Patriots Canandaigua results 2007-06-30

Jason Barney Captures Canandaigua for First ASCS Patriot Win CANANDAIGUA, N.Y. (June 30, 2007) - Jason Barney came into Canandaigua looking to race for the first time in more than a month, he left with $1,500 and his first career ASCS Patriot ...

Jason Barney Captures Canandaigua for First ASCS Patriot Win

CANANDAIGUA, N.Y. (June 30, 2007) - Jason Barney came into Canandaigua looking to race for the first time in more than a month, he left with $1,500 and his first career ASCS Patriot win.

Barney took the third leg of the A-Verdi King of Central New York Series on Saturday as he out dueled Chuck Hebing, who suffered motor problems 14 laps into the 25 lap feature event, handing the lead over to Barney for good. The No. 87 would hit the double-checkers with six seconds on second place Jared Zimbardi.

"I drive for the best team," was all Barney could say immediately following his exit from his maxim chassis in Victory Lane. "This car was awesome all night and I hate to see Chuck have his problems but we still would have had something for him."

The win catapulted the Constantia, NY driver into the A-Verdi King of CNY point lead, and also gave him some much-needed redemption at Canandaigua.

"Last year (in his only other sprint start at Canandaigua), we could have won that race but had a problem there and definitely wanted to finish this one," said a jubilated driver of the E-V/ Walton's Farm and Auto No. 87 who had also driver a modified on occasion at the 0x00bd-mile. "I was flat out awful in a modified here, I even spun out to the right once if that is possible."

After multiple spurts of rain delayed action at "The Land of Legends", the Speedway Performance Center Pole Dash was cancelled, which meant that the top six start spots would be determined by luck of the draw. Barney started seventh in the second National Parts Peddler Heat and finished second, allowing him to redraw. Hebing claimed the Engler Pole, with Barney on the outside of the front row.

Hebing and Barney swapped for the lead the first time in turn one, with Hebing grabbing the advantage. On lap six, Barney took the lead over, but it was short-lived as "The Cobra" would fight hard on the top of the speedway to retake the lead in front of his hometown faithful.

Hebing's potent No. 45 would start to slow on lap 14 with noticeable engine problems starting to slow him. Hebing also experienced the same motor illness en route to the win in heat one, where he set a blistering place around the track with a 14.75 second lap at 122.117 mph on the ultra-fast racing surface.

After Barney assumed the top spot, he made sure he would stay there as he lapped up to sixth place, within sight of third place. His victory would earn him his first $1,500 prize, with support from Shuttleworth Asphalt Sealing, Red Bear Hand Cleaner and Mike Emhof Motorsports.

Chuck Hebing's problems allowed Jared Zimbardi to finish in the top-2 for the fourth straight race and take a significant bite into "Cobra's" point lead. Zimbardi won National Parts Peddler and continued to prove he has stepped up his game.

Jessica Zemken just missed the redraw but would be able find her way to third, still one position shy of her only other 360 start at Canandaigua. Zemken was one of nearly a half-dozen drivers that wanted a late race caution to give them one crack at the lead.

Bobby Breen was another of those drivers that found himself moving forward towards the finish. "Dobbers" slipped back to 15th on the start but steadily climbed to earn his best finish of the year.

Doug Norrie made his first race of the year with the ASCS Patriots count as he picked up the KSE Racing Products Hard Charger of the Night, climbing from 16th to 5th over the 25-lap feature.

Blake Breen was again solid for a sixth place showing, ahead of rookie Scott Kreutter, who was seventh for the third straight A-Main, who just held off eighth place Ray Preston.

Brad Knab won his first heat in four years and finished ninth for the second straight year, just ahead of Nick Fratto who rallied from two early race spins to round out the top-10.

Hebing was destined to win his 22nd career ASCS A-Main, but would fade back to 12th, where he lost four spots on the final lap while limping the car home.

In all, 22 cars entered the pits for the first of two trips to Canandaigua in 2007. The forecast called for no rain what so ever, however a persistent system found its way to the Ontario County Fairgrounds and put the racing program on the brink of cancellation. A persistent crew would fight through the wet conditions to end up with one of the finest features throughout the field in recent memory.

Only two cautions waved the entire night, the first for a Fratto spin on lap two and the second for an inadvertent yellow on lap four. The final 21 laps were run under green.

The next event for the ASCS Patriots will be the fourth A-Verdi King of CNY race of the year at the Rolling Wheels Raceway on the special Tuesday July 3 program.

ASCS Patriots Results: 6/30/07, Canandaigua Speedway, Canandaigua, NY.

A-Main (25 Laps)- 1. Jason Barney (87), 2. Jared Zimbardi (35), 3. Jessica Zemken (1z), 4. Bobby Breen (9), 5. Doug Norrie (92M), 6. Blake Breen (8), 7. Scott Kreutter (52), 8. Ray Preston (22), 9. Brad Knab (38), 10. Nick Fratto (F1), 11. Don Adamczyk (21), 12. Chuck Hebing (45), 13. Matt Norrie (14M), 14. Dave Wickham (80), 15. Gary Troutman (44), 16. Daniel Lampron (52L), 17. Jeremy Barnard (86), 18. Derek Jonathan (81), 19. Billy Bailey (90x), 20. Eileen Smith (57), 21. Tim Barnard (45x), 22. Jared Fink (21A).

Lap Leaders- Hebing 1-5, Barney 6, Hebing 7-14, Barney 15-25

Speedway Performance Center Pole Dash- Not run due to time constraints

National Parts Peddler Heats (8 Laps Each)-

Race 1: 1. Chuck Hebing (45), 2. Scott Kreutter (52), 3. Blake Breen (8), 4. Matt Norrie (14M), 5. Nick Fratto (F1), 6. Doug Norrie (92M), 7. Jared Fink (21A).

Race 2: 1. Jared Zimbardi (35), 2. Jason Barney (87), 3. Don Adamczyk (21), 4. Billy Bailey (90x), 5. Gary Troutman (44), 6. Daniel Lampron (52L), 7. Eileen Smith (57).

Race 3: 1. Brad Knab (38), 2. Jessica Zemken (1z), 3. Bobby Breen (9), 4. Ray Preston (22), 5. Dave Wickham (80), 6. Derek Jonathan (81), 7. Jeremy Barnard (86), 8. Tim Barnard (45x).

-credit: ascs

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Nick Fratt