Path Valley race results 2003-10-18

Spring Run, PA_ Some of the nation's top micro sprint drivers smashed and mangled their sprint cars Saturday on the soft Path Valley Speedway Park clay. The event was a rain makeup from the races scheduled the night before that rained out, and...

Spring Run, PA_ Some of the nation's top micro sprint drivers smashed and mangled their sprint cars Saturday on the soft Path Valley Speedway Park clay.

The event was a rain makeup from the races scheduled the night before that rained out, and Craig Robinson in the #9 started the carnage in the first 305 Sprint heat race as he tumbled and rolled down the back stretch wall.

As the green flag waved for the 270 Sprints, seven of them tumbled and skid into a heap in turn four. Eliminated were Mike Dicely, Zack Zook, Jason Houtz, Randy Pitt, and Joe Trone, with Roger Asay, Braydon Winters and Nick Schlauch also involved. Rodney Glass, Colby Womer and Mike Boyer were eliminated on lap four when Boyer made an unintentional right turn coming out of turn four.

Not to be outdone, the 600 Sprints thrilled the crowd as first Jason Blumm went airborne out of turn two, and then top competitors and past champions Jim Young and Jim Brookens were collected in a tangled puzzle by Rod Schell's 00 inside turn four on a lap nine restart.

The sprints failed to provide the day's most spectacular airborne thrill. That dubious distinction went to Tim Burkholder in the modified mini stocks on lap 19 when his #02 and Kyle Wiser's #34 made contact out of turn two and Burkholder went up, flipping three times and then rolling twice into turn three with his stock car now a convertible.

"We had more severe damage to cars today than any other day this season," said head flagman Steve Murphy, "but we're all thankful that no one was injured."

After the Lack-Tuscarora medics checked for injuries and the wreckers cleared the remains, rookie Joey Hershey raced to his second decisive win in the 305 Sprints, Jim Callahan in the Elite Chassis #17 factory sprint outran the 270 Sprints field, and Mike Dicely and his Hyper Chassis factory sprint won in 600 Sprints.

Jerry Bard won his sixth mini stock feature; John Rasp won his sixth race in the thunder cars, and Rob Boyer of Shippensburg, Path Valley's Friday night announcer, raced to his first win in the six-cylinder strictly stock class after finishing second in race after race.

In the 270 Sprints feature at least five factory teams were represented including East Coast Motorsport's Elite with Jim Callahan, Hyper with Mike Dicely, King with Sean Good, Predator with Jim Young, and RTS with Terry Sheaffer's first visit of the season.

The Path Valley sprint and stock car season concludes Friday night, Oct. 24, with a special race for the V-8 Strictly Stock cars and the final points race of the season for the PA 305 Sprints, 270 Sprints, 600 Sprints, mini stocks and thunder cars.

The final race of the season on the steeply banked Path Valley clay will be Saturday night, Oct. 25, with the annual Go-Karts Season Finale. This will be the biggest money race of the season for the karters and their only nighttime race on the tacky clay.

The annual awards banquet is Saturday night, Nov. 15, at the Pleasant Hall Fire Co. and tickets are still available. Awards to the top karters start at 4:30, followed by dinner and then sprint, bike and stock car awards, followed by dancing.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike.

The new phone number at the track is 717-349-7111. For information on the 2003 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult our website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


270 Sprints -- Jim Callahan (started 2), Terry Sheaffer, Steve Buckwalter, John Agaor, Brayden Winters, Jim Young, Mick Schlauch, Jason Kemp, Jim Radney, Richard Crooker, Shane Penny, Aaron Lynch, Steve Lenig, Rob Griffin, Roger Asay, Kevin Nouse, Rodney Glass, Mike Boyer, Colby Womer, Zack Zook, Joe Trone, Mike Dicely, Randy Pitt, Jason Houtz. Heats to Young, Boyer, Nouse.

PA 305 Sprints -- Joey Hershey (2), Chris Meleason, Von McGee, Scott Ellerman, J. R. Fogelsonger, Todd Spangler, Jim Wentz, Mike Freet, Ted Thomas, Brent Comp, James Kennedy, Randy Kaylor, Jason Shultz, Wes Zimmerman, DNS Craig Robinson. Heats to Shultz, Ellerman.

600 Sprints -- Mike Dicely (2), Dennis McKeon, Jason Starr, Justin Frontz, Kevin Bastian, Jimmy Glenn, Brett Mancieri, Dan Kanagy, Chris Arnold, Rod Schell, Jim Young, Jim Brookens, Jason Blumm, Jeff Amaral, Kevin Nouse. Heats to Brookens, Schell.

4-Cylinder Thunder -- John Rasp (started 3rd), Terry Smith, Raymond Middaugh, Wes Scofield, Duane Ricker, Charles Stallman, Lyle Barnes, Dave Ricker, DNS Richard Stache. Heat to Barnes.

6-Cyl. Strictly Stock -- Rob Keller (4), Todd Price, Ricky Rosenberry, Jason Ege, Eric Foltz, Shane Eve, Chris McFarland, Jerry Merritts, DNS Dave Ricker. Heat to Keller.

Mini Stock -- Jerry Bard (7), Gary Dehart, Ricky Harper, Kyle Wiser, Jeff Mangle, Tim Burkholder, Larry Stine, Lyle Barnes. Heat to Bard.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Chris Meleason , James Kennedy , Von McGee