Patriots vs SOD Ohsweken results 2008-07-05

Bryan Howland Wins Inaugural ASCS Northern Summer Nationals Finale at Ohsweken OHSWEKEN, Ontario, (July 5, 2008)- Bryan Howland had hit a self-proclaimed dry spell, going winless for nearly two years; but he returned to glory on Saturday at the...

Bryan Howland Wins Inaugural ASCS Northern Summer Nationals Finale at Ohsweken

OHSWEKEN, Ontario, (July 5, 2008)- Bryan Howland had hit a self-proclaimed dry spell, going winless for nearly two years; but he returned to glory on Saturday at the site of his last win nearly two years ago.

Howland, of Auburn, NY, slid underneath on Darren Long on lap 14 and would set a torrid pace in lap traffic, dominating the second-half of the 30-lap, $3,000-to-win event to claim his first win of the year.

"This is awesome right now, I can't even describe it," exclaimed Howland after climbing down from his first ever "wing dance" a top the Filtrec Corporation No. 51. "We haven't won in a while, but I have always loved this track and knew we were good."

What made the win even more impressive was that Howland failed to qualify on the opening night of the Engine Pro ASCS Northern Summer Nationals, the first race he has been a DNQ in years. A day in the sunshine working on the car and preparing for the Saturday finale got him re-psyched.

"The guys were telling me that I had to get up on the wheel and prove to everyone what we are capable of," said the elated 21-year-old.J"I was on a mission tonight."

Howland captured the rare ASCS sweep, winning his heat, which still sent him to the "Four Laps of Fame". After dominating that race too, he started eighth in the feature and instantly charged to the front of the pack.

On the first lap he went from eighth to fourth, two laps later he was in second, and over the next 10 laps he slowly closed in on Darren Long and waited for him to slip up.

"I caught (Long) in traffic and then on (lap 14), he started to slide up in one and I knew I had him."

The pass for the lead was a carbon-copy of the pass he made on Chuck Hebing two years ago to capture his 6th career ASCS Patriot Win. Nearly two years later, this win was even sweeter.

After assuming the lead, Howland put seven lapped cars in between himself and second-place Darren Long. When the race's first stoppage came on lap 22 for a hard Ryan Grubaugh flip, Howland had clean racetrack and a seven-car buffer.

"I didn't know how big the lead was until that red flag when I heard them read down the order for the restart and there were so many lapped cars."

In terms of money won, only his win in the ASCS SOD Full Throttle Nationals in 2005 topped his earnings on Saturday Night at the Ohsweken Speedway.

Howland also turned the quick lap of the night, running a 13.40 second lap around the 3/8-mile in his heat race.

After losing the lead to Howland, Darren Long from Elida, OH had to fend of challengers for the runner-up spot. After the red flag, he began picking off the lapped cars and could see Howland but ran out of laps.

Behind Long was Scott Kreutter, who finished in third for the second-straight night. Opening Night Winner Dustin Daggett was fourth with Canadian Kevin Job completing the top-five.

Mike Stelter completed a solid weekend in sixth, ahead of polesitter Brett Mann and Ben Rutan, the final cars on the lead lap. Tim Norman and Keith Dempster completed the top-10.

A total of 37 cars checked into the pit area for the second night of this inaugural event. Among the incidents on the night was a crash between Blake Breen and Fred Cade in the heat race, sending Cade's No. 12c flipping end-over-end. Bobby Breen, while running the Total Seal/ Gaerte Motors Dash for Cash, had a mechanical failure and crashed into the wall, ending his night. Ryan Hunsinger was also running strong in his heat when he broke his engine.

On a more positive note, Bubba Broderick scored his first career heat win spectacular finish by starting dead last. Howland, Long and Mann would also collect heat wins.

For more information, visit

ASCS Patriots Results: 7/5/08, Ohsweken Speedway, Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada.

