Sedalia Shootout finale

Alley's Last Lap Heroics Net $10K in Sedalia 360 Shootout SEDALIA, Mo. (September 27 2003) - Lincoln, Nebraska's Billy Alley made a dramatic last corner pass of Shane Stewart to win Saturday night's 30-lap Sedalia 360 Shootout finale at...

Alley's Last Lap Heroics Net $10K in Sedalia 360 Shootout

SEDALIA, Mo. (September 27 2003) - Lincoln, Nebraska's Billy Alley made a dramatic last corner pass of Shane Stewart to win Saturday night's 30-lap Sedalia 360 Shootout finale at Sedalia's State Fair Speedway. Alley's first career O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour feature victory presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and United Trailers was worth $10,000.

Alley and Stewart waged an epic battle much of the way, but a key factor in the final outcome was a red flag after eleven laps. "I was really struggling with the car before that red flag," stated Alley following his biggest payday to date. "But under that red, Buns made some adjustments and Bob (Westphal) worked his magic up front and the car was awesome after that. I got into a great rhythm and stayed in a position to win it. Shane's an incredible racer and to get by him at the end like that was awesome. I owe this victory to the entire team," Alley concluded.

Stewart earned the pole position for Saturday night's feature by virtue of winning the "Down & Dirty Down Under" Dash, topping Alley, Kenny Adams and Jesse Hockett, all of whom qualified for the Dash by finishing in the top two positions in the two qualifying features.

The initial start to the much anticipated feature was waved off when Don Droud, Jr., rolled to a halt on the backstretch with mechanical problems. The second start was waved off as well when Jon Corbin looped his sprinter in turn two.

The third attempt to start the race proved to be the charm, with Stewart beating Alley into the first turn. Stewart led the early going just ahead of Alley, with Adams, Hockett, Brian Brown and the evening's top passing points gatherer, Garry Lee Maier, in pursuit. Brown would overtake Hockett for fourth by the fifth circuit.

Stewart had established more than a half straightaway advantage over Alley by the time lapped traffic came into play on the ninth round. Two laps later, the caution flew when Corbin spun in turn three. On the ensuing restart, Doug Wilson vaulted wildly over the turn one guardrail, bringing out the red flag.

Followiing the opportunity to fine-tune the Wesmar-powered Buss Excavating Eagle during the red flag stoppage, Alley turned up the heat on race leader Stewart as action got back under way. After riding the cushion to perfection over the first eleven rounds, Stewart moved to the low groove after the restart. Alley responded by driving by on the high side in turns three and four on the 15th round to take the lead.

Alley's lead was shortlived however, as Stewart moved back to the top and charged back into the lead three laps later. One round later, with 19 laps in the books, Dale Howard spun exiting turn four, bringing out the race's final caution.

Stewart and Alley continued to lead the way on the restart, with Adams, Brown and ninth-starter Zach Chappell in tow. Stewart pulled Scott Chilcutt's Wesmar-powered Cox Communications/Brodix Maxim to a six car-length lead over Alley until he approached lapped traffic with two laps to go.

Alley quickly closed in on Stewart, and when Stewart slid high exiting turn four with the waving checkered flag in sight, Alley motored by on the low side and beat Stewart to the line by the narrowest of margins to score the victory. Brown took over the show position on the 24th round and finished just behind the leaders, with Chappell finishing a strong fourth. Hockett rounded out the top five.

Adams settled for sixth in front of Aaron Berryhill and Maier. 17th-starter and current O'Reilly ASCS National Tour points leader Travis Rilat edged Gary Wright at the line for ninth. After utilizing a provisional starting position for the main event, 21st-starter Wright had closed on Chappell's rear bumper before doing a 360-degree spin on the 24th round and losing several positions.

