Port Royal race notes 2004-07-24

Port Royal, PA -- Gary Beward of Mifflintown, PA won the 15 lap Stong's Auto Parts Pro Stock feature Saturday night July 24 at the Port Royal, PA Speedway. Beward started ninth and chased Todd Snook's Ramsey's Car Wash/AB Auto Glass no. 24 the...

Port Royal, PA -- Gary Beward of Mifflintown, PA won the 15 lap Stong's Auto Parts Pro Stock feature Saturday night July 24 at the Port Royal, PA Speedway. Beward started ninth and chased Todd Snook's Ramsey's Car Wash/AB Auto Glass no. 24 the first six laps. The pair dueled side by side for several laps before Beward was able to put his Pyle's/Miller Engines no. 19 out front for good. Snook stayed close but was not able to catch the rapid running Beward who notched his fourth win of the season at the Juniata County oval. It was Beward's second straight victory and he commented following the event, " like I said last week, there's moisture in the track. We put on a good show like this and I wish we would run first more often. We don't have as wide of tires as the other guys. The track was real nice tonight. ", Beward added. John Heane finished third driving the Jake's Carts/Royer's Demolition no. 17. Newcomer Meade Hahn was fourth with Jason Davis fifth. Completing the top ten were Bill Powell, Jim Palm, Gary Shoop, Harry Peffer and Glenn Miller. The race was red flagged on the initial start when Scott Spahr and Harold Ranck Jr. crashed hard into the outside concrete wall on the front stretch. Both drivers were ok. Spahr's car was towed to the pit area with two wreckers. A second caution came on lap six when Kevin Imes spun on top of turns three and four. Twenty two cars were in the pit area. Beward and Powell won heat races.

The Doorways Unlimited/KARS 358 Sprint Cars brought eighteen racers to the speedway and Billy Dietrich of Hanover, PA dominated the event to record the win. Dietrich started twelfth and chased early race leader Rick Horn for the first eight laps. Horn started on the pole. Dietrich commented after the race, " we like coming to Port Royal Speedway. The track here was great tonight. The last time we were here, it was smooth but kinda one groove. Tonight you could move around and race on the top or bottom. The track crew did a great job." Justin Zimmerman put on a driving clinic after spinning out with six laps scored. Zimmerman was running second at the time. After restarting on the rear, Zimmerman came back through the pack to finish second. Scott Lutz was third with Rusty Pressley fourth. Keith Prutzman filled out the top five. Sixth through tenth were Dale Hammaker, Brian Eichelberger, Dan Richcreek, Kevin Nagy, and Jim Gearhart. Heat races were won by Nagy and Zimmerman. The race was under caution on lap three when Dan Dietrich lost a wheel in turn four. At lap six Mike Ressler and Lloyd Ettinger spun exiting turn two. Ressler restarted the event while Ettinger went to the pit area. Action resumed after Zimmerman's spin. The final yellow was on lap twenty four when Kevin Nagy spun in turn four.

The PA 305 Sprint Car feature was won by Joey Hershey of Chambersburg, PA. Hershey thanked 410 Sprint Car racer Mike Wagner, Hershey Engines and other sponsors after winning the event. A tough thirty eight car field signed in for action. Chris Meleasen was second with Scott Ellerman third. Rob Mellott and Roger Irvine followed. Also in the top ten were Wes Zimmerman, Dusty Shatzer, Bob Gutshall, Todd Spangler, and Nate Gramley. Heats were won by Ellerman, Mellott, Meleasen and Zimmerman. Scott Smith won the consie. Meleasen led the first five laps before giving way to Hershey. The race was red flagged on the initial start when Zack Martini flipped hard on the front straight stretch. Greg Hammaker was also involved in the accident. Both drivers were ok.

The Parson's Auto Salvage/Casner Service Center 4 Cyl. Stock Car feature was won by Jerry Bard of Shippensburg, PA. It was Bard's first ever win at Port Royal. Bard commented the car was old but it still runs well. Randy Wible was second with Tim Burkholder third. Jerry Schott and Joe Jacubic were fourth and fifth. Sixth through tenth were Ricky Harper, Leroy Long, Vance Kennedy, Steve Haines and Jeremy Ott. Three heat races were run for the twenty five car field. Burholder, Wible and Bard were winners.

The 10 lap Zimmerman's Truck Lines Ladies Powder Puff event was full of action. Teresa Kepner won the event after taking the lead on lap four. Heidi Kauffman chased Kepner to the checkered flag but could not complete a pass for the win. Jen Powell was third with Nikki Dalton fourth. Amanda Dalton finished fifth. Sixth through tenth were Crystal Naugle, Carmen Palm, Tammy Wilson, Holly Renninger and Cathy Flickinger. Renninger led the first three laps before a skirmish involving several cars left Renninger and Powell's racers setting on top of the inside turn four guardrail. Renninger was out for the night with Powell restarting at the rear of the field.

Up next at Port Royal on Wednesday night July 28 is the 2nd annual Bob Weikert Memorial for Sprint Cars. The 30 lap feature pays $ 5,000 dollars to the winner plus lap money. The Pro Stocks are also on the schedule. Schwan's Sales, sponsor of Nextel Cup racer Kenny Schrader, will have Schrader's show car on display. They will give away free ice cream treats and autographed Kenny Schrader merchandise. Yuengling Brewing Company and One Stop Communications will also have giveaways for the fans. Gates open at 5:00 P.M. with Time Trials at 7. The rain date is Thursday July 29.

Coming Saturday night July 31 is a four division show of Sprint Cars, Late Models, Pro Stocks and 4 Cyl. Stock Cars.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Scott Smith