Port Royal Speedway summary 2004-07-10

Port Royal, PA The Mark Smith express rolled on Saturday night July 10 at Port Royal (PA) Speedway. Smith of Newville, PA drove the Zemco Speed Equipment no. 1 to his seventh win of the season in Aumiller & Associate Sprint Car action. While the...

Port Royal, PA The Mark Smith express rolled on Saturday night July 10 at Port Royal (PA) Speedway. Smith of Newville, PA drove the Zemco Speed Equipment no. 1 to his seventh win of the season in Aumiller & Associate Sprint Car action. While the end result was Smith's continued dominance of the division, the win was not easy as Smith waited until lap 21 to take the lead. Smith said in post race ceremonies, " I waited a while for the traffic to sort out. By the middle of the race I had to get going. I want to thank my guys", Smith added, " I hope I can hang out with them for a while, and keep this going. I'm fortunate to have a team like this." Smith started eleventh and trailed leaders Randy Baughman and Chad Layton. Baughman started on the pole and led the first thirteen laps before giving way to Layton. Layton opened a big lead and it looked as though the Harrisburg, PA driver was headed to his first win in the United Trailers no. U1. A lap sixteen caution wiped out Layton's advantage, but it took Smith four laps to gain control of the event.

Layton's night ended with twenty three laps scored when his mount stopped in turn 2. Layton was out of the event and Smith cruised to his seventh win of the season. Following Smith to the checkered flag was Mifflintown's Keith Kauffman who started tenth in the Middleswarth Potato Chips no. 7. Youngster Jimmy Seger of Morrisdale was third with Rod Stroup of Evandale fourth. Mike Erdley of Elizabethtown finished fifth. Sixth through tenth were Mike Wagner, Lucas Wolfe, Dustin Hoffman, Dave Hahn and Justin Seigler. Heats for the 23 car field were won by Hoffman and Baughman. Other caution periods in the feature event were for Judi Bates, Craig Keel, Richie Hartman and newcomer Dave Cool.

Bates hit the outside wall on the front stretch on lap doing front end damage to her sprinter. Keel left the track on lap seven with a flat tire and suspension damage. Hartman stopped on the backstretch during the next restart and Cool slowed on lap 16 but never came to a complete stop.

One scary incident took place during the second sprint car heat. Millerstown, PA driver Todd Shaffer jumped the cushion in turn two and flipped hard with the rear of his car getting into the wall. Following a long delay for medical evaluation, Shaffer was transported to Lewistown Hospital with possible shoulder injuries. Shaffer was treated and released with no broken bones or serious injuries found.

Scotty Haus drove Robby Mapes/ Salem RV Express/Riverfront Transportation no. 33 to victory for the sixth time in Ramsey's Car Wash/AB Auto Glass Late Model action. The 20 lap feature paid $ 1,000 dollars to the winner. Haus worked the high side of the speedway chasing Jim Yoder of Selinsgrove for the first thirteen laps. Haus said, " Jim's a good driver. I had to work for this one. I can't say enough about this car and team. The Beech Creek gang, and my original crew, plus Robby Mapes, Salem RV and Riverfront Transportation. Phil Miller built this engine in Mountoursville. It's the fourth time we've run this car here and we've won four times with it. Phil builds a great motor." Yoder was second with Jere Wierman third. Jeff Leiphart and Mike Hess completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Eric Zembower, Dave Kepner, Nick Dickson, Tim Gray and Travis Dillman. Leiphart and Haus won qualifiers. There were 23 cars.

Caution periods came on laps two, three and nineteen. Tony Smith of Blain and Jason Schmidt spun and got together in turn four with both cars restarting. Schmidt dropped out on lap three. Brian Hack and Tim Aurand tangled in turn two and were able to restart. Scott Lupfer stopped in turn four for the final yellow.

Bill Powell drove a perfect race to win the 15 lap Stong's Auto Parts Pro Stock feature. Powell said, " It helps to start on the pole. You can stay in the groove and block a little if you have to." Powell led every lap but had John Heane dogging him most of the way. Heane's Jakes Carts/Royer Demolition mount could pull close but not get by. Following the pair closely was Todd Snook in third place. Neil Foust was fourth and Scott Spahr fifth. Sixth through tenth were Gary Beward, Dave Bowsman, Jim Palm, Harry Peffer and Harold Ranck Jr. Powell and Chuck Bryner won qualifiers. There were 25 cars.

John Stoll won the 12 lap Parson's Auto Salvage/Casner Service Center 4 cyl. stock car feature over Max Hampton. Stoll got the lead on lap 2 from Kyle Parson and never looked back. Stoll said following the event, " This is an old car. We re-did it during the winter with a new body. It was built in 1991." Following Stoll and Hampton were Kirk Knable, Tim Burkholder and Leroy Long. Sixth through tenth were Jerry Bard, Randy Wible, Tim Mangle, Chris Casner and Derrick Casner. 24 cars signed in for competition.

A large crowd was on hand for Kids Night 8. Kids Night Committee organizers thank all the sponsors, racers and workers that made the night possible. Work is already under way for Kids Night 9 next season. Track workers added at least 12 loads of new clay prior to the nights action. An additional 12 loads were placed on the track Sunday July 11 as workers strive to create a racing surface with less dust.

Up next at Port Royal is a four division show of Sprint Cars, Late Models, Pro Stocks and Pizza & Sub Shack Enduro Cars. The July 17 program gets under way at 7:00 P.M. with gates opening at 5. Coming Wednesday July 28 is the Bob Weikert Memorial Sprint Car race sponsored in part by Schwan's Sales. Kenny Schrader's Schwan's Show Car will be on hand and free ice cream treats will be given to the fans. Other giveaway items will be included.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Lucas Wolfe , Tony Smith , Tim Gray