Path Valley results 2004-09-25

Spangler, Fitz and Schaeffer win All Sprints Nationals Spring Run, PA_ Todd Spangler of Dillsburg raced his ...

Spangler, Fitz and Schaeffer win All Sprints Nationals

Spring Run, PA_ Todd Spangler of Dillsburg raced his #33T to his first major championship Saturday in the PA 305 Sprints class at the Path Valley Speedway Park's All Sprints Nationals. Richie Fitz of Bullrider Chassis in Crystal Springs won in the 600 Sprints and Terry Schaeffer of Reading won his third Path Valley National in 270 Sprints.

All three took home the $500 to win money posted by Two Wheel Promotions and the bulk of the $1500 in total lap money posted by track racing supporters as all but Schaeffer led a majority of the feature laps in their divisions. All three sizes of sprints will return to Path Valley Friday, Oct. 1, as the track's fall season of rain makeup points races continues.

Todd Spangler in his #33 started third and took the lead from Greg Hammaker down the back stretch on lap four of the 305 feature and by lap seven was a full turn ahead of the pack. Mike Freet moved into second on lap eight but through three cautions and restarts and amid lapped cars until a lap 29 caution, Freet could not overtake Spangler. After a restart, Scott Ellerman moved into second and Nathan Gramley took third. At the line the front five were Spangler, Ellerman, Gramley, Freet, and Joey Hershey. Freet and Hammaker won the heats. Spangler shared lap money with Hammaker that was sponsored by Two Wheel Promotions, Goshorn Racing, Dunkle Manufacturing, Worrick's Garage and Cindy Chestnut.

Richie Fitz showed how the outside line could be faster as he went to the wall to win the 600 Sprints feature. Fitz took the lead on a lap seven restart and gained slightly every lap as Jimmy Callahan and Jimmy Brookens chased him to the finish. Fitz, Callahan, Brookens, Jake Murphy, and Brett Scheonly were the front five finishers. Jarrett Seng, Aaron Eichelberger, Jimmy Glenn, and Jimmy Callahan won the heats. Consi 1 went to Jamie Umlauf, and Consi 2 to Donnie Hendershot. Lap money went to Eichelberger for laps 1-4, Callahan for 5 and 6, and Fitz for the balance of the 30 laps. Bullrider Race Cars put up cash for every lap, as did Two Wheel Promotions, along with Puterbaugh Motorsports, Doorways Unlimited, Hendershot Siding, Newport/Mifflintown Subway, Hyper Racing, Precision Racing and Predator Racecraft.

Chad Myers from the pole led the first four laps of the 270 Sprints feature, then on a restart yielded the lead to Terry Schaeffer, up from fifth, and took it back on lap six. Shane Penny passed Myers on lap seven out of turn four and scooted ahead of Schaeffer until laps 23 and 24 when Schaeffer pulled along side, to take the lead for good on lap 25. Schaeffer, Penny, AJ Bast, Danny Holtgraver and Chad Myers took the front five spots. Robinson, Good, Bast, and Tice won the heats and Craig Myers and Brian Marriott won the consi's. Penny led 18 laps for the bulk of the laps money posted by East Coast Motorsports/Elite Chassis, Two Wheel Promotions, J&K Salvage, Puterbaugh Motorsports, Kitty's Hair Salon, and Corner Deli. Myers and Schaeffer got a smaller share. Photos by Walt Cox sponsored the cash bonus for the winners of the first heat race in each class, and Two Wheel Promotions sponsored the bonus for the second heat winner.

In all three classes, 92 sprints raced.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track is 717-349-7111.

For information on the 2004 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the track's website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


PA 305 Sprints -- Todd Spangler (started 3), Scott Ellerman, Nathan Gramley, Mike Freet, Joey Hershey, Todd Lynn, Randy Kaylor, Brent Comp, Frankie Reisinger, Greg Hammaker, Don Slack, Wes Zimmerman, Mike Wagner II, Zach Martini, Von McGee, James Kennedy, Tommy Beavers, DNS Ryan Lynn, Jim Wentz. Heats to Freet, Hammaker.

600 Sprints -- Richie Fitz (8), Jimmy Callahan, Jim Brookens, Jake Murphy, Brett Scheonly, Tim Iulg, Brian Walker, Jimmy Glenn, Aaron Eichelberger, Brian Roseman, Ben Murphy, Lyle Stroman, Brett Arndt, Rod Schell, Jason Starr, Brock Bilger, Gary Suchy, Jarrett Seng, Donnie Hendershot, George Ulmer, Ryan Greth, Jim Young, Jamie Umlauf, Ron Dick. Heats to Seng, Eichelberger, Glenn, Callahan; Consi 1 to Umlauf, Consi 2 to Donnie Hendershot.

270 Sprints -- Terry Schaeffer (5), Shane Penny, AJ Bast, Danny Holtgraver, Chad Myers, San McAndrew, Ed Krupa, Sean Good, Jim Callahan, Brian Walker, Brian Marriott, Brayden Winters, Jay Groves, Chad Behler, Cody Darrah, Mike Schackers, Greg Robinson II, Craig Folmar, Craig Myers, Steve Dunmire, Neil Petock, Jason Starr, Wade Matheson, Tom Tice. Heats to Robinson, Good, Bast, Tice. Consi 1 Myers, Consi 2 Marriott.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brian Rose , James Kennedy , Von McGee , Cody Darrah