Port Royal race notes 2003-04-26

Mark Coldren, Travis Dillman 1st time winners @ Port Royal Speedway. Beward 1st repeat winner of year in Pro Stocks. Port Royal, PA Chaulk one up for the little guys Saturday night April 26 at Port Royal Speedway. Mark Coldren and Travis Dillman...

Mark Coldren, Travis Dillman 1st time winners @ Port Royal Speedway.
Beward 1st repeat winner of year in Pro Stocks.

Port Royal, PA Chaulk one up for the little guys Saturday night April 26 at Port Royal Speedway. Mark Coldren and Travis Dillman scored their first career wins at the Juniata County oval. Gary BeWard became the years first repeat winner in Pro Stock action.

Coldren, of Mechanicsburg, PA, won the Aumiller & Associate Sprint Car feature in impressive fashion. Starting from the outside pole, Coldren immediately put his White Oaks Ice no. I07 in the lead and never looked back. Numerous yellow flags and a lap 24 fuel stop helped make the youngster nervous but Coldren held himself in check to record the win. Coldren told PR Director Craig Rutherford in Victory Lane " I wanted this one over." Coldren was referring to a lap 23 restart when he jumped the start forcing Flag Man Pat Snyder to throw the yellow for a false start. Coldren also said, " I can't believe this. This motor wouldn't even run this morning. A bunch of guys, including Brook Weibley's gang, came over this morning and helped out. We changed a magneto and other things and here we are."

Kyle Ganoe of Mifflintown, PA started on the pole in the Iron City Beer No.0 and was out gunned by Coldren on the start. Ganoe would stay in top five early while Coldren drove off from the field. The first caution came with two laps complete when Dan Bolger of Lewistown stopped in turn three. At the same time Rod Stroup rolled to a halt in turn four. Both went to the pit area on wreckers. Randy Baughman also parked his no. 3B in the pit area. Coldren re opened his lead only to have the race slowed two laps later for Kevin Sheaffer of Kittanning, PA who stopped in turn four. Sheaffer was also done for the night. Jay Reichard of Hagerstown, MD joined Sheaffer in the pit area. Upon restarting Coldren opened a comfortable lead over Rick Lafferty. Lafferty reeled in Coldren in lapped traffic by lap ten and was with in striking distance when yet another yellow slowed the race with fourteen laps complete. Tim Wilson of Thompsontown stopped the 17 on the front stretch and was out for the night. The race continued with Lafferty again challenging Coldren for the lead in lapped traffic. Lafferty appeared to make the race winning move on the back stretch during lap 23. Lafferty got by Coldren exiting turn two when the caution lights came on for Mark Smith of Newville. Smith's Keen Fabrication no. 53 suffered a flat left rear tire and was towed to the pit area. While under yellow Brian Bossinger also went to the pits in his no. 35. Coldren was back in front because the field had not come back to the start/finish line to be scored for the next lap.Coldren's jump on the restart relined the field. The yellow came out one lap later for Millerstown's Todd Shaffer who was running in the top five. Shaffer stopped on the back stretch. It was the second week in a row mechanical problems stopped Shaffer from a good feature finish.Upon restarting Coldren went on to the win with Lafferty second. Len Thompson was third with Mike Erdley fourth. Keith Kauffman completed the top five. Sixth through tenth were Todd Hestor, Dustin Hoffman, Mike Wagner, Adrian Shaffer and Kyle Ganoe. Heats for the 23 car field were won by Thompson, Lafferty and Todd Shaffer.

Travis Dillman of Loysville, PA drove the Westhafer Construction no. 22 D to his first ever win in AB Auto Glass/Ramsey's Car Wash Late Model action. Dave Kepner of Mifflintown, PA led the first lap in his DK Autosports no.12K. Dillman took over on lap two and led the rest of the way. Dillman dominated the event despite the fact that five multiple feature winners finished behind him. Scotty Haus of Hamburg, PA finished second with Jim Yoder third. Steve Campbell and Mike Hess were also in the top five. Sixth through tenth were Wayne Walls, Harold Ranck, Eric Kauffman, Nick Dickson and Jeff Bryner.

Dillman said in Victory Lane, " This is the way I always hoped it would be." Dillman was talking about winning with the top cars in the race behind him.

Jere Wierman, Yoder and Haus won qualifiers. There were 23 cars.

The best battle on the track was between Jim Yoder and Steve Campbell. The pair raced each other hard much of the race with Campbell getting close but not able to make the pass. Youngsters Jesse & Blake Ramsey represented AB Auto Glass & Ramsey's Car Wash in the Winners Circle.

The 15 lap Stong's Auto Parts Pro Stock Feature was won by Gary BeWard. Bill Powell finished second with Red Cauffman third. Glenn Miller and Harry Peffer followed. Rounding out the top ten were A.J. Stroup, Todd Snook, Brad Trump, Neil Foust and Steve Stitt. Heats were won by BeWard and Powell. There were 20 cars.

Powell led the first five laps before giving way to BeWard. The pair raced each other hard and clean with BeWard holding about a one car length advantage most of the way.

Port Royal Speedway returns to action Saturday night May 3 with a program of Aumiller & Associate Sprint Cars, AB Auto Glass/Ramsey's Car Wash Late Models, Stong's Auto Parts Pro Stocks and Ladies Powder Puff Racing. gates open at 5 P.M. with racing at 7.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car