Path Valley race results 2004-10-29

Spring Run, PA -- Randy Kaylor looked like a runaway winner in the season's final PA 305 Sprints feature Friday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park, but it was not to be as a last lap caution forced a restart and rising sprints star Joey...

Spring Run, PA -- Randy Kaylor looked like a runaway winner in the season's final PA 305 Sprints feature Friday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park, but it was not to be as a last lap caution forced a restart and rising sprints star Joey Hershey of Chambersburg edged inside Kaylor through the final turn four dash and won the true sprint down the front stretch by more than a front tire.

Kaylor had easily won the single heat race for the 305 Sprints and from the pole led by more than a turn at times with Jim Wentz and then Hershey from fourth his only challengers. Cautions on laps two, six and eight kept the spec-engine sprints closer together but then a ten-lap wide open run gave Kaylor a comfortable lead until Wentz pushed too hard and spun.

The one-lap shootout for the win put Hershey on Kaylor's rear bumper and the final dash down the front stretch gave Hershey his third Path Valley season win. Hershey, Kaylor, Todd Spangler, Von McGee, and Brent Comp were the front five finishers. The 305 Sprints have been promised a spot in next year's lineup, but some classes have not, and a tentative 2005 schedule will be announced at the annual awards banquet.

In a duplicate move young Kyle Wiser of Orbisonia managed the same dashing final lap sprint with his Steve Price Auctioneering #34 to win in Mini Stocks. 'Mr. Hyper' Mike Dicely of Lewisberry won by a length ahead of Jim Fitz in 600 Sprints and Shane Penny of Lancaster won going away in the 270 Sprints. Matt Hay of Somerset beat Josh Sigman in the Dwarf Cars and John Rasp of McConnellsburg outran Terry Smith by two lengths for the Thunder Car win.

With the season completed for sprints and stock cars now, as well as motorcycles, karts and quads, the top teams await the annual awards banquet Nov. 20 at the Pleasant Hall Firehall. Awards to the top karters start at 4:30, followed by a bountiful buffet dinner catered again by Dodies, and then sprint, bike and stock car awards, followed by dancing to DJ Phantom Shadow.

The top karters in each class will be recognized in an awards program before the banquet, separate from the post-banquet awards for sprint and stock car drivers. Doors open at 4 p.m. with the karts awards starting at 4:30 and the buffet dinner at 5:30. The separate awards program for bikes, sprints and stock cars is to start at 7 p.m. and the deadline for tickets is Oct. 31.

Those who cannot pick up tickets at the track can receive theirs with payment instructions from Two Wheel Promotions at 717-426-2910 or Only drivers who have purchased a ticket will receive trophies and awards.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track is 717-349-7111.

For information on the 2004 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the track's website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


PA 305 Sprints -- Joey Hershey, Randy Kaylor, Todd Spangler, Von McGee, Brent Comp, Tommy Beavers, Greg Hammaker, Danny Williams, Mike Wagner II, Jim Wentz. Heat to Kaylor.

305 Mechanics -- Rick Kaylor, Craig Robinson, Mile Zielonis, Rodney Byers, Sam Sponsellar Sr.

600 Sprints -- Mike Dicely, Jim Fitz, Jim Brookens, Scotty Smith, Rob Griffin, Jimmy Glenn, Jim Callahan, Donnie Hendershot, Nathan Hauck, Duane Gutshall, Barry Shearer, Jason Starr, Pete Landrum, Chris Glenn, Ron Taggert, Jim Young, Lyle Stroman, Denny Landvater, Dan Kanagy, Chris Crull, Dillon Stein, Timex Morgan, Tim Robertson, Jake Murphy. Heats to Brookens, Shearer, Stein. Consi to Schell.

600 Mechanics -- Randy Brookens, Wade Anderson, Ron Hitchman, Ben Earnst, Randy Goodling, DNS Corey Frontz, Jon Frontz.

270 Sprints -- Shane Penny, Mike Dicely, Cody Darrah, Steve Buckwalter, Ed Krupa, A.J. Bast, Jason Starr, Richie Hartman, Pete Skias, Chad Myers, Jim Callahan, Craig Myers, Brian Hart, Mark Palome, Ryan Wilson, Pete Landrum, Eric Spahr, Aaron Spahr, Aaron Lynch, Sean Good, Matt Horst, Barry Shearer, Tom Tice, Ken Brenner. Heats to Dicely, Starr, Buckwalter. Consi to Tice.

270 Mechanics -- Michael Brandt, Tim Myers, Greg Klopp, Jason Shade, Scott Spahr, Joe Darrah.

Mini Stock -- Kyle Wiser, Frank Gordon, Jerry Bard, Gary Dehart, Mike Beidel, Troy Eckenrode, Ed Kirby, Dave Bivens, Dave Leidy, DNS Tim Burkholder, Ronnie Garlock, Larry Stine. Heats to Bard, Dehart.

Thunder Cars -- John Rasp, Terry Smith, Lyle Barnes, Ken Lawrence Jr., Melvin Bigler, Tony Weller, Jeff Christy, Tim Varner, Chuck Ingram, DNS Jake Shoup, Wes Scofield. Heats to Shoup, Smith.

Dwarf -- Matt Hay, Lynn Knepper, Josh Sigman, Gary Funck, Chris Gates. Heat to Hay.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Von McGee , Cody Darrah , Tim Roberts
Teams Williams