Path Valley results 2004-09-24

Spring Run, PA_ As a preview of Saturday night's All Sprints Nationals, the Path Valley Regulars learned from Jay Groves that talented visitors can beat them in the Friday night 270 Sprints feature. Jim Callahan of McVeytown won the first 270...

Spring Run, PA_ As a preview of Saturday night's All Sprints Nationals, the Path Valley Regulars learned from Jay Groves that talented visitors can beat them in the Friday night 270 Sprints feature.

Jim Callahan of McVeytown won the first 270 Sprints heat and drew a pill for inversion that put Jay Groves of Sugar Grove on the feature pole. Groves was never passed. In 600 Sprints Jimmy Brookens of Fayetteville came from 4th to take command and win, and Nathan Fisher of McClure ran a tough race for the Legends Cars win.

Joe DeArmitt of Huntingdon won the season's second feature for Hobby Stocks while Melvin Bigler of Shippensburg won in the Thunder Cars and Gary DeHart of Mercersburg won the Mini Stock main event.

Following Saturday's All Sprints Nationals and Sunday's Four-Cylinder Shootout, Path Valley races into a full five-week October season of rain makeups, with racing every Friday and Saturday. See for a full schedule.

Many infrequent racers were on hand to practice for the All Sprints Nationals the following night. Two unfortunate incidents marred the night and in the most serious Rodney Glass of Ft. Loudon suffered a broken hand and was transported to Chambersburg Hospital for treatment. He later said he would be at the track Saturday night, recovering from a tangle under caution in turn one with the #7H of Brian Hart.

Dave Kline was not injured in a more spectacular crash on the first lap of the Legends feature when his #6D dug into the clay and went airborne end over end above the middle of the pack. At least four Legends were eliminated as Kline's machine shed most of its body.

With a win that possibly earned him the Valvoline Cup national championship, Jimmy Brookens from his fourth place start went side by side with Jimmy Callahan in 600 Sprints for four laps and finally got inside Callahan out of turn four to take the lead on lap five. Brookens scored his sixteenth win of the season and said, "It's never easy, but I think we're ready for our Nationals tomorrow night." The front five finishers were Brookens, Callahan, Jim Young, Ben Murphy and Lyle Stroman. Stroman, Jeff Amaral and Brian Walker won the heats.

Visitors dominated the 270 Sprints as Dan Holtgraver and Sean McAndrew chased Jay Groves from his pole start to the checkers. Groves, Holtgraver and McAndrew finished one, two, three followed in the front five by A.J. Bast and Colby Womer. Consi 1 went to John Agor, Consi 2 to Wade Matheson; and the heats wins to Jimmy Callahan, Brian Walker, Chad Myers, and Jay Groves.

Once the Legends settled down after Kline's flip down the front stretch, Denny Rothermel took the early lead but faded back in lap 14 as young Fisher dueled with past national champion Butch Brough of Newville. Fisher beat Brough out of turn four on a lap 17 restart and won by almost two lengths. The front five were Fisher, Brough, Greg Burd, Rothermel and Bill Harris. Rothermel, Josh Morrow and Fisher won the heats.

In a preview of the Four-Cylinder Shootout scheduled Sunday, Gary Dehart took the lead from Mike Beidel on lap five of the Mini Stock main and then raced just ahead of Ronnie Garlock to the win. Dehart, Garlock, Beidel, Tim Burkholder and Kyle Wiser were the front five finishers and Garlock and Jerry Bard won the heats.

On lap ten of the Thunder Car feature Chuck Ingram went to the rear for spinning him out and Ken Lawrence got the lead back but could not hold it as Melvin Bigler went side by side with Mike Beidel for the lead. Bigler, Beidel, John Rasp, Lyle Barnes and Tony Weller took the front five spots and Terry Smith and Ingram won the heats.

In Hobby Stocks, Joe DeArmitt firmly took control on lap two and cruised to the reduced car count $150 finish non-stop well ahead of Rick Potter and then Shawn Hancock, Mike Duck and Davey Gross Jr. in the front five. Mike Duck won the single heat race.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track is 717-349-7111.

For information on the 2004 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the track's website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


270 Sprints -- Jay Groves (started 1), Danny Holtgraver, Sean McAndrew, AJ Bast, Colby Womer, Brayden Winters, Brian Walker, Jim Callahan, Jason Starr, John Agor, Sam Christie, Craig Myers, Jason VanDoren, Aaron Lynch, Brian Hart, Wade Matteson, Matt Horst, Joe Trone, Cody Darrah, Chad Myers, Amanda Schlegal, Josh Dressler, Rodney Glass, DQ Sean Good. Consi 1 John Agor, Consi 2 Wade Matheson; heats to Callahan, Walker, Chad Myers, Jay Groves.

Legends -- Nathan Fisher (started 2), Butch Brough, Greg Burd, Denny Rothermel, Bill Harris, Randy Fetterolf, Wayne Young, Zach Deiter, Ronald Cooper, Randy Lupfer, Greg Christman, Jim Halbert, John Schrik, Ferris Frine, Roy Danner, Jason Ewing, Harry Garber, Bob Murray, Pat Zellers, Laura McGonnell, Josh Morrow, Dave Kline. Heats to Rothermel, Morrow, Fisher.

600 Sprints -- Jim Brookens (started 4), Jimmy Callahan, Jim Young, Ben Murphy, Lyle Stroman, Brian Walker, Brian Rossman, Jim Fitz, Jake Murphy, Jamie Umlauf, Aaron Eichelberger, Jeff Amaral, Jordon Frontz, Jason Starr, Greg Kone, Brett Mancieri, Dan Kanagy, Donnie Hendershot, Adam Dimm, Dusty Heistand, Timmie Barrick, Richie Fitz, Chris Crull. Heats to Stroman, Amaral, Walker.

Thunder Cars -- Melvin Bigler (3), Mike Beidel, John Rasp, Lyle Barnes, Tony Weller, Terry Smith, Tim Varner, Chuck Ingram, Jeff Christy, Wes Scofield, Ken Lawrence. Heats to Smith, Ingram.

Mini Stock -- Gary Dehart (7), Ronnie Garlock, Mike Beidel, Tim Burkholder, Kyle Wiser, Dave Bivens, Ricky Harper, Jerry Bard, Jeff Mangle, Jeremy Ott, Troy Eckenrode. Heats to Garlock, Bard.

Hobby Stocks -- Joe DeArmitt (1), Rick Potter, Shawn Hancock, Mike Duck, Davey Gross Jr., Matt Mellott, Scott Sipes. Heat to Duck.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Brian Ross , Cody Darrah