A-Main (25 Laps)- 1. Bryan Howland (51), 2. Darren Long (7), 3. Scott Kreutter (52), 4. Dustin Daggett (2m), 5. Kevin Job (21x), 6. Mike Stelter (36), 7. Brett Mann (79), 8. Ben Rutan (23), 9. Tim Norman (3G), 10. Keith Dempster (5x), 11. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 12. Jared Fink (21F), 13. Glenn Styres (0), 14. Joe Bares (19), 15. Bubba Broderick (5), 16. Tom Huppunen (27H), 17. Dave Dykstra (5d), 18. Brad Malloy (5m), 19. Ryan Grubaugh (00), 20. Kyle Patrick (33k), 21. Dain Naida (6N), 22. Jared Zimbardi (35), 23. John Burbridge (21J), 24. Bobby Breen (9).

Lap Leaders- Mann 1-2, Long 3-13, Howland 14-30.

DNQ: Howard Singer (26), Joel Lehman (4z), Doug Bowman (57), Daniel Lampron (52L), Rob Pietz (69), Kyle Moffit (7x), Ryan Hunsinger (77x), Mikey Kruchka (01), John Burbridge Jr. (31), Louie Carufel (47x), James Evans (90), Blake Breen (8), Fred Cade (12c).

B-Mains (8 Laps Each, Top-3 Transfer)-

Race 1- 1. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 2. Dave Dykstra (5d), 3. John Burbridge (21J), 4. Howard Singer (26), 5. Joel Lehman (4z), 6. Doug Bowman (57), 7. Daniel Lampron (52L). DNS: Rob Pietz (69), Kyle Moffit (7x), Ryan Hunsinger (77x).

Race 2- 1. Glenn Styres (0), 2. Ben Rutan (23), 3. Jared Fink (21F), 4. Mikey Kruchka (01), 5. John Burbridge Jr. (31), 6. Louie Carufel (47x), 7. James Evans (90), DNS:

Blake Breen (8), Fred Cade (12c).

Four Laps of Fame Dash (4 Laps)- 1. Bryan Howland (51), 2. Kyle Patrick (33k), 3. Ryan Grubaugh (00), 4. Dain Naida (6N), 5. Tim Norman (3G), 6. Kyle Patrick (5x).

Total Seal/ Gaerte Engines Dash for Cash (4 Laps)- 1. Dustin Daggett (2M), 2. Mike Stelter (36), 3. Bobby Breen (9), Scott Kreutter (52).

National Parts Peddler Heats (8 Laps Each)-

Race 1: 1. Brett Mann (79), 2. Kyle Patrick (33k), 3. Kevin Job (21x), 4. Ryan Grubaugh (00), 5. Mikey Kruchka (01), 6. Joel Lehman (4z), 7. John Burbridge (21J), 8. Doug Bowman (57), 9. Ryan Hunsinger (77x).

Race 2: 1. Bubba Broderick (5), 2. Jared Zimbardi (35), 3. Joe Bares (19), 4. Dave Dykstra (5d), 5. Howard Singer (26), 6. Ben Rutan (23), 7. Blake Breen (8), 8. Fred Cade (12c).

Race 3: 1. Bryan Howland (51), 2. Dain Naida (6N), 3. Tom Huppunen (27H), 4. Brad Malloy (5m), 5. Glenn Styres (0), 6. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 7. Daniel Lampron (52L), 8. Kyle Moffit (7x).

Race 4: 1. Darren Long (7), 2. Keith Dempster (5x), 3. Mike Stelter (36), 4. Rob Pietz (69), 5. John Burbridge Jr. (31), 6. Louie Carufel (47x), 7. Jared Fink (21F), 8. James Evans (90).

ASCS Patriot Points (Top Ten): 1. Bryan Howland 1,196, 2. Jared Zimbardi 1,176, 3. Chris Muhleisen 1,118, 4. Bubba Broderick 1,079, 5. Don Adamczyk 998, 6. Bobby Breen 904, 7. Kyle Moffit 890, 8. Scott Kreutter 883, 9. Blake Breen 860, 10. Chuck Hebing 806.

ASCS Sprints on Dirt Points (Top Ten): 1. Brett Mann 1,200, 2. Ben Rutan 1,176, 3. Dain Naida 1,138, 4. Tim Norman 1,092, 5. Ryan Grubaugh 1,061, 6. Joe Bares 999, 7. Gregg Dalman 940, 8. Dustin Daggett 928, 9. Gary Fast 879, 10. Darren Long 762.

-credit: ascs

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint