Path Valley results 2003-09-05

Spring Run, PA_ Repeat winners were the order of the day as Jimmy Brookens of Fayetteville won his twelfth of the season in the 600 Sprints and Brian Walker of Somerset won his second feature and continued his points lead in the 270...

Spring Run, PA_ Repeat winners were the order of the day as Jimmy Brookens of Fayetteville won his twelfth of the season in the 600 Sprints and Brian Walker of Somerset won his second feature and continued his points lead in the 270 Sprints.

Greg Burd of Boiling Sprints and Derrick Casner of Mifflintown each won their second feature in the Legends Cars and Thunder Cars, respectively, and the top stock car wins went to Randy Patterson of Shippensburg in the V-8 Street Stocks and Barry Welch of Three Springs in the Modified Mini Stocks.

The micro sprints thrillers presaged the annual All Sprints Monday Nationals rescheduled for rain until this Sunday, Sept. 7. Next weekend's three days of racing starts off with the 305 Sprints headlining Fan Appreciation Night Friday. Saturday night the Strictly Stocks rain makeup follows afternoon karts and quads racing, and Sunday the Pennsylvania Dirt Karters Association (PDKA) takes over the track for race five in the Burris-sponsored State Championship Series of six WKA Divisional races.

Closing out the night's six-feature program before 10:30, the 600 Sprints nightcap proved the headliner as Jimmy Brookens took the lead on the first lap restart after a turn one tangle eliminated J. C. Walling and Mike Dicely and crippled Butch Harrington, Donnie Hendershot and Dan Kanagy. Brookens held on ahead of Jim Fitz, Jim Young and then Jim Callahan until the white flag lap when Brookens and Callahan overtook Kanagy going into turn three. Brookens went past on the inside while Callahan tried the outside and as the startled Kanagy moved up Callahan rode over his wheel and into the outside wall. Through the final two laps Brookens gained a length per lap on Jim Callahan with Jim Fitz third, Aaron Eichelberger fourth and Ben Murphy fifth.

"I just wanted to give Callahan room to race," Brookens said in victory lane. "Regardless of who comes Sunday for the National, we've got the best to beat right here every week." The win marked 12 victories this season for Brookens. Eichelberger and Young won the heats.

For his second win of the season in the 270 Sprints, Brian Walker went tight to the inside on the start through turns three and four to pass Jim Young and Mike Dicely. Walker built up leads by as much as a full turn and at the finish the front five were Walker, Sean Good, Mike Dicely, Rodney Glass, and Matt Miller, and Todd Reusser, Dicely and Walker won the heats. Walker offered special thanks to Predator Chassis for parts and to his crew and family for their constant support.

Greg Burd held the Legends lead all the way as challengers overtook him and then fell out by the wayside. Ed Wentz, Lawrence Garrison and Jason Ewing each held second but dropped off the pace and at the finish Burd was all alone with Denny Rothermel, Ray Swank, Nathan Fisher and Bob Murray completing the top five. Alan Felix and Ray Swank won the heats. Warren Ropp traveled from Iowa to make the INEX points races Friday and Saturday on the home track of the three defending national dirt track champions. Jeremy Crane won the $50 Legends Lotto, which Burd had won earlier in the season.

"I knew I was taking a chance, but it was the only way to beat Bard," said Barry Welch after he went tight to the inside of turn two on lap 14 to pass Jerry Bard for the mini stock lead. Through two restarts after that Welch held the front to take his third win. The front five at the finish were Welch, Eric Mellott, Bard, Kevin Thomas and Randy Wible. Steve McCartney and Welch won the heats.

Derrick Casner started fifth and passed Ray Middaugh for the lead on lap 11 of the four-cylinder thunder car feature. Then the Mifflintown high school racer built up leads of as much as two turns on his way to his second win of the season. The front five were Casner, Middaugh, Terry Smith, Melvin Bigler and Josh Detra. Joe Hawbaker and Bigler won the heats.

Randy Patterson won the single V-8 Street Stock heat, started last, and romped to his second consecutive feature win. The front five finishers were Patterson, Dave Fahnestock, Joe Gearhart, Matt Kauffman, and Blaine Dockery. The win was Patterson's ninth of the season and sixth at Path Valley.

Coty and Cory Price of Newville won the kids' bike race.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track for promoter Ken Geesey is 717-349-7111. For information on the 2003 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


600 Sprints - Jim Brookens, Jim Young, Jim Fitz, Aaron Eichelberger, Ben Murphy, Jake Murphy, Gary Linderman, Mark Watkins, Jason Starr, Rod Schell, Butch Harrington, Donnie Hendershot, Scot Sheaffer, Dan Kanagy, Jim Callahan, Justin Frontz, Duane Harbaugh, Tim Barrick, J.C. Walling, Mike Dicely. Heats to Eichelberger, Young.

270 Sprints - Brian Walker, Sean Good, Mike Dicely, Rodney Glass, Matt Miller, Todd Steffy, Doug Dodson, Randy Pitt, Rob Griffin, Zack Zook, Ray Peters, Chad Myers, Keith Woodson, Todd Reusser, Craig Myers, Matt Bower, Josh Dressler, Steve Lenig, Aaron Lynch, Alex Cunningham, Jim Young, Craig Folmar, Greg Kone, Tom Tice. Heats to Reusser, Walker, Dicely.

V-8 Street Stock - Randy Patterson, Dave Fahnestock, Joe Gearhart, Matt Kauffman, Blaine Dockery, Wayne Hawbaker. Heat to Patterson.

Legends - Greg Burd, Denny Rothermel, Ray Swank, Nathan Fisher, Bob Murray, Warren Ropp, Darryl Bloom, Marc Davis, Randy Fetterolf, Jeremy Crane, Zach Deiter, Jason Ewing, Andy Lupfer, Kip Erb Jr., Lawrence Garrison, Allen Felix, Edward J. Wentz. Heats to Felix, Swank.

Mini Stock - Barry Welch, Eric Mellott, Jerry Bard, Kevin Thomas, Randy Wible, Ricky Harper, Steve McCartney, Kyle Wiser, Ed Kirby, Brenda McCartney, Mike Beidel, Gary Dehart, Tim Burkholder, Jeff Mangle, Korey Washinger. Heats to Steve McCartney, Welch.

4-Cyl. Thunder Car - Derrick Casner, Raymond Middaugh, Terry Smith, Melvin Bigler, Josh Detra, Richard Stache, John Rasp, Duane Ricker, Vance Kennedy, Dave Ricker, Joe Walker, Joe Hawbaker, Chris Casner, Keith Armolt, Randy Heckman. Heats to Hawbaker, Bigler.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Joe Walker , Marc Davis