Path Valley results 2004-05-28

Hershey, Fitz and Good win Path Valley Sprints Spring Run, PA_ As turn four wrecks repeatedly ravaged the ranks of the PA 305 Sprints, Joey Hershey of Chambersburg stayed outside and by the completion of lap two led the full-size sprints to his...

Hershey, Fitz and Good win Path Valley Sprints

Spring Run, PA_ As turn four wrecks repeatedly ravaged the ranks of the PA 305 Sprints, Joey Hershey of Chambersburg stayed outside and by the completion of lap two led the full-size sprints to his fourth Path Valley Speedway Park win of this season.

Ace drivers Richie Fitz of Crystal Springs and Sean Good of Middleburg won in 600 and 270 Sprints, respectively, and veterans Jerry Bard in Mini-Stocks and Melvin Bigler in thunder cars, both of Shippensburg, took the twin four-cylinder honors. The Dwarf Cars feature rose to a classic east versus west battle as Lynn Knepper of Somerset outran Josh Sigman of Carlisle.

With a four-day holiday weekend featuring the AMA Northeast Nationals ahead, track operators Two Wheel Promotions repeatedly smoothed the clay for the sprints and stock cars, and the racing schedule returns to the normal three weekend races next week. The V-8 Street Stock and Legends Cars take their turn in the rotation next Friday night, June 4, and the karts and quads Saturday afternoon will be followed by the thee Strictly Stock classes and the Cyclones for the evening races, June 5. The 305 Sprints and Dwarf Cars return June 11.

The 305 Sprints opened with Chris Meleason on the front row spinning inside just off the starting line on turn four. On the next start Wes Zimmerman spun in the same place from his pole position and amid the wreckage behind him Scott Ellerman flipped his championship #115. On the third start Hershey took the lead and held it through four more restarts to lead by up to a full turn for his fifth win of the season and fourth at Path Valley. The front five were Hershey, Greg Hammaker, Todd Spangler, Mike Freet and Bob Gutshall, and Ellerman and Gutshall won the heats.

Ben Murphy led the 600 Sprints for the first 13 laps and then on a restart Richie Fitz with his Bullrider house car got to the inside of Murphy going into turn one and beat Murphy down the backstretch. No cautions slowed the action after that and Fitz build up a lead of more than a turn, lapping the rear cars and wingless past champion Jimmy Brookens on lap 19.

"This Bullrider chassis is a great car and I owe it all to my dad, who builds them," young Fritz said. He now has three wins and his brother Jim has one at Path Valley. The front five finishers were Fitz, Murphy, Donnie Hendershot, Jim Young and Tim Barrick and Fitz, Brookens and Murphy won the heats. Jim Brookens, who won the week before, lost the wing off his #11s on the lap 14 caution and without it ran at the back of the pack.

Sean Good, the defending Valvoline Cup National Champion, passed Adam Romig for the 270 Sprints lead on lap 11 and after a lap 19 restart finished about four lengths ahead of Chad Myers. Good gave particular thanks to East Coast Motorsports for his Elite Chassis and to Hoosier Tires. The front five were Good, Myers, Brian Walker, A.J. Bast and Earl Hoon Jr. Rodney Glass and Good won the heat races and Glass drew an invert 10 pill to put Brian Hart and Romig on the front row.

Kevin Thomas won the first mini-stock heat race and drew a pill to invert six for the feature start. That put Jerry Bard on the pole and no one, including frequent past champion Ricky Harper, could pass him. The only caution came on lap 17 and in the close-packed action Harper went wheel to wheel with Steve McCartney for second place while Bard won his third feature by half a turn. The front five were Bard, Harper, McCartney, Kyle Wiser and Frankie Gordon. Thomas and Wiser won the heats.

Melvin Bigler made his own luck, winning the first thunder car heat and drawing a zero inversion pill to start his feature on the pole. Ken Lawrence (who won the second heat race) and Lyle Barnes stayed close all the way, with only one caution to close up the ranks on lap 14, and Chuck Ingram and John Rasp completed the front five finishers.

"I knew Josh (Sigman) was right there behind me, but it was a great track and I could get inside on the turns," said Lynn Knepper after his Dwarf Cars win. The front five were Knepper, Sigman, Greg Johnson, Tom Showman and Frankie Dunkle and Sigman won the heat race.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track is 717-349-7111. For information on the 2004 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult our website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


PA 305 Sprints -- Joey Hershey (started 4), Greg Hammaker, Todd Spangler, Mike Freet, Bob Gutshall, Randy Kaylor, Jim Wentz, Cody Schmiedel, Jim Roush, Gary Heckman, Mike Wagner II, Von McGee, Frankie Reisinger, Brandon Keller, Chris Meleason, Wes Zimmerman, Scott Ellerman. Heats to Ellerman, Gutshall.

600 Sprints -- Richie Fitz (3), Ben Murphy, Donnie Hendershot, Jim Young, Tim Barrick, Mark Hendershot, Doug Dodson, Aaron Eichelberger, Sean Good, Justin Frontz, Jason Starr, Chris Crull, Dan Kanagy, D.J. Holland, Jim Brookens, Colby Womer, Jake Murphy, Greg Kone, Chad Criswell, Dusty Faust, Dusty Heistand, Jim Fitz, Jordon Frontz, DNS Adam Dimm. Heats to Fitz, Brookens, Ben Murphy.

270 Sprints -- Sean Good (8), Chad Myers, Brian Walker, A.J. Bast, Earl Hoon Jr., Brian Hart, Colby Womer, Ryan Wilson, Zack Zook, Adam Romig, Aaron Spahr, Jason Houtz, Dan Harman, Craig Myers, Tom Tice, Rodney Glass, Amanda Schlegal, Jim Young, DNS Eric Spahr. Heats to Glass, Good.

Mini Stock -- Jerry Bard (1), Ricky Harper, Steve McCartney, Kyle Wiser, Frank Gordon, Gary Dehart, Tim Burkholder, Kevin Thomas, Chuck Ingram, Mike Beidel, DNS Dave Bivens. Heats to Thomas, Wiser.

Four-Cylinder Thunder - Melvin Bigler (1), Ken Lawrence Jr., Lyle Barnes, Chuck Ingram, John Rasp, Terry Smith, Tracy Linn, Tony Weller, Joe Hawbaker, Wes Scofield, Jeff Christy, Joe Walker, Keith Armolt, Richard Cline, DNS Rocky Payne. Heats to Bigler, Lawrence.

Dwarf Cars -- Lynn Knepper (5), Josh Sigman, Greg Johnson, Tom Showman, Frankie Dunkle, Frank Dunkle. Heat to Sigman.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Meleason , Joe Walker , Von McGee