Patriots Sharon results 2008-09-20

Bobby Breen Wins Wild ASCS Patriot Feature at Sharon HARTFORD, Ohio (September 20, 2008)- There were a number of issues through the feature, but it was all taking place behind Bobby Breen, who was keeping it smooth and steady out in...

Bobby Breen Wins Wild ASCS Patriot Feature at Sharon

HARTFORD, Ohio (September 20, 2008)- There were a number of issues through the feature, but it was all taking place behind Bobby Breen, who was keeping it smooth and steady out in front.

The younger of the Breen Brothers from Savannah, NY scored his fourth career ASCS Patriot win in dominating fashion, rim-riding around the fast 3/8-mile to score the win on the first night of the Apple Festival Nationals.

Before getting to Victory Lane, Breen and the rest of the stout field had to survive four red flags in the first five laps. For the remaining 15 laps, no one was even close to Pearl Technologies No. 9.

"There were some holes in the middle of the track but up top it was really fast," said the elated 19-year-old in Victory Lane. "I was actually taking it easy for a while because we had a soft tire and were afraid we might buzz it off early."

Breen drew the outside pole after scoring a second place finish in his heat race and quickly jumped out in front from pole sitter Kyle Moffit.JHe would run the top of the track on each restart that was required after early red flags.

After a lap four flip that saw John Schuyler plow through the turn one fence, the crews were allowed to make adjustments to the cars under an open red flag. At that point, Breen's crew made a slight air-pressure adjustment, just the trick the teenager needed to pick up the win.

"I just love coming out to this track, it's great to run out," noted Breen upon reflecting on his long drive.

The win was the second in a row under ASCS sanctioning for the Breen Brothers, with Bobby's older brother Blake scoring the win last month at Stateline Speedway. Bobby has retaken the lead in the sibling rivalry 4-3.

Scott Bonnell used his four bonus laps in the dash to fly through the pack in his Bonnell's Collision No. 3B. The Fairview, PA veteran started in 11th but was in third place by lap five. As the final 15 laps ran green, Bonnell was strong enough for second but not in the same zip code as Breen.

Bonnell did lock himself into Sunday Night's Finale, along with Kyle Moffit who held steady for a third place finishing, equaling his best run of the year. Justin Barger, who won the dash, would snag fourth place at the line but would be placed last for a red flag rules violation. That would hand the fourth and final automatic transfer for Sunday's race to Josh Weller.

Perhaps the story of the feature was Trevor Lewis, who flipped while running second on lap three and flew back through the pack with a damaged top-wing to score a fifth place finish.

Scott Kreutter would place in sixth after starting well back in the pack. Blake Breen would produce a solid run in seventh with Jared Zimbardi eighth. Gary Kriess and Danny Holtgraver, who both ran 360s for the first time would complete the top-10.

Current ASCS Patriot point leader Bryan Howland, who tagged the wall on lap four, would finish one lap down in 13th.

It was an odd night for the 33 cars on hand from the beginning of the racing program. Dustin Daggett, who was fastest in hot laps, smacked the turn three wall hard and flipped his No. 2M. He would bring the back-up car out but damage that as well in the massive accident in turn one on lap four.

In the same accident in turn one, Judi Bates and Dave Dykstra would also be collected. Dykstra's car would be destroyed while Bates was damaged herself and required further medical attention.

Ron Blair, who won heat two, broke a torsion arm as he was picking up the win and would destroy his No. 35R, scratching himself from feature.JChris Muhleisen also had problems while in front when he flipped his No. 10M out in front during heat one.

Australian Steven Lines, who was running in second in the feature, cart wheeled his No. 23 in turn two on the second lap of the race, forcing him out for the night.

For more information, visit or Patriots Results: 9/20/08, Sharon Speedway, Hartford, Ohio.

A-Main (20 Laps)- 1. Bobby Breen (9), 2. Scott Bonnell (3B), 3. Kyle Moffit (7), 4. Josh Weller (63), 5. Trevor Lewis (21), 6. Scott Kreutter (52), 7. Blake Breen (8), 8. Jared Zimbardi (35), 9. Danny Holtgraver (D4), 10. Gary Kriess (5B), 11. Jared Fink (21F), 12. Chris Shuttleworth (11), 13. Bryan Howland (51), 14. Derek Jonathan (81), 15. Chad Gullett (61), 16. Tim Hogue (39), 17. Gary Edwards (94), 18. Dustin Daggett (2M), 19. Judi Bates (121), 20. Dave Dykstra (5D), 21. John Schuyler (3T), 22. Steven Lines (23), 23. Justin Barger (32), 24. Ron Blair (35R).

Lap Leaders- Breen 1-20.

B-Main (12 Laps, Top-6 Transfer)- 1. Dustin Daggett (2M), 2. Chris Shuttleworth (11), 3. Gary Edwards (94), 4. Dave Dykstra (5D), 5. John Schuyler (3T), 6. Tim Hogue (39), 7. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 8. Shawn Hubler (67), 9. Gary Troutman (44), 10. Tom Huppunen (19T), 11. Doug Bowman (57x), 12. James Evans (90), 13. Joe August Jr. (47), 14. Robert VanTassel (69x), 15. T.J. Newton (57).

Four Laps of Fame Dash (4 Laps)- 1. Justin Barger (32), 2. Judi Bates (121), 3. Derek Jonathan (81), 4. Scott Bonnell (3B), 5. Blake Breen (8), 6. Jared Fink (21F).

National Parts Peddler Heats (8 Laps Each)-

Race 1: 1. Steve Lines (23), 2. Bryan Howland (51), 3. Derek Jonathan (81), 4. Chad Gullett (61), 5. Jared Fink (21F), 6. John Schuyler (3T), 7. Doug Bowman (57), 8. Chris Muhleisen (10M).

Race 2: 1. Ron Blair (35R), 2. Josh Weller (63), 3. Justin Barger (32), 4. Scott Kreutter (52), 5. Gary Kriess (5B), 6. Gary Troutman (44), 7. Dave Dykstra (5D), 8. Robert VanTassel(69x).

Race 3: 1. Trevor Lewis (21), 2. Kyle Moffit (7), 3. Blake Breen (8), 4. Scott Bonnell (3B), 5. Chris Shuttleworth (11), 6. Dustin Daggett (2M), 7. Shawn Hubler (67), 8. James Evans (90).

Race 4: 1. Jared Zimbardi (35), 2. Bobby Breen (9B), 3. Judi Bates (121), 4. Danny Holtgraver (D4), 5. Joe August Jr. (47), 6. Gary Edwards (94), 7. Tom Huppunan (19T), 8. Tim Hogue (39).

ASCS Patriot Points (Top Ten): 1. Bryan Howland 2,086, 2. Jared Zimbardi 2,006, 3. Chris Muhleisen 1,871, 4. Bubba Broderick 1,702, 5. Scott Kreutter 1,693, 6. Blake Breen 1,535, 7. Bobby Breen 1,509, 8. Kyle Moffit 1,485, 9. Don Adamczyk 1,412, 10. Jared Fink 1,338.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Justin Barger
Teams HART