Path Valley report 2002-09-22

Spring Run, PA_ Path Valley Speedway Park honored nine winners Saturday night when Two Wheel Promotions rewarded sprint drivers with two wingless features, a powder puff race and a mechanics& ...

Spring Run, PA_ Path Valley Speedway Park honored nine winners Saturday night when Two Wheel Promotions rewarded sprint drivers with two wingless features, a powder puff race and a mechanics’ race. Only two sprint races remain on the Path Valley schedule on Sept. 28 and Oct. 6.

Reading area star Josh Weller opened the night with his first Path Valley win ever in the 600cc Sprints. He held off Kyle Purks and Dave Emory through two restarts. Jim Callahan Jr. won the ten-sprint heat race and the front five finishers were Weller, Purks, Emory, Pat Klose and Terry Peters. Peters won the season Saturday 600 Sprints championship unofficially by about 20 points ahead of Purks.

Mandy Schlegel of Gap won the 125cc Sprints feature in her first visit to Path Valley and her first time in the #88x racer by about two lengths ahead of Chip Geib. AJ Michael and Don Guhl won the heats. The front five were Schlegel, Geib, Guhl, Michael and Mark Yoder and Yoder had already wrapped up the points championship.

With the points races concluded, one race remains for the 600 Sprints and two races for the 270cc Sprints. The 270 class races Sept. 28 in the season’s final Friday night show and then returns with the 600 class on Oct. 6 for the Micro Sprint Shootouts for both divisions that pays $500 to win and $50 to start. That race follows the all day Legends Cars Day and flea market. A special meeting for 305 Sprint drivers will be held that day in the tech building.

The final Friday race includes all five regular classes and features the Cyclones and a rain make-up for the Dwarf Cars. Then Saturday, Sept. 29, Path Valley hosts the Four-Cylinder Shootout that pays $1000 to win. Pre-registrations at a 20 percent discount of the entry fee will be accepted until Friday night.

The second Saturday in October is reserved for the AMA Motorcycles with more than 150 bikes from AMA Region 6 and neighboring districts expected. Grandstand admission for the final motorcycle race is free and information will be available on short track motorcycle and four-wheeler racing under the national sanction.

The final race at Path Valley will be Oct. 20 when the Junk Cars return for one more exciting purely amateur event that will include qualifiers and practices and, if car count permits, mechanics’ and powder puff races in V-8, six-cylinder and four-cylinder classes. For Junk Car Racing rules and information consult the track’s website at

Randy Pitt of Lebanon won the Saturday 250cc Sportsman water-cooled feature for the third time this season and then his car also won the mechanics’ race with Diane Tobias, out of retirement for the special fun race, at the wheel. Pitt won his feature a full turn ahead of Dave Emory, Randy Whisler, Jason Hall and Chris Heckendorn who completed the front five in a field of 20. Randy Baughman of Dover had already won the points championship. Baughman and Emory won the heats.

Jim Callahan Jr. of McVeytown lapped all but eight of the 22 270cc Sprints entered after 11 of them piled up on the first lap coming out of turn four. Five of them flipped onto their wings and nine had to be towed off the track for repairs but none of the drivers were injured. Pat Webb, Randy Pitt and Brad McClelland won the heat races and the front five finishers were Callahan, McClelland, 2001 points champion Rodney Glass of Ft. Loudon, Chip Geib and Vince Berandinelli.

Callahan’s #111 Hyper Chassis 270 sprint also won the wingless feature for the combined 250 Sportsman and 270 classes at the hands of veteran Kevin Nouse of Mechanicsburg. The front five were Nouse, Glass, McClelland, John Brown and Berandinelli. The powder puff for the wingless combined classes went to Jenn Webb of Stewartstown in her first race ever. The front five lady amateurs were Webb, Cheryl Brown, Darlene Brown, Loretta Myers, and Amanda Henry.

Tim Brown of Lancaster led from pole to checkers in the 250 Sportsman air cooled sprints with cousin Fred Brown right behind. The front five were Brown, Brown, Jason Rhoads, Steve Brown and Josh Watkins. Watkins picked up enough points to ensure his season championship. Steve Brown won the heat race.

Young Kyle Purks of Langhorne won the 600 sprints wingless feature taking the lead on the third lap in a race that ran with no yellow flags. The front five 600 wingless finishers were Purks, Josh Weller, Tim Grzelak, Terry Peters and Nathan Hauck.

Diane Tobias, a past champion at Path Valley, started Randy Pitt’s #1P sixth in the mechanic’s race and took the lead with an inside pass out of turn four on a lap five restart. The front five finishers were Tobias, Jen Schlegel, Bill Logeman, John Snyder and Jenn Webb. She said it has been two years since her last race, but she still remembers how.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike off Route 75.


Mechanics Race– Diane Tobias, Jenn Schlegel, Bill Logeman, John Snyder, Jenn Webb, Jeff Peticca, Andy Foutz, Scott Scheirer, Scott Watkins, Ben Houtz, Ralph Stephenson, Bill Guhl.

Powder Puff– Jenn Webb, Cheryl Brown, Darlene Brown, Loretta Myers, Amanda Henry, Becky Holmes.

250/270 Wingless– Kevin Nouse, Rodney Glass, Brad McClelland, John Brown Vince Berandinelli, Don Guhl, Pat Webb, Randy Baughman, Danny Crum, Jim Moffett, Jason Hall, John Winsett, Brett Arndt, Zach Zook, Eric Walls, Brad Zook, Bill Hockenberry.

600 Wingless– Kyle Purks, Josh Weller, Tim Grzelak, Terry peters, Nathan Hauck.

270cc Sprints– Jim Callahan Jr., Brad McClelland, Rodney Glass, Chip Geib, Vince Berandinelli, Randy Baughman, Jim Myers, Randy Pitt, Pat Webb, Mandy Schlegel, Danny Crum, Gary Reed, Craig Myers, John Brown, Steve Brown, Shelby Rowles, Bill Hockenberry, AJ Michael, Josh Wells, Brad Zook, Zach Zook, Brett Arndt.

600cc Sprints– Josh Weller, Kyle Purks, Dave Emory, Pat Klose, Terry Peters, Tim Grzelak, Jim Callahan Jr., Jason Rhoades, Nathan Hauck, Jeff Davis.

250 Sportsman (water-cooled)– Randy Pitt, Dave Emory, Randy Whisler, Jason Hall, Chris Heckendorn, Jim Moffett, Ray Merkey, Craig Myers, Chad Leeper, Randy Baughman, John Shutt, Chad Myers, Todd Miller, Eric Walls, Zach Zook, Rich O’Neal, Mike Stephenson, Ed Heckendorn, Wade Larner.

125cc Sprints– Mandy Schlegel, Chip Geib, Don Guhl, AJ Michael, Mark Yoder, Randy Whisler, Clyde Sweitzer, Brian Woodson, Angie Rutherford, Pat Risser, Rich Latshaw, Jared Weaver, Garry Henry, Jeff Bennett, Shawn Merkey, Chad Vanlaeys, Joe Miller, Jeff Combs, Bob Hackart

250cc Sportsman (air-cooled)– Tim Brown, Fred Brown, Jason Rhoades, Steve Brown, Josh Watkins, Jeff Wilson, Shawn Lamphere, Ron Bair.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Jeff Wilson