Patriots Eriez results 2008-06-22

Chuck Hebing Claims Eriez in 100th ASCS Patriot Event ERIE, PA (June 22, 2008) - Chuck Hebing picked up his 29th career ASCS Patriot win Sunday Night at Eriez in the 100th points race in series history in a way that had never been done ...

Chuck Hebing Claims Eriez in 100th ASCS Patriot Event

ERIE, PA (June 22, 2008) - Chuck Hebing picked up his 29th career ASCS Patriot win Sunday Night at Eriez in the 100th points race in series history in a way that had never been done before.

Hebing, of Ontario, NY, was declared the winner of the fourth feature of the season when Scott Bonnell was found to have accidentally run the feature with an unapproved right rear tire.

The local driver's heartbreak brought jubilation to Hebing and the Bud Burlew-Owned team. It was the first feature "The Cobra" was in the car, and brought immediate results to "The Junkyard Dog No. 28."

With the win, Hebing adds to his distinction as the only driver to win a Patriot event in with multiple numbers on the wing. The No. 28 was the fifth number he has won with. He has also went to victory lane with the Patriots in the numbers 21c, 42, 19H and 45. Only in the 21c did he not win in the first race out with that number.

A terrible afternoon weather radar cleared up to sunny skies that greeted the Northwestern Pennsylvania Speedplant. After three heats and the Four Laps of Fame, the decision was made not to chance the unsteady clouds over Lake Erie and run the feature before dusk.

Don Adamczyk, who drew the Engler Machine and Tool Pole Award, jumped out to the early lead and seemed destined to capture his first win. As the race went along though, Bonnell began to reel in the No. 21 for the top spot.

On lap 11, the Fairview, PA driver took the lead with a slidejob in turns 1 and 2 and set sail on what appeared to be a race-winning run.

A lap 21 caution would set a four lap dash to the finish, with Hebing not able to move around Bonnell.

Behind Hebing was a hard-charging Jared Zimbardi, who had to rebound from a poor redraw to end up second. The rolls were reversed for the top two last year when Zimbardi scored his first career Patriot Win.

Kyle Moffit notched his best career Patriot Finish in third. Moffit, from South Dayton, NY, nearly picked up his first career National Parts Peddler Heat win earlier in the night and was found on the move early in the feature.

Don Adamczyk would fade to fourth after leading the early portions of the event. Earlier in the night, Adamczyk was presented a plaque by his team in recognition of his perfect attendance at all 100 Patriot point races.

Rounding out the top-five was Scott Kreutter who held off Cobra in National Parts Peddler Heat No. 2 and moved his way forward in the feature.

Bryan Howland continued his string of solid point races with a sixth place showing. Justin Barger came from the dash to finish in seventh.JRounding out the top-10 were John Schuyler, Brad Knab and Bonnell's Collision Center Four Laps of Fame Winner Robbie Shuttleworth.

With the need to rush to guarantee the feature would get in, teams were able to get on the road early on Sunday. The focus now shifts to another two-night weekend, this time at the Ransomville on Friday, followed by a pair of features at Stateline on Saturday that includes the make up from this past weekend's rainout. Only the teams that ran last week are eligible for the first feature while a complete program will be open to all teams.

For more information, visit or

ASCS Patriots Results: 6/22/08, Eriez Speedway, Erie, PA.

A-Main (25 Laps)- 1. Chuck Hebing (28), 2. Jared Zimbardi (35), 3. Kyle Moffit (7), 4. Don Adamczyk (21), 5. Scott Kreutter (52), 6. Bryan Howland (51), 7. Justin Barger (32), 8. John Schuyler (3T), 9. Brad Knab (38), 10. Robbie Shuttleworth (11), 11. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 12. Jared Fink (21F), 13. Dave Wickham (80), 14. Joe August Jr. (44a), 15. Jeremy Barnard (86), 16. T.J. Newton (57), 17. Kyle Layton (99), 18. Bubba Broderick (5), 19. Scott Bonnell (3B).

Lap Leaders- Adamczyk 1-10, Bonnell 11-25

Bonnell's Collision Center Four Laps of Fame Dash (4 Laps)- 1. Robbie Shuttleworth (11), 2. Justin Barger (32), 3. Bubba Broderick (5), 4. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 5. Brad Knab (38), 6. Jared Fink (21F).

National Parts Peddler Heats (8 Laps Each)-

Race 1: 1. Scott Bonnell (3B), 2. Kyle Moffit (7), 3. Don Adamczyk (21), 4. Bryan Howland (51), 5. Brad Knab (38), 6. Jeremy Barnard (86), 7. Kyle Layton (99).

Race 2: 1. Scott Kreutter (52), 2. Chuck Hebing (28), 3. Robbie Shuttleworth (11), 4. Bubba Broderick (5), 5. Jared Fink (21F), 6. Joe August Jr. (44a).

Race 3: 1. John Schuyler (3T), 2. Jared Zimbardi (35), 3. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 4. Justin Barger (32), 5. Dave Wickham (80), 6. T.J. Newton (57).

ASCS Patriot Points (Top Ten): 1. Bryan Howland 647, 2. Jared Zimbardi 646, 3. Don Adamczyk 634, 4. Chris Muhleisen 616, 5. Bubba Broderick 575, 6. Dave Wickham 567, 7. Chuck Hebing 550, 8. Joseph August, Jr. 477, 9. T.J. Newton 471, 10. Jeremy Barnard 437.

-credit: ascs

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Justin Barger