SCRA Perris Auto Speedway 98-09-06

KRUSEMAN BACKS UP PREDICTION by Robert Mayson PERRIS, CA., September 6 -- The Ventura Raceway dust still hadn't settled when Cory Kruseman promised that he would also win the following night at the Perris Auto Speedway.


by Robert Mayson PERRIS, CA., September 6 -- The Ventura Raceway dust still hadn't settled when Cory Kruseman promised that he would also win the following night at the Perris Auto Speedway. True to his word, Kruseman not only won Sunday night at the PAS, but led all 30 laps in the process. "I told everyone that I was going to win, so I had to do it," he said with a look of confidence that was missing during the first half of the season. "I feel like I'm on top again. All I can say is look out for Kruseman because I'm going to wear out that podium." Equaling as impressive as claiming his second Sprint Car Racing Association (SCRA) main event in as many nights, was the way he did it. Labeled by some as only being able to find success on the low groove, Kruseman should have silenced his critics after winning both races convincingly on the cushion. "A lot of people say I just run the bottom. I do run the bottom, but only when the bottom is fast and I've won a lot of races that way. If I can win on the top, I'll win it on the top. Wherever it's fastest, that's where you'll find me," said Kruseman. JE Pistons Dash winner Troy Cline shared the front row with Kruseman. After one false start caused by a cat and mouse game of who can get to the cushion first, Kruseman drove the Harlan Willis owned Selway Machine Tool / D&M Rebar No. 45 Okie high into the first turn to take the lead. Rim-riding all the way around, Kruseman was followed by Cline, Gary W. Howard, Steve Ostling and Troy Rutherford at the end of the first lap. The only caution flag of the race came on lap two after Cary Faas got a little too far sideways exiting turn three and was rubbed by Rickie Gaunt. Although both drivers continued without stopping, their contact created a pileup in the back of the pack that eliminated Rip Williams, Danny Ent and Sander Engineering Fast Time Award winner Verne Sweeney. The ensuing restart provided no changes among the top-five until lap five when Rutherford picked up a good enough bite off the bottom of turn two to pass Ostling for fourth. At the same time, second place Cline was experiencing a problem with his right front torsion arm. Driving for Bill & Lida Lloyd, Howard moved the Ellis Race Cars sponsored No. 34 under the ill-handling Cline on lap eleven. Howard's teammate, Rutherford, moved Lloyd's No. 41 car by Cline using the same turn two move on the following lap. Cline's handling problems worsened causing him to fade to a 15th place finish. Ten laps from the finish, Kruseman enjoyed over a full straight away lead despite have little or no brakes for most of the race. "We had a brake problem in our heat race and busted a rear rotor. We changed the rear end (because it was faster to change the rear end than to just change the brake rotor), but I think we had a little air in the brake line," Kruseman later explained. "Even without brakes I kept charging, but with about four laps to go I backed off in traffic and played in safe." Kruseman also admitted that before the race he planned to ride around the top for awhile and then move down to the bottom once it came in. But since he had a good rhythm up top, he stayed high and now has the distinction of being the man to win the 50th SCRA races ever held at the PAS. Howard's second place finish equaled his best SCRA run in over four years. Even though first and second was not in question near the end of the race, the battle for third was heated the waning laps. Rutherford managed to fend off Ostling and Faas to also equal his best SCRA finish from his rookie campaign of a year ago. _________________________________________________________________ RACE #28 PERRIS AUTO SPEEDWAY- PERRIS, CA Date of Race: 9/6/98 SANDER ENGINEERING TIME TRIALS 1. Verne Sweeney, Lomita CA, Sweeney 98 , 17.280 2. Rickie Gaunt, Torrance CA, Gaunt Const. 40 , 17.285 3. Rip Williams, Yorba Linda CA, Jory 3 , 17.286 4. Tony Jones, Corona CA, Cowherd Racing 48 , 17.306 5. Mike Kirby, Lomita CA, Geurin 5 , 17.307 6. Troy Rutherford, Ojai CA, Lloyd. 41 , 17.330 7. Steve Ostling, Corona CA.,Pratt 12 , 17.369 8. Gary W. Howard, Fontana CA, Lloyd 34 , 17.421 9. Richard Griffin, Silver City NM, Chaffin 50 , 17.427 10. Mike English, Norwalk CA, Priestley 7 , 17.453 11. Troy Cline, Hawthorne CA, Cline 11 , 17.457 12. Mike Boat, Peoria AZ, Sertich 92 , 17.458 13. Jordan Hermansader, Long Beach CA, Gardner Jr. 96 , 17.468 14. Cory Kruseman, Ventura CA, Willis 45 , 17.502 15. Marc Hart, Ventura CA, Hart 15 , 17.577 16. Cary Faas, Yorba Linda CA.,Morales 27 , 17.598 17. Ed Patterson, III, Oakview CA, Patterson, Jr 56, 17.620 18. Jeremy Sherman, Phoenix AZ, Clark 78 , 17.634 19. Chad Jones, Murrieta CA, Scott Mtrsprts. 24 , 17.688 20. Danny Ent, Big Bear City CA, Ent Racing 81 , 17.710 21. John Scott, Hesperia CA, Willis 4 , 17.782 22. Dwight Cheney, Arcadia CA, Cheney 42 , 17.892 23. Rodney Argo, El Segundo CA, Argo 19 , 17.908 24. Paul Beregszaszy, Glendale AZ, Bereg Racing 54 , 17.915 25. Eddie Tafoya, Chino Hills CA, Tafoya 51, 17.970 26. Keith Williamson, Pomona CA, Williamson 95 , 18.007 27. Steve Alexander, Torrance CA, Alexander 89 , 18.023 28. Bobby Michnowicz, Harbor City CA, MRT 21 , 18.124 29. Rick Hinrichsen, Lakeside CA, Core Mtrsprts. 22 , 18.127 30. John Franklin, Huntington Bch. CA, Franklin 20 , 18.240 31. Adam Mitchell, Escondido CA, Mitchell 99 , 18.288 32. Brian Venard, Tustin CA, Venard 97 , 18.297 33. Sid Carlson, San Diego CA, Carlson 73 , 18.370 34. Tony Everhart, El Cajon CA, Everhart 55 , 18.717 35. Dean Crabb, Norco CA, Crabb 88 , 19.024 36. Mike Emmette, San Dimas CA.,Emiiette 44 , 21.830 37. Greg Giardina, Riverside CA, Giardina 58 , 29.545

