Sedalia Shootout Thursday report

Stewart scores in Sedalia 360 Shootout opener SEDALIA, Mo. (September 25, 2003) - Shane Stewart fought off Nebraska's Billy Alley to top the opening round of the Sedalia 360 Shootout at Sedalia's State Fair Speedway Thursday night. The 20-lap...

Stewart scores in Sedalia 360 Shootout opener

SEDALIA, Mo. (September 25, 2003) - Shane Stewart fought off Nebraska's Billy Alley to top the opening round of the Sedalia 360 Shootout at Sedalia's State Fair Speedway Thursday night. The 20-lap triumph was Stewart's seventh O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and United Trailers feature victory of the season.

"I knew Billy was gonna be tough to beat," Stewart commented in victory lane. "I about lost it there in one and two with a couple of laps to go and was afraid he might get me then, but then I found out he about did the same thing in turn four a couple of laps earlier so we were alright. We've really been clicking since the Knoxville Nationals and hopefully we can just keep it going," Stewart concluded.

After charging from sixth to win the second heat, Alley led the feature field to the green flag, but it was outside front row starter Stewart jumping into the early lead. Zach Chappell needed only one lap to advance from sixth to third before a broken part in the right rear sent his bouncing machine into the turn four guardrail on the second round, bringing out the red flag.

Stewart took off on the restart, with Alley matching his pace. Alley stalked Stewart until lapped traffic came into play on the ninth round, with Alley briefly closing on the leader's rear bumper before traffic worked to Stewart's advantage. As traffic cleared on the 13th round, Stewart held a five car-length edge over the Lincoln, NE, hotshoe.

With the lead duo more than a half lap ahead of the remainder of the field, Alley began to cut into Stewart's lead and was poised to challenge for the point when he jumped the cushion in turn four on the 16th round, losing several car lengths. Stewart nearly lost the lead two rounds later however, when he got loose in turns one and two on the 18th circuit. Stewart gathered it up and was about to take the white flag when the race's final caution appeared for Winged Outlaws Warrior champion Eric Schrock, whose disabled mount coasted to a stop in turn four.

Stewart survived the two-lap dash to the checkered flag to score a narrow victory aboard Scott Chilcutt's Wesmar-powered Sander Engineering/Express Transit/Pro Lube Center Maxim. Alley posted a strong second place run in the Wesmar-powered Buss Excavating Eagle, securing the second and final transfer spot to Saturday night's $10,000-to-win finale.

Chuck Swenson ran strong throughout, holding off a host of challengers to snare the show position. Clint Garner posted a solid fourth place finish, while current O'Reilly ASCS National Tour point leader Travis Rilat took advantage of the final caution to advance two positions after charging from the 18th starting position, rounding out the top five following a post-heat race engine change.

Randy Martin claimed sixth, with Brian Brown, 20th-starter Jon Corbin, Jan Howard and Steve Gennetten completing the top ten.

Stewart, Alley, Gennetten and Swenson topped heat race action, with Ryan York winning the 12-lap B Feature.

Qualifying action for the rest of the Sedalia 360 Shootout field continues Friday night at 8:00 p.m. More than 40 cars are expected for Friday night's racing action.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Mike Trent, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Dennis Yoakam, 6. Derek Drown, 7. Rex Combs, 8. Tony Crank.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Billy Alley, 2. Randy Combs, 3. Rusty Potter, 4. Tracy Nichols, 5. Jon Corbin, 6. Travis Rilat, 7. Lanny Carpenter.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Steve Gennetten, 2. Clint Garner, 3. Brian Brown, 4. Jan Howard, 5. Doug Wilson, 6. Toby Brown, 7. Curtis Boyer, 8. Doug Blake.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Chuck Swenson, 2. Randy Martin, 3. Tommy Mikels, 4. Eric Schrock, 5. Ryan York, 6. Frank Brown, 7. Erin Crocker.

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Ryan York, 2. Travis Rilat, 3. Dennis Yoakam, 4. Jon Corbin, 5. Derek Drown, 6. Toby Brown, 7. Erin Crocker, 8. Doug Wilson, 9. Rex Combs, 10. Curtis Boyer, 11. Frank Brown, 12. Lanny Carpenter, 13. Doug Blake, 14. Tony Crank.

A Feature (20 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Billy Alley, 3. Chuck Swenson, 4. Clint Garner, 5. Travis Rilat, 6. Randy Martin, 7. Brian Brown, 8. Jon Corbin, 9. Jan Howard, 10. Steve Gennetten, 11. Tommy Mikels, 12. Ryan York, 13. Tony Bruce, Jr., 14. Eric Schrock, 15. Mike Trent, 16. Randy Combs, 17. Tracy Nichols, 18. Rusty Potter, 19. Dennis Yoakam, 20. Zach Chappell.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Erin Crocker , Brian Brown , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat