Patriots Stateline results 2007-06-16

Hebing Wins at Stateline for Third ASCS Patriot Sweep of Season BUSTI, NY, (June 16, 2007)- Chuck Hebing captured his fifth ASCS win of the season on Saturday Night at Stateline Speedway, and while he swept his three events of the night, ...

Hebing Wins at Stateline for Third ASCS Patriot Sweep of Season

BUSTI, NY, (June 16, 2007)- Chuck Hebing captured his fifth ASCS win of the season on Saturday Night at Stateline Speedway, and while he swept his three events of the night, "Cobra" definitely did not pick up his 21st Career ASCS Patriot win with ease.

The Ontario, NY driver held off a late race charge from local favorite Jared Zimbardi to pick up his first ever win at Stateline, a track where he had spun out at the last two years.

"Spinning out here the last two times was a bad deal but the car was a lot better tonight," said Hebing in Victory Lane. "I saw Jared (Zimbardi) peak underneath with about six or seven laps to go and showed me the line so I went down there, that definitely helped."

Not only did the defending ASCS Patriot Point Champion have to overcome Zimbardi and the rest of the star-studded field of sprinters, he also had to battle some mechanical problems early in the night.

During hot laps, the primary snake-skinned No. 45 had a motor problem, forcing Hebing to his backup Maxim Chassis. That car proved to be a worthy substitute, as he was mellifluent the entire night, including on all restarts.

Hebing captured National Parts Peddler Heat 1 in dominating fashion, running lap times in excess of 80 miles per hour on average the paperclip-shaped 1/3-mile Stateline Speedway.

After drawing the outside pole for the Bonnell?s Collision Center Pole Dash, the current ASCS Patriot Point Leader pulled out front of that 4-lap event to win and set himself on the Engler Machine and Tool Pole for the 25-lap feature.

Scott Bonnell was the early front-runner to challenge Hebing but spun his No. 3B on the second lap. He did a 360 and continued on and no caution was needed, handing second over to Don Adamczyk.

Gary Troutman, who also ran an E-mod on the night, then moved his Ron's Smoke Shoppe No. 44 into second on lap 4 and was solid in that position until just after a lap 9 restart when his rear end broke, ending his night.

As Troutman was slowing, Jared Zimbardi made a three-wide pass underneath Adamczyk and Troutman to take away the runner-up spot; unlike the prior three drivers to hold that spot, Zimbardi began to reel in Hebing.

After the night's only red flag for Geoff Quackenbush turning over after contact with Chris Shuttleworth, Zimbardi stayed close on Hebing using the bottom of the speedway, basically running the infield.

The Little Valley, NY resident then began to peek his nose underneath Hebing and was starting to taste his first ASCS Patriot Win. On lap 20 he led the lap at the start/finish line and was a lap away from taking over the top spot. But by putting the nose of his No. 35 underneath Hebing, he showed the leader the new fast way around the track.

"Cobra" quickly moved from the extreme top of the speedway down to the inside and began to once again strengthen his advantage. After a final restart on lap 21, Hebing would cruise to the victory.

"I was starting to plan what I was going to do if I won, how I would climb the fence or do something crazy," said Zimbardi after his third career runner-up finish. "I definitely showed Chuck the fast line and I needed to pass him before he figured it out and I didn?t."

Scott Bonnell slipped as far back as eighth in his neon No. 3B but charged hard back up to finish in the tire tracks of Zimbardi in third. Brad Knab was also strong in his first ASCS start of 2007, recording his second-straight top-5 at Stateline with a fourth place showing. Don Adamczyk won heat three and ended up fifth for his fifth career Top-5 with ASCS.

Rob Pietz picked up the KSE Hard Charger Award, moving up 11 positions to finish in sixth in his first ASCS start of 2007. Chris Muhleisen, Chris Shuttleworth, Dave Wickham and Ray Preston completed the top-10.

In all 20 cars were on hand for the only sprint car event of the year at Stateline Speedway. Packed grandstands the length of both the front stretch and backstretch were treated to some of the finest racing of the season.

Surprisingly, the sixth ASCS Patriot full point race of the season produced a field comprised of 10 competitors that were running their first race on tour in 2007. Not included in this group was Scott Kreutter, who picked up his first career National Parts Peddler Heat Win in the second eight-lap event.

ASCS Patriots Results: 6/16/07, Stateline Speedway, Busti, NY

A-Main (25 Laps)- 1. Chuck Hebing (45), 2. Jared Zimbardi (35), 3. Scott Bonnell (3B), 4. Brad Knab (38), 5. Don Adamczyk (21), 6. Rob Pietz (69), 7. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 8. Chris Shuttleworth (11), 9. Dave Wickham (80), 10. Ray Preston (22), 11. James Whittaker (83w), 12. Tim Zack (9jr), 13. John Schuyler (3T), 14. Scott Kreutter (52), 15. Geoff Quackenbush (25), 16. Derek Jonathan (81), 17. Eileen Smith (57), 18. Gary Troutman (44), 19. Jeremy Barnard (86), 20. Jay Pietz (71jr).

Lap Leaders- Hebing 1-19, Zimbardi 20, Hebing 21-25.

Bonnell's Collision Center Pole Dash (4 Laps)- 1. Chuck Hebing (45), 2. Scott Bonnell (3B), 3. Scott Kreutter (52), 4. Jared Zimbardi (35), 5. Gary Troutman (44), 6. Don Adamczyk (21).

National Parts Peddler Heats (8 Laps Each)

Race 1: 1. Chuck Hebing (45), 2. Ray Preston (22), 3. Gary Troutman (44), 4. James Whittaker (83w), 5. Tim Zack (9jr), 6. Derek Jonathan (81), 7. Jay Pietz (71jr).

Race 2: 1. Scott Kreutter (52), 2. Scott Bonnell (3B), 3. Brad Knab (38), 4. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 5. Chris Shuttleworth (11), 6. Rob Pietz (69), 7. Jeremy Barnard (86).

Race 3: 1. Don Adamczyk (21), 2. Jared Zimbardi (35), 3. Geoff Quackenbush (25), 4. John Schuyler (3T), 5. Dave Wickham (80), 6. Eileen Smith (57)

ASCS Patriot Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Chuck Hebing 869, 2. Jared Zimbardi 839, 3. Geoff Quackenbush 793, 4. Ray Preston 785, 5. Don Adamczyk 771, 6. Bryan Howland 715, 7. Jeff Cook 683, 8. Justin Barger 679, 9. Chris Muhleisen 615, 10. Dave Wickham 581.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Justin Barger