Selinsgrove race notes 2003-05-10

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Teenager Kyle Purks of Langhorne held off two-time defending champion Chad Layton of Harrisburg for his first win of the season in the 25-lap sprint car feature Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway. Purks, who won the 2002...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Teenager Kyle Purks of Langhorne held off two-time defending champion Chad Layton of Harrisburg for his first win of the season in the 25-lap sprint car feature Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Purks, who won the 2002 Selinsgrove sprint car opener in his first time out in competition, was at the wheel of the Dave's Lawn Care sponsored No. 64K and collected a $200 bonus from race sponsor Auto Locator.

Dale Kerstetter of Liverpool won his third race of the season in the 25-lap late model feature. The win was the 32nd of Kerstetter's career at Selinsgrove.

Jake Buck of Port Trevorton won his first pro stock feature of the season in the division's 15-lap event, while Rick Bixlier took the checkered flag in the roadrunner main event.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action this Saturday, May 10 with an open wheel doubleheader featuring the United Racing Club sprint cars and Cindy Rowe Paintless Dent Repair sprint cars plus pro stocks and roadrunners at 7 p.m.

Outside front row starter Bill Fannasy led the first three laps of the sprint car feature. The event's first caution flag unfurled on the third lap when polesitter Jen Yinger stopped her race car in turn three.

When the race resumed, sixth-place starter Kyle Purks challenged Fannasy for the lead. Purks secured the front spot with an outside pass in turn one on the fourth circuit. Fannasy retained the second spot until the sixth circuit, when eighth-place starter TJ Stutts powered into the runner up position.

Stutts set his sites on Purks, who was blistering the speedway without a right front torsion bar that had broken off from his race car. On the ninth circuit, the caution flag unfurled when Darren Eash struck the second turn guardrail but was able to continue racing.

On the ensuing restart, 18th-place starter Chad Layton was a man on a mission. Layton advanced to third by lap 13, then passed Stutts for second on lap 16. At the same time, 10th-place starter Nate Snyder joined the torrid battle for top five positions.

In the final laps, Layton attempted to reel in Purks in lapped traffic but to no avail. Purks was victorious by 1.35 seconds over Layton, Stutts, Snyder and 15th-place starter Davie Franek.

Polesitter JR Keifer powered into the lead at the start of the late model feature. Second-place starter Donnie Schick trailed Keifer in second.

The race was stopped on lap four when a violent four-car crash unfolded on the fronststretch involving Rick Whaley, Tim Wilson, Jason Covert and Jim Yoder. Despite extensive damage to the race cars, all the drivers escaped injury.

As the race was getting set to restart, Schick stopped with a flat tire. At this point, fourth-place starter Brian Cochran inherited the runner up position and chased Keifer for the lead.

Eighth-place starter Tony Adams passed seventh-place starter Dave Reed for third on lap seven. At the halfway point, 10th-place starter Dale Kerstetter powered into the third position, then passed Cochran for second a lap later.

On a lap 23 restart, Kerstetter drove underneath Keifer entering turn one and emerged as the new race leader. Coming off turn four, however, Keifer took a shot at reclaiming the lead but came up short.

At the checkered flag, Kerstetter was victorious by .81 of a second over Keifer, ninth-place starter Jeff Rine, 13th-place starter Scott Haus and Adams.

Second-place starter Meade Hahn led the first five laps of the pro stock feature. By lap four, seventh-place starter Jake Buck passed polesitter Donnie Murphy for second.

Buck reeled in Hahn and made a pass for the lead in turn one on lap five, only to have it retracted when the caution flag slowed the race.

When the event resumed, Buck made the same move on the inside of turn one to steal the lead away from Hahn. Murphy then passed Hahn for the second spot and held off ninth-place starter Peanut Heintzelman and 10th-place starter Kyle Bachman for the duration of the event.

At the finish, Buck was victorious over Murphy, Heintzelman, Bachman and Hahn, who were competing in a pack of their own.

Matt Drum's win streak in roadrunner competition came to an end at four when fourth-place starter Rick Bixlier, a winner at the track in 2002, wired the field for his first victory of the season at Selinsgrove.

Bixlier was chased by fifth-place starter Joey Keister for the first seven laps before sixth-place starter Drum moved into second. Drum reeled in Bixlier and attempted to snag the lead and win away but came up short by just .78 of a second.

Bixlier was the winner over Drum, Keister, Brad Mitch and Cory Long.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car