were won by Alan Sagi, Hons and Kerstetter. The dash was won by Kerstetter.

Troy Miller started sixth in the pro stock main event and wired the field for his first career victory at Selinsgrove Speedway. Eighth-place starter and second-place point driver Gerald Kratzer powered into second on the second circuit.

Lap after lap, Kratzer tormented Miller for the lead. Then seventh-place starter Peanut Heintzelman joined the battle for the lead by advancing to third. With one lap remaining, Miller's race car bobbled in turn three and almost allowed Kratzer to take the lead.

Miller, however, recovered quickly and went on to post the win over Heintzelman, Kratzer, Matt Drum and polesitter Daryl Niaman.

Sixth-place starter Dennis Conrad led the first two laps in the Roadrunner feature before polesitter Matt Drum put his racer in the lead on the third circuit. Drum led through the seventh lap, when his motor expired. Second-place starter Billy McNeal inherited the lead at this point only to develop mechanical problems of his own with one lap to race.

Dave Riddell, who started 11th, took the lead at this point and went on to win his first race at Selinsgrove over Cory Long, Jeff Baney, McNeal and Rick Bixler.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car