Path Valley results 2004-05-14

Path Valley Sprint Soakers to Gutshall, Good and Eichelberger Spring Run, PA_ On a super fast and tacky track Bob Gutshall of Mechanicsburg used patience and skill to edge past Greg Hammaker for Gutshall's season first 305 Sprints win Friday...

Path Valley Sprint Soakers to Gutshall, Good and Eichelberger

Spring Run, PA_ On a super fast and tacky track Bob Gutshall of Mechanicsburg used patience and skill to edge past Greg Hammaker for Gutshall's season first 305 Sprints win Friday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park.

Defending Valvoline Cup national champion Sean Good of Middleburg in 270 Sprints beat defending track champion Brian Walker by less than two lengths, and Aaron Eichelberger of York Springs outran 600 Sprints past track champion Donnie Hendershot.

The win in Dwarf Cars went to Matt Jester of Lincoln, DE. In the four-cylinders Tim Burkholder of Shippensburg won his second of the season in the mini stocks while Tony Weller of Chambersburg won his first Path Valley four-cylinder thunder car feature.

The four cylinder classes earned special thanks from Two Wheel Promotions for their help to finish off the rain-soaked track preparation after evening rain delayed the start of warm-ups for some two and a half hours. With a 9 p.m. start, all six classes went to hurry up mode with no intermission and finished the entire program in three and a half hours. "Our racers cooperated totally and our crew did a great job, and we all thank them for an outstanding night of exciting racing," senior race director John Winsett said.

From the pole Greg Hammaker led the 305 Sprints through the first 12 laps with Wes Zimmerman blocking from second place and a lapped Cody Schmiedel in the mix after lap 11. For three laps Frankie Reisinger and Jim Wentz at the rear of the lead lap helped make up a tight pack of wheel-to-wheel sprints with Hammaker, Gutshall, Brandon Keller, Joey Hershey and Chris Meleason.

On lap 15 Gutshall used the experience of his Super Sportsman wins at Path Valley and went side by side with Hammaker who was holding an inside line and through turns three and four of lap 16 Gutshall went high and wide to take the lead out of turn four and dive into turn one leading lap 16.

The non-stop action slowed on lap 17 for Jim Kennedy who spun on turn three and when the restart came Gutshall took off to run away for the final four laps and win by a turn. The front five finishers were Gutshall, Hammaker, Keller, Hershey and Meleason and the heat winners were Meleason and Von McGee. The PA 305 Sprints race every other week at Path Valley and return May 28, which is also Fan Appreciation Night.

With five chances to catch Aaron Eichelberger after restarts, Donnie Hendershot settled for second as Eichelberger led every lap and Justin Frontz and Jimmy Brookens involved in a hard push for third. The front five were Eichelberger, Hendershot, Justin Frontz, Jim Brookens, and Tim Barrick and Gary Linderman, Barrick and Jake Murphy won the heat races.

Brian Walker grabbed the 270 Sprints lead from the start and Sean Good worked from fourth into second by the finish of lap two. Walker held his lead through three restarts in the first five laps, but then at the end of lap six Good went to the high outside out of turn four to pass Walker and cut into the inside groove going into turn one at the start of lap seven. "I had to run high and pass him on the outside, where he couldn't go," Good said. Good said he owes a lot for his second win to solid supporters like Vince Villariano, Hoosier Bob at Hoosier Mid-Atlantic, Elite Chassis and, "of course my mom and dad, for being with me all the way."

The front five finishers in the 270 Sprints were Good, Walker, Chad Myers, Amanda Schlegal and A.J. Bast, and Good, Rodney Glass and Walker won the heat races while Jim Young won the consi.

Matt Jester came from Delaware to race against the Path Valley Dwarf Cars because he had heard how good the racing was, and he took the win away for his #0J team. Jester started fifth and took the lead away from Lynn Knepper by lap seven. Jester's engine began smoking from an oil leak with three laps to go, but the smoke was not bad enough to black flag the car and he took a close win just ahead of Knepper, followed in the front five by Brian Woodhall, Josh Sigman and Gary Funck. Mike Hay and Knepper won the heats.

Tim Burkholder led the mini stocks from the pole with Kevin Thomas and Ricky Harper gaining on him in the final two laps. In victory lane Burkholder dedicated his win to the memory of his late friend Nathan Hockenberry. The front five were Burkholder, Thomas, Harper, Kyle Wiser and Mike Beidel, and Jerry Bard won the heat race.

From fourth Tony Weller took the lead from Terry Smith on the second lap of the thunder car feature and sailed through three restarts for his first ever Path Valley win. The front five were Weller, Ken Lawrence Jr., Wes Scofield, Joe Hawbaker and Chuck Ingram and Weller and John Rasp won the heats.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track is 717-349-7111. For information on the 2004 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult our website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


PA 305 Sprints -- Bob Gutshall (started 6), Greg Hammaker, Brandon Keller, Joey Hershey, Chris Meleason, Mike Freet, Him Wentz, Frankie Reisinger, Von McGee, Gary Heckman, James Kennedy, Wes Zimmerman, Don Slack, Cody Schmiedel, DNS Brent Comp. Heats to Meleason, McGee.

600 Sprints -- Aaron Eichelberger (1), Donnie Hendershot, Justin Frontz, Jim Brookens, Tim Barrick, Chad Criswell, Doug Dodson, Ben Murphy, Colby Womer, Dan Kanagy, Jake Murphy, Chris Crull, Jeff Furlong, Rich Latchaw, Jim Young, Jordon Frontz, Dusty Heistand, Mark Hendershot, Adam Dimm, Jim Fritz, Richie Fitz, Gary Linderman, Rod Schell, DNS Mark Strickler.

270 Sprints -- Sean Good (4), Brian Walker, Chad Myers, Amanda Schlegal, A.J. Bast, Josh Dressler, Matt Miller, Colby Womer, Jim Callahan, Craig Myers, Tony Jackson, Zack Zook, Earl Hoon Jr., Aaron Lynch, Aaron Spahr, Eric Spahr, Jason Houtz, Ryan Wilson, Matt Horst, Ryan Pitt, Rodney Glass, Neil Petock, Jeff Hoover, Jim Young. Heats to Good, Glass, Walker; consi to Young.

Dwarf Cars -- Matt Jester (5), Lynn Knepper, Brian Woodhall, Josh Sigman, Gary Funck, Eddie Benedict, Tom Showman, Steve White, Mike Hay, Frank Dunkle, Greg Johnson, Eric Hay. Heats to Mike Hay, Knepper.

Mini Stock -- Tim Burkholder (1), Kevin Thomas, Ricky Harper, Kyle Wiser, Mike Beidel, Jeremy Ott, Gary Dehart, DQ Jerry Bard. Heat to Bard.

4-Cyl. Thunder -- Tony Weller (4), Ken Lawrence Jr., Wes Scofield, Joe Hawbaker, chuck Ingram, John Rasp, Keith Armolt, Jeff Christy, Jake Shoup, Melvin Bigler, Lyle Barnes, Terry Smith, Rocky Payne, Eric Seibert, Marteena Starr. Heats to Weller, Rasp.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matt Jester , Chris Meleason , James Kennedy , Von McGee