Path Valley results 2004-08-27

Spring Run, PA_ Lyle Stroman of Lewisberry in 600 Sprints and Brian Hart of Thompsontown in 270 Sprints led a group of first timers to the Path Valley Speedway Park winners circle Friday night. Bill Harris of Duncannon in Legends Cars and Chuck ...

Spring Run, PA_ Lyle Stroman of Lewisberry in 600 Sprints and Brian Hart of Thompsontown in 270 Sprints led a group of first timers to the Path Valley Speedway Park winners circle Friday night. Bill Harris of Duncannon in Legends Cars and Chuck Ingram of Shippensburg in Thunder Cars also made their first visits to victory lane.

Past champions Randy Patterson in V-8 Street Stocks and Ricky Harper in Mini Stocks were the veteran winners on the fast, soft track.

Melvin's Auto Repair and Midnight Graphics sponsored the race night, and #25 Thunder Car driver Melvin Bigler and wife Deb presented candy bags to all the kids and door prizes from his car sponsors to many of the adults, in addition to the trophies to the winners.

The event was also the Farewell Street Stocks race and V-8 winner Randy Patterson expressed an emotional obituary to the big, fast cars along with his appreciation that the track continued to let them race as their numbers declined. In two weeks they will be replaced with the lower cost Path Valley Hobby Stock cars.

Next Friday, Sept. 3, the PA 305 Sprints and the Dwarf Cars make their bi-weekly visit to Path Valley, along with the four regular weekly divisions and all weekend teams and fans can enjoy the Driver Appreciation Pig Roast.

The night opened with Lyle Stroman in only his sixth Path Valley start locking up the lead on the second lap with his #91 PMP in the 600 Sprints. Only one caution forced a restart as Donnie Hendershot, Gary Linderman and Jim Brookens struggled for second place, and at the finish the front five were Stroman, Linderman, Brookens, Hendershot and Jim Young. Brookens, Jordon Frontz and Donnie Hendershot won the heats.

Equally thrilling was the Legends Cars feature with veteran racer Bill Harris from his pole start leading every lap. Only past national INEX champion Harry Garber could pull alongside as Harris moved high or low on the tacky clay. Garber fell two lengths short for second, followed in the front five by Bob Murray, Josh Morrow and Denny Rothermel. Morrow, Randy Fetterolf and Randy Kissinger won the heats.

Ken Lawrence Jr. led the first three laps of the Thunder Cars feature but Chuck Ingram pulled alongside him at the end of lap three and took the lead at the end of lap four as Lawrence and Lyle Barnes raced fender to fender. Ingram, Barnes, Lawrence, John Rasp and Joe Hawbaker were the front five finishers and Melvin Bigler and Lawrence won the heats. Only two cautions slowed this feature, contributing to the 10:30 finish of all six features.

With only one caution to regroup them, Randy Patterson, of Shippensburg, who had been track champion several times led every lap of the final V-8 Street Stock feature, and the finish order for the last race was Patterson, Alan Crum, Kevin Keefer, Matt Kauffman, Wayne Hawbaker, Bryan Neff, and Lance Grove.

The 270 Sprints opened with a thrill as Aaron Lynch, Josh Dressler and Brian Hart went three wide at the line to finish the first lap. Hart got the inside groove and held it into turn one as he went on to lead every lap. As he took a cell phone call from his mother in victory lane, Hart said it was his first micro sprint win in 12 years of racing. Defending champion Brian Walker and Colby Womer pushed him all the way, and at the finish it was Hart, Womer, Walker, Tom Tice and Sean Good in the front five. Walker and Womer won the heats.

The Mini Stock feature closed the night on a high note as Frankie Gordon of Ft. Loudon led the first eight laps and then stopped out of turn four with a broken spindle. At that point past multiple years champion Ricky Harper took over and led the remaining eleven laps ahead of Jerry Bard and Gary Dehart. With four laps to go, Bard drove over a shed rolling tire in turn one but on the restart continued to pressure Harper as Dehart settled for third with Tim Burkholder fourth and Mike Beidel fifth. Harper said it was only his second win of the season, but he expects that he has solved a persistent electrical problem. Steve McCartney and Jerry Bard won the heats.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track is 717-349-7111.

For information on the 2004 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the track's website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


Mini Stock -- Ricky Harper (started 4), Jerry Bard, Gary Dehart, Tim Burkholder, Mike Beidel, Kyle Wiser, Jeremy Ott, Bob Starr, Ralphie Morgan, Steve McCartney, Frank Gordon, Ronnie Garlock, Dave Bivens, Troy Eckenrode. Heats to McCartney, Bard.

270 Sprints -- Brian Hart (3), Colby Womer, Brian Walker, Tom Tice, Sean Good, Chad Myers, Josh Dressler, Craig Myers, Rodney Glass, Roy States, Aaron Lynch, Eric Spahr, Earl Hoon Jr., Aaron Spahr, Cody Darrah, Amanda Schlegal, Jake Hartlaub, DQ Jim Callahan, DNS Brent Sparks. Heats to Walker, Womer.

V-8 Street Stock -- Randy Patterson (2), Alan Crum, Kevin Keefer, Matt Kauffman, Wayne Hawbaker, Bryan Neff, Lance Grove. Heat to Kauffman.

4-Cyl. Thunder -- Chuck Ingram (4), Lyle Barnes, Ken Lawrence Jr., John Rasp, Joe Hawbaker, Terry Smith, Ricky Rosenberry, Wes Scofield, Richard Cline, Tim Varner, Eric Seibert, Jeff Christy, Melvin Bigler, Tony Weller, Charles Stallman. Heats to Bigler, Lawrence.

Legends -- Bill Harris (1), Harry Garber, Bob Murray, Josh Morrow, Denny Rothermel, Greg Burd, Randy Kissinger, Nathan Fisher, Dave Kline, Allen Felix, Jason Ewing, Darryl Bloom, Paul Fitzsimmons, Andy Lupfer, Ronald Cooper, James Black, Bob White, Shawn McCombs, Robert Sobieski, Randy Fetterolf, Jim Halbert, Laura McGonnell. Heats to Morrow, Fetterolf, Kissinger.

600 Sprints -- Lyle Stroman (1), Gary Linderman, Jim Brookens, Donnie Hendershot, Jim Young, Richie Fitz, Brian Walker, Mark Hendershot, Timmy Barrick, Colby Womer, Justin Frontz, Rich Latchaw, Dan Kanagy, Ryan Ream, Chris Crull, Jim Fitz, Jesse Sny6der, Jim Travis, Aaron Eichelberger, Jordon Frontz, DNS Dusty Heistand, Chris Smith. Heats to Brookens, Frontz, Donnie Hendershot.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Smith , Cody Darrah