Port Royal Speedway race summary

Todd Hestor in victory lane at Port Royal. Team Middleswarth sweeps top two spots. Port Royal, PA. Todd Hestor of Middleburg, PA won the 25 lap Aumiller's Insurance Sprint Car feature event Saturday night July 20 at Port Royal Speedway. The ...

Todd Hestor in victory lane at Port Royal.
Team Middleswarth sweeps top two spots.

Port Royal, PA. Todd Hestor of Middleburg, PA won the 25 lap Aumiller's Insurance Sprint Car feature event Saturday night July 20 at Port Royal Speedway. The victory was worth $ 2,500. 00 to the Middleswarth Potato Chips team driver. Hestor was followed by Keith Kauffman of nearby Mifflintown, PA giving the Dave Middleswarth owned cars the top two spots. Todd Shaffer of Millerstown started eleventh and finished third with Kevin Schaeffer from Kittanning, Pa fourth. Middleburg's Dustin Hoffman completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Mike Erdley, Alan Cole, Troy Whitesel, Rick Lafferty and Cliff Brian. Heats for the 23 car field were won by Ron Kramer of Ephrata and Troy Whitesel of Selinsgrove. No consolation race was needed.

Hestor spoke with Race Director Tom Little during post race ceremonies. "It was a good night for us", began Hestor, "Keith had to start back in field. We weren't real good in the heat race. Heat races don't mean much. We tried to get it right for the feature. The guys work hard on the car every night. The wives put up with it. My wife is due to have a baby right about the week of Tuscarora 50. She'll have to have it about a week early", Hestor joked. He(Hestor), added," We'll celebrate tonight."

Owner Dave Middleswarth was away on vacation and missed his cars sweep of Port Royal's top two spots.

Ron Kramer started on the pole and gave way to Kevin Schaeffer on the start. Schaeffer started fourth and led the first eight laps. Hestor moved from his tenth place starting spot to fourth position on lap two. He then moved to third spot on lap five by passing Dustin Hoffman in turn two. Hestor passed Ron Kramer for second spot in turns three and four on lap eight. The event was stopped after eight full circuits for Kramer who flipped hard in turn four. Kramer's car suffered heavy damage but he was not injured. Upon restarting, Hestor moved by Sheaffer with Hoffman third. The trio ran that way through lap fourteen. Kauffman started fifteenth and moved forward. Kauffman was in fourth spot on lap twelve. He moved to third place on lap fifteen and second on lap eighteen. Kauffman stayed close but could not catch the rapid running Hestor. Todd Shaffer came from eleventh starting spot and got by Sheaffer on lap twenty one,finishing third. Sheaffer and Hoffman enjoyed their best Port Royal Sprint Car finishes ever placing fourth and fifth.

The 20 lap Late Model feature was won by Mike Atherton of Ft. Loudon, PA. Atherton started second and led every lap to claim the $1,000.00 top prize. Twenty four Late Models signed in for competition. Atherton led the first three laps with former Late Model Champion Wayne Walls of St. Thomas, PA running second. Travis Dillman followed in third spot. The order remained that way with Jere Wierman and Mike Hess moving into the top five on lap four. Wierman moved to third place on lap seven and the caution flag waved during lap eight. Cris Shuey of Orefield, Pa brushed the concrete wall on the front stretch and went to the pit area. Mark Wagner of Lewistown entered the speedway under the yellow after failing to take the initial green flag to start the race. Wagner spun in turn two and the yellow light came on with nine laps down. Wierman had moved to second place and would chase Atherton the remainder of the race. A final caution came on lap seventeen for Scott Lupfer who spun on the backstretch. Lupfer rejoined the field at the rear. A three car shoot out closed out the race with Wierman and Walls pressuring Atherton. Walls got by Wierman high in turn four and raced back to the checkered flag finishing second. Wierman was third with Hess fourth. Tim Wilson completed the top five. Sixth through tenth were Steve Campbell, Dave Kepner, Eric Kauffman, Travis Dillman and Ken Dickson. Heats were won by Dillman and Dickson. The victory was Atherton's second at the Juniata County oval.

Dave Leahy led every lap to cross the finish line first in Stong's Auto Parts Pro Stock action. Following post race tech inspection Leahy was disqualified for an illegal rear spring part which was adjustable.Terry Naugle was awarded the win. Matt Parks was second with Jason Schmidt third. Gary BeWard and Bill Powell completed the top five. Sixth through tenth were Ken Stitt Jr., Scott Dirman, Glenn Miller, Mark Auker and Donnie Hughes. There were nineteen cars. The race was slowed on lap two for debris on the speedway which forced Jim Palm and BeWard to the pit area. BeWard rejoined the field. The restart saw a major mess at the end of the front stretch entering turn one. Corey Kepner and Bob Baumgerdner's car were towed to the pit area. Numerous other cars got together past the restart cone with plenty of sheet metal damage.

The entire nights program was complete by 10:05 p.m.

The speedway is dark Saturday July 27 for mid summer vacation. Up next is a four division show of Aumiller's Insurance Sprint Cars, Late Models, Stong's Auto Parts Pro Stocks and Enduro Cars Saturday August 3. Race time is 7 p.m. with gates opening at 4 p.m. Enduro racers should contact the speedway office to register their cars for this race. General admission will be $13.00 August 3 with students 12-17, $8.00. Kids under 12 are free.

Race Director Tom Little announced a schedule change following Saturday nights racing program. The ladies will return for a Powder Puff race Saturday August 17. This marks the first appearance for the ladies in over two years. Powder Puff action will be run in Enduro Cars.

Information is always available at www.portroyalspeedway.com or by calling (717)-527-2303.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car