Riverside Speedweek Saturday report, results

Gallagher Notches Hard Fought ASCS Speedweek Triumph at Riverside ASCS - WEST MEMPHIS, Ark. (May 31, 2003) - Eddie Gallagher fought off Gary Wright's race-long challenges for the lead to claim victory honors in round two of the 11th Annual ...

Gallagher Notches Hard Fought ASCS Speedweek Triumph at Riverside

ASCS - WEST MEMPHIS, Ark. (May 31, 2003) - Eddie Gallagher fought off Gary Wright's race-long challenges for the lead to claim victory honors in round two of the 11th Annual American Sprint Car Series Speedweek 30-lap feature at Riverside Speedway Saturday night. Gallagher has now topped the last three O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and United Trailers feature events at Riverside.

After racing from seventh to second in the fourth heat for the 36-car field, Gallagher led the feature field to the green flag with Wade Oliver alongside. Gallagher claimed the lead at the drop of the green flag, with fifth-starter Jan Howard taking over second by the fourth round. Wright followed Howard past Oliver for third in turn three on the fourth round, then ducked underneath Howard for second exiting turn two a half lap later, setting his sights on Gallagher.

Following a lap six stoppage for Paul Sides, who flipped after climbing a wheel on Oliver's slowing mount in turn two, Wright began his challenges for the lead. The lead battle was interrupted two rounds later when current series point leader Darren Stewart escaped a turn four tangle that collected Cody Branchcomb and Marshall Skinner. The tangle sent Branchcomb pitside for the remainder of the race, with Skinner restarting at the tail.

Gallagher and Wright continued their race for the lead on the restart, as Howard shadowed the lead duo's moves with Zach Chappell and Kevin Ramey in tow. Wright pulled alongside Gallagher on a pair of occasions at the race's midway point, but Gallagher was able to maintain the lead.

Wright continued to pressure Gallagher for the point as heavy lapped traffic came into play after 17 rounds. With traffic on the fast quarter-mile gumbo oval holding up the lead pair, Ramey raced past Chappell for fourth on the 22nd round, then got underneath Howard for third three laps later. Ramey was poised to make a move on Gallagher on Wright when the caution flew with three laps remaining for a turn three spin by Rick Williams.

Set for a three lap dash to the checkered flag, Gallagher took off on the restart and scored a narrow victory in his Hy-Performance-powered Maxim, with Wright crossing the line a close second. Ramey posted a strong third place finish just ahead of Howard. Shane Stewart made a late move to round out the top five, with Chappell crossing the stripe in sixth. Dale Howard claimed seventh in front of Henry Gustavus, while Travis Rilat earned the race's Hard Charger award by racing from 19th to finish ninth. Bryce Vowan completed the top ten.

Wright, Oliver, J. Howard, Chappell and S. Stewart each claimed heat race victories, while Jody Roland and D.J. Masner won the twin 12-lap B Mains.

After a heat race tangle, Darren Stewart utilized a provisional to start the main event. Branchcomb also used a top-ten provisional, while Skinner and Corey Bailey were awarded promoter's provisional starting positions for the main event.

ASCS Speedweek round three takes place Sunday night at Oklahoma City's State Fair Speedway.


A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Eddie Gallagher, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Kevin Ramey, 4. Jan Howard, 5. Shane Stewart, 6. Zach Chappell, 7. Dale Howard, 8. Henry Gustavus, 9. Travis Rilat, 10. Bryce Vowan, 11. John Pate, 12. Ronny Howard, 13. A.G. Rains, 14. Darren Stewart, 15. Jody Roland, 16. Rick Williams, 17. Toby Brown, 18. Marshall Skinner, 19. Paul Sides, 20. Corey Bailey, 21. Cody Branchcomb, 22. Wade Oliver, 23. D.J. Masner, 24. Raymond Stull.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Jody Roland, 2. John Pate, 3. Travis Rilat, 4. Matt Clevenger, 5. Cody Branchcomb, 6. Jimmy Taylor, 7. Marshall Skinner, 8. Lee Sowell, 9. Mike Ward, 10. Tony Bruce, Jr. DNS: Darren Stewart.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. D.J. Masner, 2. Toby Brown, 3. Ronny Howard, 4. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 5. Brian Harvill, 6. Stephen Chevallier, 7. Josh Baker, 8. Corey Bailey, 9. Kelly Angelette, 10. Greg Merritt.

First Heat (10 Laps): 1. Gary Wright, 2. Rick Williams, 3. Paul Sides, 4. John Pate, 5. Marshall Skinner, 6. Ronny Howard, 7. Matt Clevenger, 8. Jimmy Taylor.

Second Heat (10 Laps):  1. Wade Oliver, 2. Raymond Stull, 3. Dale Howard, 4.
Kelly Angelette, 5. Brian Harvill, 6. Mike Ward.  DNS: Dewayne Prince.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. Jan Howard, 2. Henry Gustavus, 3. A.G. Rains, 4. Bryce Vowan, 5. Lee Sowell, 6. Corey Bailey, 7. Stephen Chevallier.

Fourth Heat (10 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Eddie Gallagher, 3. Jody Roland, 4. Toby Brown, 5. Greg Merritt, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. Darren Stewart.

Fifth Heat (10 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Kevin Ramey, 3. D.J. Masner, 4. Cody Branchcomb, 5. Travis Rilat, 6. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 7. Josh Baker.

O'Reilly ASCS Points (Top Ten): 1. Darren Stewart 1,684, 2. Travis Rilat 1,636, 3. Zach Chappell 1,634, 4. Gary Wright 1,588, 5. Cody Branchcomb 1,560, 6. Toby Brown 1,536, 7. Shane Stewart 1,104, 8. Rick Behr 1,060, 9. Tim Crawley 818, 10. Matt Clevenger 811.

ASCS Speedweek Points through Two of Eight Events (Top Ten): 1. Gary Wright 296, 2. Shane Stewart 286, 3. Kevin Ramey 282, 4. Dale Howard 276, 5. Zach Chappell 274, 6. A.G. Rains 266, 7. Jan Howard 264, 8. Eddie Gallagher 260, 9. Darren Stewart 256, 10. Marshall Skinner 246.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Cody Branchcomb , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Rick Williams , Kevin Ramey , Tim Crawley
Teams Williams