Patriot Sprint results 2006-07-28

Joyceville Jet Rockets to ASCS Patriot Victory Lane at Ransomville RANSOMVILLE, NY (July 28, 2006) -- It was a mirror image of the scene four weeks prior as a sporadic downpour hit Ransomville Speedway on Friday night, with the difference...

Joyceville Jet Rockets to ASCS Patriot Victory Lane at Ransomville

RANSOMVILLE, NY (July 28, 2006) -- It was a mirror image of the scene four weeks prior as a sporadic downpour hit Ransomville Speedway on Friday night, with the difference being that this time the Bobcat of Buffalo ASCS Patriot Sprint Group event would get in, even though it took a while to complete.

Rick Wilson was one of the drivers that made the long tow to the Western New York event and did not want to get sent home empty handed. Wilson would have to earn whatever he'd end up with though, being out of the inversion process.

Despite all of his obstacles, "The Joyceville Jet" found his way out front on lap 15 and would hold on the rest of the way to once again move into a tie with Chuck Hebing as the winningest driver in Patriot Sprint Group history.

"I had a great car all night long and I knew I could just flatfoot it around the top where other guys couldn't," said Wilson in victory lane. "I flirted with the (front stretch) moat and I totaled this car two years ago here when it was brand new, but it worked out better here tonight."

The night was full of challenges for the Canadian. Starting last in the heat, Wilson would attempt to move forward quickly, coming together with Don Adamczyk on the second lap of heat three. Wilson would continue on though and put together a second lace finish despite the contact.

The Joyceville, Ontario, hotshoe had to start ninth in the 20-lap "A" Main but was able to quickly assert the No. 42w in the top five. He took over the second position from Bryan Howland just before the final caution of the event flew on lap 10. Then it was down to a showdown with race-long leader Rich Swarthout, who was fast, but not quick enough to hold off Wilson.

With the win, Wilson becomes the first driver in 2006 to earn the National Parts Peddler Hard Charger of the race en route to the victory.

The official distance of the event was 19 laps, with the final lap never being completed due to Blake Breen flipping as Wilson was coming around to the checkered flag. Ransomville Speedway management along with ASCS Patriot officials deemed that due to the late hour with three more features to be completed, the race would be declared official.

Things were backed up on the night due to the downpour the track suffered at 6:00 p.m. Turn one and two, along with much of the pit area was under water. Thankfully, the Patriot pit area was in the grass, allowing the sprint cars to stay free of mud. ASCS Patriot hot laps did not kick off until after 9:00 p.m., but the fans did not seem to mind, as it was standing room only for the only sprint car event of the year at the "Big R".

With tacky track conditions, some of the fastest times of the year were being laid down; the best coming in heat one when Blake Breen posted a lap of 15.17 around the 0x00bd-mile, an average speed of 118.65 mph.

Twenty-six cars were on hand, with all of them able to start the feature due to more time constraints.

Rich Swarthout was pleased with his second place finish, especially when considered that both of his flips this year have occurred on Friday Nights. Swarthout flipped at Freedom a month earlier and at Ohsweken two weeks ago, but on this Friday was just plain fast.

Bryan Howland was third for the second consecutive event, the fifth straight top five for last year's point champion. Howland had the pole position but lost the lead, as well as second, before the start/finish line when he slipped in the mud at the start.

Jared Zimbardi recorded his fifth top-five finish of the year, all of them coming in the last two months. Fourth-place finisher Zimbardi was a heat winner along with Ray Preston and Blake Breen.

Geoff Quackenbush made his long tow from the opposite side of the state count, as he rounded out the top five for the second best finish of his career.

Chris Muhleisen was able to get the car working as he finished sixth, ahead of Bobby Breen who was seventh. Chuck Hebing spun on lap five but was able to come back through to finish eighth in front of Ray Preston and Mike Stelter.

Bobcat of Buffalo ASCS Patriot Sprint Group Results: 7/28- Ransomville

Heat Results (8 Laps, Top-4 Reorder)

Race 1- 1. Blake Breen (8), 2. Chuck Hebing (45), 3. Keith Dempster (32), 4. Bryan Howland (51), 5. Bobby Breen (9), 6. Chris Shuttleworth (11), 7. Jim Porter (33), 8. Derek Jonathan (81), 9. Mark Schulz (18).

Race 2- 1. Ray Preston (22), 2. Rich Swarthout (5s), 3. Curt Sherwood (31), 4. Mike Stelter (36), 5. Tim Zack (9Jr), 6. April Wilson (15), 7. Brad Knab (38), 8. Jeremy Barnard (86), 9. Nick Bashford (24).

Race 3- 1. Jared Zimbardi (35), 2. Rick Wilson (42w), 3. Geoff Quackenbush (25), 4. Chris Muhleisen (10m), 5. Gary Troutman (44), 6. George Ely (90), 7. Don Adamczyk (21), 8. John Schuyler (3T).

A-Main (20 Laps)- 1. Rick Wilson (42w), 2. Rich Swarthout (5s), 3. Bryan Howland (51), 4. Jared Zimbardi (35), 5. Geoff Quackenbush (25), 6. Chris Muhleisen (10m), 7. Bobby Breen (9), 8. Chuck Hebing (45), 9. Ray Preston (22), 10. Mike Stelter (36), 11. Curt Sherwood (31), 12. Gary Troutman (44), 13. Keith Dempster (32), 14. Blake Breen (8), 15. Jim Porter (33), 16. Don Adamczyk (21), 17. Brad Knab (38), 18. George Ely (90), 19. Chris Shuttleworth (11), 20. Derek Jonathan (81), 21. April Wilson (15), 22. Nick Bashford (24), 23. Tim Zack (9Jr), 24. Jeremy Barnard (86), 25. John Schuyler (3T), 26. Mark Schulz (18).

Lap Leaders- Swarthout 1-13, Wilson 14-20.

National Parts Peddler Hard Charger of the Night- R. Wilson (+8).

Gater Racing News Hard Charger (Top 10)- 1. Don Adamczyk-54, 2. Chuck Hebing-40, 3. Rich Swarthout-30. 3. Brad Knab-30. 5. Nick Bashford-29, 6. Jared Zimbardi-26, 6. Rick Wilson-26, 8. Gary Troutman-25, 9. Blake Breen- 23, Chris Muhleisen-22.

Current Bobcat of Buffalo ASCS Patriot Sprint Group Points (Top Ten): 1. Chuck Hebing 1,806, 2. Don Adamczyk 1,646, 3. Bryan Howland 1,645, 4. Nick Bashford 1,614, 5. Geoff Quackenbush 1,558, 6. Jared Zimbardi 1,524, 7. Rich Swarthout 1,381, 8. Chris Muhleisen 1,344, 9. Ray Preston 1,265, 10. Brad Knab 1,255.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint