Ricky Logan Southern Iowa Sprintweek preview

KNOXVILLE, IOWA (July 27, 2003) - Lucas Oil-sponsored Ricky Logan of Little Rock, Arkansas, has indicated that he is set to defend his "Mr. Sprint Car" title in the Auto Trader Southern Iowa SprintWeek, August 9-16, at both the ...

KNOXVILLE, IOWA (July 27, 2003) - Lucas Oil-sponsored Ricky Logan of Little Rock, Arkansas, has indicated that he is set to defend his "Mr. Sprint Car" title in the Auto Trader Southern Iowa SprintWeek, August 9-16, at both the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa and the Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville. According to the former dirt late model driver, "I have decided to run both nights at Oskaloosa this year (August 11-12), in addition to running the August 15th Kele World Challenge, for which I qualified by racing sprint cars in February in New Zealand. Of course, my teammate in Auckland, Travis Rilat, will probably be tough during SprintWeek as he won last year's $30,000-to-win non-winged show at Osky and he is also entered in the August 10th Brodix Tournament of Champions and the August 15th Kele World Challenge at Knoxville!"

Logan will be competing in Ed Gifford's Minuteman Printing/Lucas Oil-sponsored Ott-powered J&J sprint car. Besides friends Ricky Logan and Travis Rilat, two other challengers to the "Mr. Sprint Car" crown could be Shane Stewart of Oklahoma and Gary Wright of Texas. Both are American Sprint Car Series (ASCS) competitors, like Rilat of Texas, and will be competing in a majority of the eight consecutive shows, including the Brodix Tournament of Champions.

The driver scoring the most points over the eight straight nights of non-winged, 360-, and 410-cubic-inch sprint car racing will earn $2,500 and the unique "Mr. Sprint Car" title trophy. The points are awarded in the feature races on a 50-49-48-47--- basis, with all drivers in competition that 'Did Not Qualify' receiving 10 points. Drivers may compete in only one "A" Main (360 or 410) at Knoxville on August 9th. Drivers must be invited to compete in the August 9th Casey's 360 Night Before the Tournament, August 10th Brodix 360 Tournament of Champions and August 15th Kele World Challenge "A" Mains. Drivers may compete in only one Preliminary Night "A" Main at the Ford Dealers of Iowa Knoxville Nationals, August 13th or 14th.

The 2003 Auto Trader Southern Iowa SprintWeek point championship opens at Knoxville on Saturday, August 9th, with Casey's General Stores Night. The track's regular 410 sprint car field, which is annually beefed up by many regional invaders, will compete in their traditional "Saturday Before the Nationals" program. The 360 show that night will be an invitational, named the "Casey's Night Before the Tournament", and will feature many of the same stars and cars that will run the Sunday night Brodix Tournament of Champions (ToC). A record fifteen sanctions will participate in the Sunday, August 10th, ToC: American Outlaw Action Sprints (AOAS), American Sprint Car Series (ASCS), ASCS-Gulf South, ASCS-Rocky Mountain, ASCS-Sooner, Eagle Sprint Touring Series (ESTS), Empire Super Sprints (ESS), Knoxville 360's, Montana Sprint Tour (MST), Northern Sprint Tour (NST), Sprint Invaders Association (SIA), United Racing Club (URC), Winged Outlaw Warriors (WOW), and WISSOTA Promoters Association (WISSOTA).

The focus of the "Mr. Sprint Car" title hunt will then head 26 miles east to the Southern Iowa Fairgrounds in Oskaloosa for the Monday, August 11th, Front Row Challenge. The All Star Circuit of Champions (ASCoC) sanctioned event is promoted by Terry McCarl and Bill McCroskey of McTwo Promotions, and it will pay $5,000 to the winner. However, it will pay $50,000-to-win if one of the front row drivers accepts the challenge to start at the back of the pack. On Tuesday, August 12th, the same Osky track hosts the non-winged Sprint Car Racing Association (SCRA) for the $30,000-to-win Ultimate Challenge. This innovative event is part of the prestigious Non-Winged World Championship (NWWC) tour.

The eight straight nights of racing is concluded back on the Marion County Fairgrounds with the 43rd annual Ford Dealers of Iowa Knoxville Nationals, presented by Visit Australia, August 13-16. It will pay $125,000 to the winner of the O'Reilly World of Outlaws (WoO) Series sanctioned finale on Saturday, which will be seen live on the Speed Channel. The Wednesday and Thursday preliminary night features pay $12,000 to win each , while the Friday night Kele World Challenge invitational, for the best drivers from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the United States, pays $10,000 to win. Wirtgen America and Factory Motor Parts are associate sponsors of the sport's national championships.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat