Selinsgrove race report 2001-09-01

Layton Pockets $1,200, 30-Lap Loot In Selinsgrove Sprint Championship Run while Schick records second late model win in a row. Layton, Croop and Buck crowned 2001 champions. 9/1/01, SELINSGROVE, PA -- The champion won the championship event ...

Layton Pockets $1,200, 30-Lap Loot In Selinsgrove Sprint Championship Run while Schick records second late model win in a row. Layton, Croop and Buck crowned 2001 champions.

9/1/01, SELINSGROVE, PA -- The champion won the championship event on Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway. For the 12th time this season, Harrisburg's Chad Layton roared to victory at the historic Snyder County oval, pocketing $1,200 in the tracks holiday special, 30-lap championship for sprint cars. Ironically, the win capped Layton's championship season at Selinsgrove, having been declared the official track champion two weeks ago.

In late model action, Don Schick drove to his second win in a row in the stock car division. For Schick, the win came while behind the wheel of his family owned No. 6 while last weeks victory came at the helm of the Roy Adams owned No. 88. Elsewhere, Gerald Kratzer picked up a win in the pro stock feature while Dave Miller won the roadrunner feature. Oscar Fields and Leroy Felty drove to victory in vintage car action.

After a night off on September 8, Selinsgrove Speedway returns to action on September 15 with its 19th Annual Sprint Car Open, sponsored by the Alexander Family of new car dealerships, based in Sunbury. Both the 410 sprints and 358's will compete in 30-lap events, paying $3,000 and $2,000 to win, respectively. Time trials are not part of the program and there is no tire rule in effect.

A stellar field of sprint cars is expected for the fantastic open wheel double-header, including five-time and defending Open champion, Fred Rahmer of Salfordville. Racing for $250 to win, the pro stocks join the sprints for the final program of the season at Selinsgrove with gates opening at 5 p.m. The show carries a raindate of Sunday, September 16.

Outside front row starter Troy Long of Liverpool led the first six laps of the 30-lap sprint championship over Todd Reed before the events first caution flag unfurled for a two car tangle on the backstretch involving Bill Fannasy and Billy Johns. Long found Reed, Jim Nace, 12th starter Chad Layton and Brian Buckwalter on his tail for the restart.

All eyes were on 11-time winner Layton when action resumed but it was tenth starter Nace who held Layton at bay while taking second from Reed on the 12th lap. Running both sides of the track, Nace was ready to move past Long for the top spot moments later when Joe Whitcomb erupted in flames, stopping the pace.

Long and Nace drove off on the restart and Nace had just taken charge of the event when yellow appeared, sending the veteran back with 17 to go. Nace promptly reclaimed the lead on the restart but not to be outdone, Layton quickly followed him through.

And as he has done all season long at Selinsgrove while running the latter stages, Layton then strengthened aboard his U1 and drove deep into turn one to take the lead with ten to go over Nace. Once in front, Layton annihilated the field, having pulled away to a straightaway advantage over Nace when the races final caution appeared with two laps remaining. Layton drove uncontested to the win when green replaced the yellow over Nace, Stutts, Blane Heimbach and Bob Camilli. Sixth through tenth went to Rick Hench, Nate Snyder, Long, Jimmy Layton and Jamie Schwartz.

Todd Reed, Tom Fraschetta and Joe Whitcomb won heats for the 32-car field. Bob Camilli won the consolation event with a ten-lap track record time of 3:22.29.

At the wheel of Roy Adams' No. 88, fourth starter Tony Adams led the first loop of the 20-lap late model feature before a yellow slowed the action. Only one more lap was completed before a five-car pileup in the first turn halted racing again. Adams checked out on the field when racing finally resumed and the Sunbury driver had more than a straightaway on the field when a spin bunched the field on the 7th lap.

In his quest for an eighth track title, Bobby Croop moved from fourth to second on the restart and began tracking down Adams. The Nescopeck veteran was given the shot he needed with nine down when yellow regrouped the field.

Adams muscled away on the restart however, forcing Croop to follow him around the big half-mile before action slowed once more with eight to go. Croop took a shot for the win on the restart that ended in disaster when both he and the 88 of Adams collided in the second corner. After diving to the inside, both cars sustained damage while handing the lead to last weeks winner Don Schick, who started 16th.

Schick cruised to an easy win over the final circuits, despite being slowed with just one lap to go. Steve Campbell finished second followed by Dave Reed, Robbie Smith and Bryan Coffey.

Dale Kerstetter, Steve Campbell and Bobby Croop picked up late model qualifying events. Kratzer took the lead from Doug Hendricks on the fifth lap of the 12-lap pro stock feature before speeding to his fourth speedway win of the season. Once at the front of the field, Kratzer was never challenged for the win, which came over Gary Kerstetter, Jason Schmidt, Billy Shipman and Troy Miller. By virtue of his 12th place finish, Jake Buck wrapped up his first career track title.

Darrell Nieman and Gerald Kratzer took heats for the pro stocks. Tickets for the 2001 Selinsgrove Speedway/Selinsgrove Raceway Park awards banquet are now on sale. At a price of $28.00, tickets can be purchased at the speedway office on race nights or by calling 570-374-2999 and leaving a message.

The 2001 banquet will be held on Saturday, November 24 at the Harrisburg-Hershey Marriott. Along with championship rings courtesy of Foss Jewelers and Hoosier jackets and trophies, a total Hoosier Point Fund in excess of $14,000 will be distributed at the banquet.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car , Vintage