Port Royal results 2001-06-09

PORT ROYAL, PA -- For the second week in a row, Mifflintown's Keith Kauffman took the lead from his teammate Todd Hestor during the late stages of the race to score a popular Port Royal Speedway win. Only this time, he did it on a special night,...

PORT ROYAL, PA -- For the second week in a row, Mifflintown's Keith Kauffman took the lead from his teammate Todd Hestor during the late stages of the race to score a popular Port Royal Speedway win. Only this time, he did it on a special night, on two accounts. While it was his 104th career speedway win, it also came in the Second Annual Pete Swarmer Memorial, which took place on his 51st birthday.

"That's a pretty good deal," said Kauffman of winning on his special day. "We're going good, this Middleswarth team gives me a good racecar and we are tough right now."

Elsewhere, in stock car action, Scott Haus snapped Ken Dickson's stronghold over the late model division and Jim Palm drove to victory in the pro stock division with a last corner pass. Coming up on June 16 at Port Royal will be a three-division program of sprint cars, late models and pro stocks, getting underway at 7 p.m. An autograph session with sprint car drivers Todd Hestor and Mike Erdley and stock car pilots Steve Campbell, Travis Dillman, Jim Palm and Scott Dorman will take place behind the grandstand, beginning at 5:30.

Just as he did the week before, front row starter Jay Reichard jumped into the lead at the start of the 25-lap Pete Swarmer Memorial for sprint cars feature event and was holding his own over Herndon's Mike Erdley with four laps down when Craig Eshenaur spun in turn four, regrouping the field. Prior to the caution, tenth starter Lance Dewease had moved into fifth but was sent back to seventh by virtue of the yellow.

On the restart, 13th starter Keith Kauffman of Mifflintown made a bold low side move in turns one a two to move from ninth to third and set his sights on the leaders. Meanwhile, Kauffman's teammate, Todd Hestor blasted into the lead over Reichard with eight laps down when Dave Hahn stopped, slowing the pace.

Kauffman disposed of Reichard when action resumed and was trying to track down his teammate with 15 remaining when Erdley stopped, halting action once again. Hestor was trailed by Kauffman, Mark Smith, Alan Cole, Reichard, Dewease and Todd Shaffer for the restart.

Middleburg's Hestor held his own when green replaced the yellow and was sneaking away from Kauffman in traffic with 11 laps to go when yellow again appeared, this time for a two-car tangle in turn four. Hestor pulled away on the restart and entered the backmarkers with eight laps to go.

It took until Hestor had to forsake his favored high line with six to go for Kauffman to catch the ever-improving pilot. He then took advantage of an attempt by Hestor to put Ron Rough a lap down to ride the bottom rail in turns three and four into the lead as Hestor slid up in front of Rough. Once at the front, Kauffman drove easily to his fourth speedway win of the season, despite being bottled up in traffic momentarily with three to go.

"Todd's got a fast car and does a really good job," said Kauffman. "You gotta find the spot and the right time to do it and we found it tonight."

Shaffer nipped Hestor for second at the line while defending Swarmer winner Dewease and Smith rounded out the top five. Sixth through tenth went to Jimmy Hawley, Len Thompson, Cole, Shawn Keen and Brook Weibley.

Hestor and Erdley picked up sprint car qualifying events. After two initial starts of the 20-lap late model feature were called back and polesitter Scott Haus fixed a flat tire and tagged to the rear, new polesitter Scott Lupfer looped his mount in the second turn, collecting Tim Gray and Tony Adams on the third attempt. When action finally got underway, Travis Dillman led the field back to the stripe ahead of Tim Wilson and Mike Lupfer before a spin regrouped the field.

Defending track champ Chris Shuey powered from fifth to third on the ensuing restart and set his sights on leader Dillman as Ken Dickson and Haus lurked just outside the top-five. Disaster struck Shuey with six laps down when contact with Wilson sent his No. 21 hard into the backstretch wall. After motoring up to fourth prior to the yellow, Haus blasted past Wilson on the restart and began hounding Dillman for the lead. The Hamburg driver then ducked low on a lap-eight restart to motor into the lead and out of sight of the competition. Haus's 33rd career oval win came by more than a straightaway over Dickson, Dillman, Steve Campbell and Wilson.

Haus and Dillman won late model heats.

Polesitter Donnie Hughes led the first two laps of the 12-lap pro stock feature before fourth starter Tim Krape drove into the lead. In the early stages, it appeared as if Krape was unbeatable but ninth starter Gary Beward tracked down the leader with eight laps down to be side by side for the top spot.

Beward tried numerous times to slide the rapid running 07 of Krape and had just driven into the lead with under two to go when a caution sent him back to second. On the restart, 12th starting point leader Jim Palm entered the picture and seemed to come out of nowhere while running near the fence. Loysville's Palm capitalized on contact between Krape and Beward in the final turns to sneak around both drivers and pick up his 27th career speedway win by less than a car length. Beward and Krape tied for second, followed by Hughes, Todd Snook, Scott Dorman, Matt Parks, Jason Schmidt, Scott Bargo and Peanut Heintzelman.

Krape and Schmidt took heats for the pro stocks.

<pre> RACE SUMMARY Sprint Cars - 24-entries

Heat winners: Todd Hestor, Mike Erdley.

Feature finish: 1. Keith Kauffman, 2. Todd Shaffer, 3. Todd Hestor, 4. Lance Dewease, 5. Mark Smith, 6. Jimmy Hawley, 7. Len Thompson, 8. Alan Cole, 9. Shawn Keen, 10. Brook Weibley, 11. Craig Eshenaur, 12. Mike Walter, 13. Mike Erdley, 14. Ron Kramer, 15. Dave Hahn, 16. Scott Barris, 17. Ron Rough, 18. Von McGee, 19. Kyle Ganoe, 20. Jim Campbell, 21. Jay Reichard, 22. Kevin Schaeffer, 23. Michael Allman, 24. Mark Sechrest.

Late Models - 23- entries

Heat winners: Scott Haus, Travis Dillman.

Feature finish: 1. Scott Haus, 2. Ken Dickson, 3. Travis Dillman, 4. Steve Campbell, 5. Tim Wilson, 6. Mike Atherton, 7. Jere Wierman, 8. Dave Kepner, 9. Scott Flickinger, 10. Mike Lupfer, 11. Eric Kauffman, 12. Will Fair, 13. Steve Earnest, 14. Scott Lupfer, 15. Donald Zechman, 16. Tim Gray, 17. Chris Shuey, 18. Tony Adams, 19. Wayne Walls, 20. Rodney Turner, 21. Jeff Bryner, 22. Dave Bowsman, 23. Mike Hess.

Pro Stocks -22 -entries

Heat winners: Tim Krape, Jason Schmidt.

Feature finish: 1. Jim Palm, 2. Gary Beward/Tim Krape (tie), 3. Donnie Hughes, 4. Todd Snook, 5. Scott Dorman, 6. Matt Parks, 7. Jason Schmidt, 8. Scott Bargo, 9. Peanut Heintzelman, 10. Eric Cauffman, 11. Glenn Miller, 12. Corey Kepner, 13. Bob Baumgardner, 14. Harry Peffer, 15. Mark Aucker, 16. Greg Brouse, 17. Dave Brouse Jr. , 18. Roger Stutts, 19. Andy Isneberg, 20. Danny Wilson, 21. John Walborn.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Jim Campbell , Von McGee , Tim Gray