Riverside II: Race results

Rains Supreme in O'Reilly ASCS Riverside Run WEST MEMPHIS, Ark. (September 10, 2005) -- A.G. Rains made a late pass of Zach Chappell en route to scoring a popular hometown win in Saturday night's 30-lap O'Reilly American Sprint...

Rains Supreme in O'Reilly ASCS Riverside Run

WEST MEMPHIS, Ark. (September 10, 2005) -- A.G. Rains made a late pass of Zach Chappell en route to scoring a popular hometown win in Saturday night's 30-lap O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores feature at Riverside Speedway.

Rains charged past 2001 ASCS National champion Chappell on the 27th round and dashed to the checkered flag to capture his second career ASCS National Tour feature win aboard the Acme Equipment Transportation/AMC Plumbing Utilities No. 3 Maxim. Rains' first ASCS win, also at Riverside Speedway, came more than four years ago in July 2001.

Chappell and Tony Bruce, Jr., led the feature field to the green flag, while Rains started inside the third row. The main event got off to the most inauspicious of starts however, when 12 of the 23 starters piled up in the opening corner.

While the first three rows got through the opening corner without incident, mayhem broke out behind them. Nick Smith, Lee Sowell and Buster Dickerson were eliminated for the night, with Jake Martens, Toby Brown, Marshall Skinner, Hunter Schuerenberg, Chad Jones, Jeff Leach, Travis Rilat, Eddie Gallagher and Sam Hafertepe, Jr., rejoining the fray.

Leading Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Bruce gunned into the lead on the ensuing restart, only to see the red flag fly with one lap in the books for a turn four tangle that sent Mike Ward, Darren Stewart and Jimmy Taylor to the pits.

With action back under way, Bruce paced the early rounds in front of Chappell and Ronny Howard, with Rains in fourth. As lapped traffic came into play after ten rounds, Chappell took quick advantage to take the lead from Bruce on the 13th circuit.

With Chappell and Bruce leading the way, Rains took third from Ronny Howard by the time a lap seventeen caution flew for Jeff Leach's disabled mount.

Rains turned up the wick on the ensuing restart, quickly racing past Bruce for second and setting his sights on Chappell. Chappell kept Rains at bay for several rounds until lapped traffic once again became a factor with a handful of laps remaining.

Rains persistence paid dividends when he charged into the lead on the 27th lap. Rains slipped away to a half-dozen car-length advantage over the final rounds, with Chappell settling for second. Fourteenth-starter Chad Jones made a last-lap pass of Bruce to snare the show position, with Bruce crossing the stripe fourth. Kenny Coke rounded out the top five.

Ronny Howard snared sixth, with 15-year-old Hunter Schuerenberg, 19th-starter Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 16th-starter Travis Rilat and 23rd-starter Philip Faulkner completing the top ten.

Rains, Chappell, Coke and Howard topped heat race action for the 31-car field, with Eddie Gallagher winning the 12-lap "B" Main.

Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., was vying for the final transfer position in the "B" Main when he hopped a right rear tire and went for a wild ride in turn four. Stenhouse escaped injury.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. A.G. Rains, 2. Mike Ward, 3. Jimmy Taylor, 4. Darren Stewart, 5. Eddie Gallagher, 6. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 7. Lee Sowell, 8. Joe Spencer.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Tony Bruce, Jr., 3. Hunter Schuerenberg, 4. Jeff Leach, 5. Buster Dickerson, 6. Robert Gant, 7. Doc Sloan. DNS: Henry Gustavus.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Kenny Coke, 2. Toby Brown, 3. Jake Martens, 4. Travis Rilat, 5. Gary Wright, 6. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 7. Philip Faulkner, 8. Andy Goin.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Ronny Howard, 2. Marshall Skinner, 3. Nick Smith, 4. Chad Jones, 5. Jim Bowden, 6. Jan Howard, 7. Eric White.

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Eddie Gallagher, 2. Jim Bowden, 3. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 4. Buster Dickerson, 5. Jan Howard, 6. Lee Sowell, 7. Robert Gant, 8. Philip Faulkner, 9. Joe Spencer, 10. Doc Sloan, 11. Andy Goin, 12. Eric White, 13. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. DNS: Gary Wright, Henry Gustavus.

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. A.G. Rains, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Chad Jones, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Kenny Coke, 6. Ronny Howard, 7. Hunter Schuerenberg, 8. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 9. Travis Rilat, 10. Philip Faulkner, 11. Marshall Skinner, 12. Toby Brown, 13. Jim Bowden, 14. Jake Martens, 15. Jeff Leach, 16. Gary Wright, 17. Mike Ward, 18. Darren Stewart, 19. Jimmy Taylor, 20. Eddie Gallagher, 21. Nick Smith, 22. Buster Dickerson, 23. Lee Sowell.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Ten): 1. Gary Wright 4,110, 2. Darren Stewart 3,896, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 3,678, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 3,606, 5. Toby Brown 3,173, 6. Jake Martens 3,107, 7. Jimmy Taylor 2,543, 8. Zach Chappell 2,176, 9. Jan Howard 2,170, 10. Lee Sowell 2,041.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Buster Dickerson , Travis Rilat , Nick Smith , Hunter Schuerenberg