LAST CHANCE RACE 1. Rick Hinrichsen. 2. Brian Venard. 3. Sid Carlson. 4. Tony Everhart. 5. Greg Giardina. 6. Dean Crabb. 7. Mike Eneette. 8. Adam Mitchell.

SUPERTRAPP HEAT 1 1. John Scott, 2. Ed Patterson, III, 3. Richard Griffin, 4. Mike Kirby, 5. Jordan Hermansader, 6. Eddie Tafoya, 7. Verne Sweeney, 8. Rick Hinrichsen,

SHAVER RACING ENGINES HEAT 2 1. Cory Kruseman, 2. Dwight Cheney, 3. Jeremy Sherman, 4. Troy Rutherford, 5. Keith Williamson, 6. Rickie Gaunt, 7. Mike English, 8. Brian Venard,

SYSTEM ONE HEAT 3 1. Rodney Argo, 2. Marc Hart, 3. Steve Ostling, 4. Troy Cline, 5. Rip Williams, 6. Chad Jones, 7. Sid Carlson, 8. Steve Alexander,

KSE PRODUCTS HEAT 4 1. Cary Faas, 2. Gary W. Howard, 3. Tony Everhart, 4. Danny Ent, 5. Tony Jones, 6. Bobby Michnowicz, 7. Paul Beregszaszy, 8. Mike Boat,

JE PISTONS PASSING MASTERS DASH 1. Troy Cline. 2. Cory Kruseman. 3. Steve Ostling. 4. Gary W. Howard. 5. Mike Kirby. 6. Troy Rutherford. 7. Marc Hart. 8. Cary Faas.

B FEATURE 1. Rip Williams. 2. Rickie Gaunt. 3. Mike English. 4. Verne Sweeney. 5. Mike Boat. 6. Jordan Hermansader. 7. Tony Jones. 8. Chad Jones. 9. Keith Williamson. 10. Steve Alexander. 11. Bobby Michnowicz. 12. Sid Carlson. 13. Rick Hinrichsen. 14. Brian Venard.

A FEATURE 1. Cory Kruseman. 2. Gary W. Howard. 3. Troy Rutherford. 4. Steve Ostling. 5. Cary Faas. 6. Rickie Gaunt. 7. Mike Kirby. 8. Richard Griffin. 9. Mike Boat. 10. Mike English. 11. Marc Hart. 12. Ed Patterson, III. 13. Rodney Argo. 14. John Scott. 15. Troy Cline. 16. Jordan Hermansader. 17. Dwight Cheney. 18. Jeremy Sherman. 19. Tony Everhart. 20. Verne Sweeney. 21. Rip Williams. 22. Danny Ent. Laps Led: Kruseman 1-30

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tony Jones , Cory Kruseman , Richard Griffin , Troy Cline , Mike Boat , John Scott , Rip Williams , Mike English , Troy Rutherford , Bobby Michnowicz
Teams Williams