Jason Martin, Brown, Wilson, Jake Peters, Maier and Berryhill topped heat race action, with Rilat and Randy Martin winning the twin 12-lap B Features.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jason Martin, 2. Tracy Nichols, 3. Danny Smith, 4. Terry Hinck, 5. Steve Gennetten, 6. Larry Neighbors, 7. Mike Chadd, 8. Ryan York, 9. Tony Crank.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Brian Brown, 2. Dale Howard, 3. Eric Schrock, 4. Mike Trent, 5. Curtis Boyer, 6. Joe Beaver, 7. Dan Oswalt, 8. Tony Bruce, Jr., 9. Rex Combs.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Doug Wilson, 2. Jon Corbin, 3. Randy Martin, 4. Rusty Potter, 5. Jeff Mitrisin, 6. Cody Branchcomb, 7. Mitchell Moore, 8. Tim Newman, 9. Chuck Swenson.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jake Peters, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Zach Chappell, 4. Travis Rilat, 5. Darren Stewart, 6. Eric Jobe, 7. Randy Combs, 8. Lanny Carpenter, 9. Derek Drown.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Garry Lee Maier, 2. Johnny Anderson, 3. Toby Brown, 4. Chris Morgan, 5. Tim Crawley, 6. Matt Clevenger, 7. Erin Crocker, 8. Eric VanderPloeg, 9. Jeff Wingate.

Sixth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Aaron Berryhill, 2. Don Droud, Jr., 3. Bobby Hawks, 4. Clint Garner, 5. Tommy Mikels, 6. Dennis Yoakam, 7. Larry Ball, Jr., 8. Jan Howard. DNS: Jimmy Taylor.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Travis Rilat, 2. Eric Schrock, 3. Jeff Mitrisin, 4. Mike Trent, 5. Darren Stewart, 6. Toby Brown, 7. Cody Branchcomb, 8. Clint Garner, 9. Tony Bruce, Jr., 10. Tim Crawley, 11. Steve Gennetten, 12. Eric Jobe, 13. Lanny Carpenter, 14. Chuck Swenson, 15. Eric VanderPloeg, 16. Dan Oswalt, 17. Jeff Wingate, 18. Tony Crank. DNS: Gary Wright, Dennis Yoakam, Larry Ball, Jr.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Randy Martin, 2. Jan Howard, 3. Danny Smith, 4. Joe Beaver, 5. Terry Hinck, 6. Erin Crocker, 7. Chris Morgan, 8. Matt Clevenger, 9. Tommy Mikels, 10. Ryan York, 11. Derek Drown, 12. Mitchell Moore, 13. Tim Newman, 14. Curtis Boyer, 15. Bobby Hawks, 16. Rusty Potter, 17. Mike Chadd, 18. Randy Combs, 19. Larry Neighbors, 20. Jimmy Taylor. DNS: Rex Combs.

Down & Dirty Down Under Dash (4 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart ($500), 2. Billy Alley ($300), 3. Kenny Adams ($200), 4. Jesse Hockett ($200).

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 22-Billy Alley ($10,000), 2. 4m-Shane Stewart ($5,000), 3. 20-Brian Brown ($3,250), 4. 50z-Zach Chappell ($2,000), 5. 75-Jesse Hockett ($1,500), 6. 4a-Kenny Adams ($1,250), 7. 97-Aaron Berryhill ($1,225), 8. 11x-Garry Lee Maier ($1,200), 9. 29-Travis Rilat ($1,175), 10. 9-Gary Wright ($1,150), 11. 14-Randy Martin ($1,125), 12. 33-Jon Corbin ($1,100), 13. 36-Jason Martin ($1,075), 14. 47-Dale Howard ($1,050), 15. 86-Eric Schrock ($1,025), 16. 19-Tracy Nichols ($1,000), 17. 57x-Jake Peters ($1,000), 18. 7a-Johnny Anderson ($1,000), 19. 94-Cody Branchcomb ($1,000), 20. 33w-Doug Wilson ($1,000), 21. 46-Jan Howard ($1,000), 22. 86m-Don Droud, Jr. ($1,000).

O'Reilly ASCS National Points (Top 10): 1. Travis Rilat 5,310, 2. Gary Wright 5,254, 3. Zach Chappell 5.222, 4. Darren Stewart 5,082, 5. Cody Branchcomb 4,822, 6. Toby Brown 4,646, 7. Shane Stewart 2,808, 8. Jimmy Taylor 2,616, 9. Tim Crawley 2,483, 10. Rick Behr 2,241.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Erin Crocker , Larry Neighbors , Jeff Mitrisin , Aaron Berryhill , Brian Brown , Cody Branchcomb , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Jesse Hockett , Kenny Adams , Tim Crawley , Chris Morgan