Path Valley report 2002-08-17

Ellerman, Dicely and Shatzer Win in Path Valley Sprints Spring Run, PA_ A month ago the PA 305 Sprints asked to extend their feature events from 20 to 25 laps. Defending champion Scott Ellerman of Landisburg used those extra five laps to weave...

Ellerman, Dicely and Shatzer Win in Path Valley Sprints

Spring Run, PA_ A month ago the PA 305 Sprints asked to extend their feature events from 20 to 25 laps. Defending champion Scott Ellerman of Landisburg used those extra five laps to weave from twelfth and pass rookie Travis Keeney on lap 22 for his second consecutive Path Valley win.

Ellerman in his #115 Casner's Service Center sprint was handicapped to start twelfth for his win the previous race. Keeney, 15 a month ago and a sophomore at Dallastown area high school, started on the outside front and in only his eighth race and began lapping the rear cars by lap 16. Four cautions in laps 18 and 20 regrouped the field and cooled the tires and then Ellerman went to the outside groove to charge from fifth to second in two laps and then catch and pass Keeney on the inside in turn three.

"The extra five laps helped a lot," Ellerman said, "and I got the best traction on the outside in turns one and four and low on the inside groove in turns two and three."

In other sprint action Mike Dicely of Lewisberry in the Hyper #44 won his first of the season in 600 Sprints and Dusty Shatzer of Hagerstown won in the 270 Sprints.

The Central PA Advance Auto Parts Legends Cars win went to Kip Erb of McClure, his third win of the season, and the V-8 Street Stock winner was Tim Fedder of Newport. The mini stock win went to Ricky Harper of Three Springs who led every lap for his fifth victory of the season.

Next Friday is Pepsi Race Night with a $500-to-win feature for the V-8 Street Stocks and a special exhibition feature for the four-cylinder Junk Cars that normally race once monthly on Saturday nights. The Legends Cars are the headline division, and the mini stocks and four-cylinder thunder cars are also support classes for August 23. The PA 305 Sprints race every other week and the 600 Sprints and 270 Sprints have a regularly scheduled night off.

Two Wheel Promotions, which operates the Path Valley track, announced that pre-registration forms for the All-Sprint Special Labor Day Monday will be available on the website at this week. In addition to a special wingless feature for the 270 Sprints, the Monday program will feature $500 to win 30-lap features for the 305 Sprints, 600 Sprints and the 270 Sprints. Qualifiers and features will utilize radio transponder electronic timing and scoring.

August 30 is Coors Night at Path Valley and the PA 305 Sprints return along with all the regular divisions except the Legends Cars, which have their regularly scheduled one night in five off.

The 600 Sprints win for Dicely was extra special, he told on-track interviewer Walt Cox, because Mike and wife Christy were blessed with a baby boy about two weeks ago and this was the first race young Dustin attended and the first time he saw his dad and the Hyper Chassis factory car win. Dicely led every lap just ahead of Jim Young as points leader Jim Brookens advanced to third by lap 15.

Rodney Glass of Ft. Loudon, Path Valley's 2001 Saturday night 270cc champion, led the first 18 laps and then tipped his #84 onto its side as four sprints at the rear of the lap tumbled and rolled just ahead of him in turn two at the start of lap 19. Glass left the track and turned the lead over to Shatzer who had been a close second after leading the first lap. "Rodney's bad luck gave me the win," but a win is a win he said.

Kip Erb had to pass frequent winner Butch Brough three times for the Legends Car win as the two swapped the lead back and forth. Erb took over in lap 14 and ran non-stop to the checkers. Two-time mini stock champion Harper withstood six cautions and restarts to lead every lap as defending champion Arlin Brougher came from twelfth to put late race pressure on Harper's #75 and then suffered a flat on lap 19.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track for promoter Ken Geesey is 717-349-7111.

For information on the 2002 schedule and track, race teams and fans can consult the website at


PA 305 Sprints -- Scott Ellerman, Travis Keeney, Todd Lynn, Ryan Lynn, Tim Bilger, Rory Janney, Rick Mayberry, Todd Spangler, Patrick Rineman, Jim Wentz, Robert Varner, Mike Alleman, Ted Thomas, Jamie Estep, DNS Pete Meleason; heats to Ryan Lynn, Tim Bilger.

Legends -- Kip Erb, Donnie Potts, Butch Brough, Greg Burd, Ray Swank, Austin Kirby, Randy Fetterolf, Rick Potts, Bill Harris, Rob Murray, Denny Rothermel, Darryl Bloom, Lawrence Garrison, Nathan Fisher, Alan Felix, Andy Lupfer; heats to Burd, Brough.

600 Sprints -- Mike Dicely, Jim Young, Jim Brookens, Pat Klose, Jesse Snyder, Donnie Hendershot, Jim Callahan, Dave Shirk, Terry Peters, Dusty Heistand, Mark Hendershot, Steve Dull, Justin Frontz, Doug Gray, Mark Stickler, Randy Reed, Ron Taggert, Kody Armentrout, Duane Harbaugh, Gary Suchey; heats to Brookens, Snyder.

270 Sprints -- Dusty Shatzer, Mike Dicely, Jeff Furlong, Steve Lenig, Todd Steffy, Chad Criswell, Alex Cunningham, Scott Tate, Matt Horst, Sean Good, Ron Dick, Chad Myers, Shelby Rowles, Adam Henry, Aaron Lynch, Chris Heckendorn, Rich O'Neal, Greg Kone, Rodney Glass, Rick Brehm, Josh Dressler, Mike Boyer, Scott Smith, Rob Felix; Heats to Tate, Boyer, Cunningham, consi to Brehm.

V-8 Street Stock -- Tim Fedder, Doug Hoffman, Steve Lowery, Weston Alleman, Terry O'Donel, Terry Deshong, Tony Stoneberger, Sam Leonard, Wayne Hawbaker, Jim Andrews, Matt Kauffman, Dave Fahnestock, DNS Brad Long, Randy Patterson; heats to Alleman, Fedder.

Mini Stock -- Ricky Harper, Jerry Bard, Gary Dehart, Chuck Ingram, Tim Burkholder, Steve McCartney, Kyle Wiser, Joe Jakubic, Jerry Schott Jr., Arlin Brougher, Mike Hawbaker, Glenn Gipe, Calvin Frederick, Bryan Neff, Ed Kirby, DQ Barry Welsh; heats to Brougher, Harper.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Scott Smith