Path Valley results 2003-05-30

Spring Run, PA_ "When you win here it counts more because the competition is the toughest anywhere," said Tony Jackson of Newville after leading all but the first lap in the 270 Sprints feature in his ...

Spring Run, PA_ "When you win here it counts more because the competition is the toughest anywhere," said Tony Jackson of Newville after leading all but the first lap in the 270 Sprints feature in his #3J Predator Friday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park.

In the 600 Sprints "Mr. Hyper" Mike Dicely overtook defending champion Jim Brookens on lap eight and edged to the inside going into turn one to take the lead to the checkers in his #44 Hyper Chassis house car as a misting of rain fell on the quarter-mile oval.

Lawrence Garrison of Beaver Springs won the Legends Cars feature and Jerry Bard of Shippensburg and Arlin Brougher of Gettysburg split the two Mini Stock features, one of them a makeup from April 25. Doug Hoffman of Newville won the V-8 Street Stock feature and John Rasp of McConnellsburg won in the four-cylinder thunder cars.

Because of the threat of momentary precipitation, Two Wheel Promotions went into the practiced Hurry Up mode and finished the last three features in a hurry, bringing the winners back after the last race for photos and interviews. A total of 142 cars filled the Path Valley pits including 46 of the 270 Sprints and 31 of the 600 Sprints. Next Friday night the PA 305 Sprints and the Dwarf Cars join the five regular divisions for the second annual Auto Locator Race Night. Next Saturday Path Valley hosts the season's second outlaw motorcycle and quads race following the afternoon kart racing.

Sunday, June 8, Two Wheel Promotions moves the Path Valley operation to the Williams Grove Speedway for the third and final installment of the AMA Northeast Pro/Am Nationals for bikes and four wheelers with gates open at 10 a.m. The series opened last weekend with bikers from at least eight states racing in the Short Track and the Tourist Trophy portions of the Nationals, sanctioned by the American Motorcyclist Association. After the Half-Mile leg of the series points will be totaled for the overall champions.

The invert ten pill put Jackson on the pole for the 270 Sprints feature and Walker dogged him all the way to the finish as Mike Dicely worked up to third from his handicap start in twelfth place for winning the previous race. Winners of the nine-sprint heats were Rodney Glass, Todd Steffy, Ray Peters, Sean Good and Mike Dicely. Tom Tice and Brett Kluge on the consolation heats.

In the 600 Sprints feature the pill draw was to invert eight and that put Dicely on the pole beside Jimmy Brookens. Only two micro sprints bent their wings badly in relatively minor flips and after the final caution on lap 15 the race went to the checkered flag with Dicely building an impressive lead as Brookens and Duane Harbaugh maneuvered for second. Mark Watkins, Ryan Greth and Duane Harbaugh won the heats and Rod Schell won the consi.

Jerry Bard ran away from the pack in the night's first Mini Stock feature for his second consecutive win, charging to the lead early on from fifth. In the regular feature Kevin Thomas looked like the winner until the final dash down the front stretch when Arlin Brougher, from his eighth place start, made a drag racing sprint to pass Thomas by a few feet for the win. Brougher and Steve McCartney won the heats.

The Street Stock finish was equally thrilling as Hoffman worked to the front while Tim Fedder weaved through the pack from last place. Fedder tried to pass repeatedly but Hoffman held to the smoother and shorter inside groove. "I planned to hold as close to the inside as I could and it worked," Hoffman told on-track announcer Walt Cox after the features. Jeff Johnson won the single ten-car heat.

The four-cylinder thunder cars caught yellow fever as first Joe Hawbaker, and then Ray Middaugh and later Keith Armolt led and broke or spun and restarted at the rear. John Rasp led 14 laps and ended with a thump as Chris Casner tried to catch him at the line. Keith Armolt and Ray Middaugh won the heat races.

The Legends Cars sponsored by Advance Auto raced with only two yellow flags to regroup the field and Garrison in his #29 came from seventh to take the lead on lap eight. Butch Brough and Garrison won the heats.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track for promoter Ken Geesey is 717-349-7111. For information on the 2003 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


600 Sprints -- Mike Dicely, Duane Harbaugh, Jim Brookens, Doug Distastio, Mark Watkins, Dave Socks, Butch Harrington, Terry Peters, Chad Criswell, Pat Klose, Ryan Greth, Jim Fitz, Jim Young, Donnie Hendershot, Jake Murphy, Mark Strickler, Rich Gilmore, Tim Barick, Ron Taggert, Aaron Eichelberger, Rod Schell, Jason Staff, Jim Callahan, Jesse Snyder. Consi to Rod Schell. Heats to Watkins, Greth and Harbaugh.

270 Sprints -- Tony Jackson, Brian Walker, Mike Dicely, Rodney Glass, Matt Miller, Rob Griffin, Ray Peters, Jim Young, Todd Steffy, Craig Myers, Alex Cunningham, Chad Myers, Aaron Lynch, Danny Crum, Jared Allen, Mike Conners, Brett Kluge, Chris Heckendorn, Tom Tice, Dave Socks, Sean Good, Chris Melton, Jason Houtz, Randy Pitt. Consis to Tice and Kluge. Heats to Glass, Steffy, Peters, Good and Dicely.

Advanced Auto Legends Cars -- Lawrence Garrison, Butch Brough, Allen Felix, Ray Swank, Greg Burd, Randy Fetterolf, Edward Wentz, Denny Rothermel, Jason Ewing, Bryan Swartz, Andy Lupfer, Darryl Bloom, Marc Davis, Bob Murray, John Fraker, Kip Erb Jr., Paul Fisher. Heats to Brough and Garrison.

Mini Stock (April 25) -- Jerry Bard, Arlin Brougher, Ricky Harper, Barry Welch, Steve McCartney, Gary Dehart, Kyle Wiser, Tim Burkholder, Mike Beidel, Duane Hardy, Kevin Thomas, Randy Wible, Calvin Fredrick, Ed Kirby, Brenda McCartney, Korey Washinger, DNS Bryan Neff, Mike Hawbaker, Chris Casner, Joe Jakubic.

Mini Stock -- Arlin Brougher, Kevin Thomas, Barry Welch, Steve McCartney, Kyle Wiser, Ed Kirby, Ricky Harper, Steve Haines, Brenda McCartney, Mike Beidel, Calvin Fredrick, Gary Dehart, Duane Hardy, Jerry Bard, Randy Wible, Mike Harlow, Korey Washinger, Tim Burkholder. Heats to Brougher and McCartney.

V-8 Street Stock -- Doug Hoffman, Tim Fedder, Alan Shives, Dave Fahnestock, Wayne Hawbaker, Steve Lowery, Terry O'Donel, Matt Kauffman, Jeff Johnson, Randy Patterson. Heat to Johnson.

4-Cyl. Thunder -- John Rasp, Chris Casner, Derrick Casner, Keith Armolt, Duane Ricker, Lyle Barnes, Terry Smith, Melvin Bigler, Jason Erwin, Josh Detra, Charles Stallman, Raymond Middaugh, Marteena Star, Jake Shoup, Joe Hawbaker, Wes Scofield, Tracy Linn, DNS Richard Stache, Justin Williamson, Dave Ricker. Heats to Armolt and Middaugh.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Marc Davis
Teams Williams