Path Valley results 2004-10-22

Path Valley Finds Late Season First Time Winners Spring Run, PA_ With only one points race for sprints and stock cars remaining, Two Wheel Promotions continued to find first time winners among the many talented drivers Friday night at the Path...

Path Valley Finds Late Season First Time Winners

Spring Run, PA_ With only one points race for sprints and stock cars remaining, Two Wheel Promotions continued to find first time winners among the many talented drivers Friday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park.

In the 270 Sprints Steve Dunmire of Ford City in the DBY Motors team sprint led every lap to surprise first points leader Sean Good and then later in the race Shane Penney with speed and skill. The race came down to a side-by-side finish in the final feet as Penney charged out of turn four to catch Dunmire, but to settle the matter Penney was penalized one spot for jumping the restart on the final caution. Dunmire's team noted in victory lane that the young first time Path Valley winner has only raced two years, and that most of the faster sprints in the full field race with DBY engines.

"I really love racing on this track because it's so smooth and steeply banked," Dunmire said, "and I really wish it were closer to home." The front five finishers were Dunmire, Penny, Todd Reusser, Jim Callahan and Chad Myers. Jason Starr won the consi and Cody Darrah, Chad Myers and Todd Reusser won the heats.

Mike Beidel of Shippensburg, a past track champion, won his first feature of the season in the mini stocks, running a length or more ahead of Frankie Gordon to the finish.

Points leader Jimmy Brookens of Fayetteville came from the twelfth handicap spot to win his 19th season feature in 600 Sprints with an inside pass under Ryan Greth on a lap eight restart. Brookens could only manage a slight head ahead of Greth through the next dozen laps, but a final caution for lap 19 let Brookens show his restart skill out of the turn three starting line and he won a lap later by more than two lengths.

Brookens will again be handicapped to start in the 12 spot next week, but he may have secured the national points Valvoline Cup with this win. Going into the race he was tied with Jack Dover of Springfield NE with 165 points each. The front five were Brookens, Greth, Donnie Hendershot, Dillon Stein and Jim Young and Brookens and Lyle Stroman won the heats. Young was the Valvoline Cup national champion in microsprints in 2002 and Sean Good won the national title in 2003.

Allen Felix of Shippensburg took the lead on lap three and cruised to a win in the final season appearance for the Central PA Legends Cars. He said in victory lane that he hopes to continue chasing another national title next season.

Chuck Ingram of Shippensburg took the Thunder Car lead from Melvin Bigler and then outran John Rasp for his third win; and Joe DeArmitt of Alexandria won his third feature in the Hobby Stocks. The four-cylinder Mechanic's feature went to Rob Keller, and Terry Benner won the mechanic's race in the Legends Cars.

The final season race for sprints and stock cars is next Friday night, and the annual awards banquet is Nov. 20 at the Pleasant Hall Firehall, with tickets still available. The very last race of the season is next Saturday night, Oct. 30, for the four, six, and eight cylinder Strictly Stock cars, formerly called junkyard or guardrail cars.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track is 717-349-7111.

For information on the 2004 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the track's website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


270 Sprints -- Steve Dunmire (started 1), Shane Penny, Todd Reusser, Jim Callahan, Chad Myers, A.J. Bast, Cody Darrah, Josh Dressler, Mike Rutherford, Jason Starr, Jason Morrison, Aaron Lynch, Tom Tice, Aaron Spahr, Sean Good, Ken Duke Jr., Tim Robertson, Heath Hehnly, Nate Snyder, Greg Robinson II, Randy Myers, Eric Spahr, Craig Myers, Nick Gower. Consi to Jason Starr. Heats to Darrah, Myers, Reusser.

600 Sprints -- Jim Brookens (12), Ryan Greth, Donnie Hendershot, Dillon Stein, Jim Young, Lyle Stroman, Gary Linderman, Jason Starr, Rob Griffin, Chris Smith, Chris Crull, Jordon Frontz, Justin Frontz, Aaron Eichelberger, Jim Callahan, Adam Dimm, Dan Kanagy, DNS Pete Landrum, Kevin Bastian. Heats to Stroman, Brookens.

Legends -- Allen Felix (5), Bill Harris, Josh Morrow, Randy Fetterolf, Rick Potts, Jim Halbert, John Schrik, Bob Lash, LJ Shutt, Robert Sobieski, Greg Burd, Laura McGonnell, Denny Rothermel, Harry Garber. Heats to Burd, Garber.

Legends Mechanics -- Terry Benner (1), Larry Long, John Shutt.

Thunder Cars -- Chuck Ingram (2), John Rasp, Terry Smith, Ken Lawrence Jr., Tony Weller, Jeff Christy, Lyle Barnes, Melvin Bigler, Eric Seibert. Heat to Rasp.

4-Cyl. Mechanics -- Rob Keller (4), Chris Semple, Becky Kauffman, Angie Washinger, Jeremy Mumma.

Mini Stocks -- Mike Beidel (1), Frank Gordon, Kyle Wiser, Gary Dehart, Troy Eckenrode, Dave Bivens, Ralphie Morgan, Jerry Bard, DNS Jeremy Ott. Heat to Wiser.

Hobby Stocks -- Joe DeArmitt (5), Shawn Hancock, Matt Mellott, Chad Walter, Craig Imes. Heat to DeArmitt.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Smith , Cody Darrah , Tim Roberts