Patriots vs SOD Ohsweken results 2008-07-04

Dustin Daggett Dominates Opening Night of ASCS Northern Summer Nationals at Ohsweken OHSWEKEN, Ont. (July 4, 2008)- Dustin Daggett was one of the strongest cars all night long at Ohsweken, but he needed a big chunk of luck early in the feature...

Dustin Daggett Dominates Opening Night of ASCS Northern Summer Nationals at Ohsweken

OHSWEKEN, Ont. (July 4, 2008)- Dustin Daggett was one of the strongest cars all night long at Ohsweken, but he needed a big chunk of luck early in the feature to open up the door to his fifth career win at his favorite racetrack.

Daggett was the beneficiary of a lap seven crash, which took out the top three runners and opened up the track to one of Ohsweken's Most Dominant Cars. The Portland, MI driver, who had captured the last four ASCS Sprints on Dirt Features at Ohsweken, pulled away over the final 18 laps through expert maneuvers for the win.

"I just love this race track," said the driver of the Mott Motorsports No. 2M in Victory Lane. "Those three guys getting caught up in that wreck made it a lot easier for us."

Daggett started in sixth by virtue of the Color Loco Redraw, and was up to fourth on lap seven when leader Fred Cade collided with the lapped car of Ben Rutan, throwing his No. 12c sideways and blocking the track for Gary Fast and Blake Breen, who were second and third at the time. It would send them all to the back and on the restart Daggett was the leader.

One lap later the yellow flag would again fly for a major wreck in turn three. From that point on the race would run caution free, and would see "Double D" work the traffic to perfection for the win.

With the win, Daggett locked himself into the Saturday Night 30-lap A-Main, along with the rest of the top-four.

Mike Stelter would run second behind Daggett for the final 18 laps, closing the gap to within three car lengths half way through the event.JDaggett would make a three-wide pass under lapped cars on lap 15 though and would check out from that point.

Stelter's second place run locked him in, along with Scott Kreutter who pulled even with Stelter on two occasions and would hang on for third.

Bobby Breen, who won the second B-Main, rocketed up from his 20th place starting position to finish in fourth, also assuring him a spot in the first four rows of Saturday's A-main.

Ryan Grubaugh was stealth-like moving through the pack, running up from 18th to round out the top-five.

Keith Dempster won the Four Laps of Fame Dash and would end up sixth, ahead of Dave Dykstra, who scored a career-best in seventh. Jared Zimbardi came from the B-Mains to finish in 8th.

Kyle Patrick was strong early on but had nose wing problems and would fade to ninth, holding off Brett Mann, who won the first B-Main.

A total of 45 cars checked into the pits for the first of two nights of this great event. An even mix of Patriots, SOD and locals pleased a healthy crowd on a picture-perfect night for racing.

Among some of the favorites to watch the feature from the pits were ASCS Patriot Point Leader Bryan Howland, defending ASCS SOD Champion Tim Norman, ASCS Patriot frontrunner Don Adamczyk and defending Humberstone Speedway Champion Rob Pietz.

ASCS Northern Summer Nationals Results: 7/4/08, Ohsweken Speedway, Ohsweken,Ontario, Canada.

A-Main (25 Laps)- 1. Dustin Daggett (2m), 2. Mike Stelter (36), 3. Scott Kreutter (52), 4. Bobby Breen (9), 5. Ryan Grubaugh (00), 6. Keith Dempster (5x), 7. Dave Dykstra (5d), 8. Jared Zimbardi (35), 9. Kyle Patrick (33k), 10. Brett Mann (79), 11. Kevin Job (21x), 12. Jared Fink (21F), 13. Glenn Styres (0), 14. Dain Naida (6N), 15. Fred Cade (12c), 16. Bubba Broderick (5), 17. Ben Rutan (23), 18. Kyle Moffit (7x), 19. Ryan Hunsinger (77x), 20. Darren Long (7), 21. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 22. Blake Breen (8), 23. Gary Fast (26), 24. Joe Bares (19).

Lap Leaders- Fast 1-4, Cade 5-7, Daggett 8-25.

Did Not Qualify: Bryan Howland (51), Tom Huppunen (27H), Mikey Kruchka (01), John Burbridge Jr. (31), Stan Zanchin (94), James Evans (90), Tim Norman (3G), Derek Jonathan (81), Rob Ledingham (19JR), John Burbridge Sr. (21J), Howard Singer (26). Brad Malloy (5M), Louie Carufel (47x), Jim Price (7p), Daniel Lampron (52L), Doug Bowman (57), Joel Lehman (4z), Don Adamczyk (21), Rob Pietz (69), James Whittaker (83w), Gregg Dalman (49T).

B-Mains (10 Laps Each, Top-3 Transfer)-

Race 1: 1. Kevin Job (21x), 2. Brett Mann (79), 3. Dain Naida (6N), 4. Bryan Howland (51), 5. Tom Huppunen (27H), 6. Mikey Kruchka (01), 7. John Burbridge Jr. (31), 8. Stan Zanchin (94), 9. James Evans (90), DNS: Tim Norman (3G), DNS: Derek Jonathan (81), DNS: Rob Ledingham (19JR), DNS: John Burbridge Sr. (21J), DNS: Howard Singer (26).

Race 2: 1. Bobby Breen (9), 2. Jared Zimbardi (35), 3. Glenn Styres (0), 4. Brad Malloy (5M), 5. Louie Carufel (47x), 6. Jim Price (7p), 7. Daniel Lampron (52L), 8. Doug Bowman (57), 9. Joel Lehman (4z), 10. Don Adamczyk (21), 11. Rob Pietz (69), DNS: James Whittaker (83w), DNS: Gregg Dalman (49T).

Four Laps of Fame Dash (4 Laps)- 1. Keith Dempster (5x), 2. Jared Fink (21F), 3. Joe Bares (19), 4. Scott Kreutter (52), 5. Bubba Broderick (5), 6. Dave Dykstra (5d).

National Parts Peddler Heats (8 Laps Each)-

Race 1: 1. Fred Cade (12c), 2. Scott Kreutter (52), 3. Darren Long (7), 4. Bubba Broderick (5), 5. Tom Huppunen (27H), 6. Joel Lehman (4z), 7. Jim Price (7p), 8. Howard Singer (26), 9. John Burbridge Sr. (21J).

Race 2: 1. Mike Stelter (36), 2. Gary Fast (26x), 3. Ben Rutan (23), 4. Kyle Moffit (7x), 5. Glenn Styres (0), 6. Derek Jonathan (81), 7. Rob Ledingham (19jr), 8. James Whittaker (83w), 9. Brad Malloy (5m).

Race 3: 1. Dustin Daggett (2m), 2. Blake Breen (8), 3. Dave Dykstra (5d), 4. Keith Dempster (5x), 5. Don Adamczyk (21), 6. Dain Naida (6N), 7. Louie Carufel (47x), 8. Stan Zanchin (94), 9. Mikey Kruchka (01).

Race 4: 1. Ryan Hunsinger (77x), 2. Joe Bares (19), 3. Jared Fink (21F), 4. Ryan Grubaugh (00), 5. Rob Pietz (69), 6. Mike Stelter (36), 7. John Burbridge Jr. (31), 8. Doug Bowman (57), 9. Gregg Dalman (49T).

Race 5: 1. Kyle Patrick (33k), 2. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 3. Brett Mann (79), 4. Kevin Job (21x), 5. Bobby Breen (9), 6. Jared Zimbardi (35), 7. Bryan Howland (51), 8. Daniel Lampron (52L), 9. James Evans (90).

ASCS Patriot Points (Top Ten): 1. Bryan Howland 1,046, 2. Jared Zimbardi 1,040, 3. Don Adamczyk 998, 4. Chris Muhleisen 976, 5. Bubba Broderick 941, 6. Chuck Hebing 806, 7. Bobby Breen 770, 8. Kyle Moffit 764, 9. Scott Kreutter 737, 10. Blake Breen 732.

ASCS Sprints on Dirt Points (Top Ten): 1. Brett Mann 1,064, 2. Ben Rutan 1,042, 3. Dain Naida 1,030, 4. Tim Norman 960, 5. Ryan Grubaugh 949, 6. Gregg Dalman 940, 7. Gary Fast 879, 8. Joe Bares 877, 9. Dustin Daggett 786, 10. Aaron Shaffer 722.

-credit: ascs

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint