Port Royal race report 2001-07-07

Shaffer Wires Port Field For Third Beef Night Win, Haus and Snook also win. 7/7/01, PORT ROYAL, PA - For the first time since 1985, the stars and cars of the Port Royal Speedway gathered for a 35-lap main event for the sprint cars on Saturday ...

Shaffer Wires Port Field For Third Beef Night Win, Haus and Snook also win.

7/7/01, PORT ROYAL, PA - For the first time since 1985, the stars and cars of the Port Royal Speedway gathered for a 35-lap main event for the sprint cars on Saturday night. Doug Wolfgang bested the field 16 years ago but this time it was Mr. Excitement, Todd Shaffer who came away the winner of the Ports 35-lap, Beef Night Summer Championship for sprints, wiring the field for the 67th win of his career in Juniata County.

"It was slick to a curb tonight," said Shaffer from victory lane. "I knew as long as I got through traffic, it was going to be tough to pass me. I've gotta thank my crew for such a good car!"

Elsewhere, in stock car action, Scott Haus drove to victory in the late model division and Todd Snook picked up the win in the pro stock feature event.

Coming up on July 14 at Port Royal will be Kids Night 5, with 1,500 prizes up for grabs by the youngsters. The sprint cars, late models and pro stocks join the fun for a full program of racing along with bicycle, big wheel and big foot racing for the racers of tomorrow on the Port Royal clay. Gates for the premier youth event open at 4 p.m. with registration for the prizes and kids racing beginning immediately. Racing is slated for 7 p.m. with giveaways and youth racing planned for intermission.

After pulling pill number two to take the green from the outside of the front row, Millerstown's Shaffer zoomed into the lead at the start of the 35 lapper over fellow front row starter Keith Kauffman and Greg Hodnett. Shaffer's pace was soon halted however when Mark Smith spun his mount in the second corner.

Eighth starter Sean Michael moved into fourth on the restart and was side by side with Hodnett for third when the yellow appeared a lap later, bunching the field again. Shaffer simply drove off on the restart and moved into the backmarkers on just the seventh lap while Kauffman tried to keep the leader in his sights. In and out of traffic, Shaffer had extended his advantage to nearly a straightaway when Hodnett tangled with the lapped machine of Jay Reichard on the 16th lap and hit the front stretch wall while holding down third ahead of Michael, Hestor and Lance Dewease.

After a red for fuel, Shaffer's blistering pace was halted only once more, for a flat on Sean Michaels No. 1. Following the lap 19 yellow for Michael, Shaffer rim rode around the speedway to pick up the third Beef Night win of his career worth $3,000, by a half straightaway over seventh starter Lance Dewease of Fayetteville, who moved into second with 14 to go but failed to challenge for the win. Shaffer drove to victory in Beef Night competition for Leon Wintermeyer in 1993 and for current car owner Gary Beam in 1998. Kauffman held on for third with a souring motor, followed by Hestor and Len Thompson. Sixth through tenth went to Mark Smith, Shawn Keen, Alan Cole, Brook Weibley and Kevin Schaeffer.

Keen, Craig Eshenaur and Cole picked up sprint car qualifying events.

With scheduled polesiter Scotty Haus forced to the rear of the 20-car field for the start after switching to a different car, Travis Dillman slid to the pole and jumped into the lead at the start of the 20-lap main event for the late models. Dillman was slowed with three down for a spin by Tim Gray on the front stretch, putting Eric Kauffman on his tail for the restart. All eyes were on Haus on the restart however as he blasted through the pack to be scored in fifth on just the fifth circuit. Haus got a clear shot at the front of the field a lap later when a yellow bunched the field and he took advantage of his chances by moving into third the next lap before the pace was slowed once more.

Haus went back to work when action resumed and moved into second and then took over the lead at the halfway point with a low side move in turn number two. Once in front, the Hamburg driver cruised to his 34th career speedway win over Mike Atherton, Steve Campbell, Dillman, Kauffman, Tony Adams, Scott Flickinger, Tim Wilson, Dave Kepner and Rusty Failor.

After winning from the rear, Haus noted, "We're winning but they are not coming easy this year, I'll tell you!" Wilson and Haus won late model heats.

Stu Miller led the first five laps of the 12-lap pro stock feature before Peanut Heintzelman snap-rolled his 99H in the second corner, bringing out the red. Luckily, the Troxelville driver escaped injury.

Ninth starter Todd Snook took over the lead from Miller on the seventh circuit and then drove to his fourth career speedway win over Matt Parks, Jim Palm, Jason Schmidt and Donnie Hughes.

Gary Beward and Matt Parks took heats for the pro stocks.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Tim Gray